Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > Torbay > Torquay Hotels > Imperial Hotel Torquay - The Hotel Collection
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Imperial Hotel Torquay - The Hotel Collection

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Park Hill Road , Torquay, TQ1 2DG
Built in 1866 The Imperial Hotel is a Mediterranean style resort perched on a cliff top overlooking Torbay. The Imperial hotel has breathtaking views of the English Riviera. From the luxury of the hotel you can watch the yachts sail by and the sun set on this stunning stretch of coastline. Steeped in history, the hotel has entertained a host of notable guests including Emperor Napoleon III, the Queen of Holland and King Edward VII. The hotel proudly continues the tradition of excellence in every aspect with its beautiful marble floors, superb dining and impeccable service. The magnificent Regatta Restaurant has panoramic sea views of glorious Torbay and offers superb cuisine and fine wines. exciting, innovative and tasty dishes. The Hotel now has a total non smoking policy.
Picture of Imperial Hotel Torquay - The Hotel Collection, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Imperial Hotel Torquay - The Hotel Collection
This was a great hotel. Dog friendly, and we had a garden facing room. Staff were helpful and polite. Very clean hotel.

Reviewed by
A Wright

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Impeccable stay
Wow what an absolute treat. The hotel is beautiful and we were treated to a lovely room with emporer bed. Everything was first class including the breakfast service but the pool was the real treat. Will be back as soon as possible. Cant fault great service.

Reviewed by
Alan M

From Basinstoke , UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fabulous hotel
lovely building, classy decor, terrific room

Reviewed by
andrew l

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Imperial Hotel Torquay - The Hotel Collection
Bed a bit uncomfortable.

Reviewed by
Lisa G

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Hotel staff very pleasant and helpful.Hotel room had a wonderful view and bed very comfortable. Afternoon tea was delightful.

Reviewed by
Maria K

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Christmas break
We booked a three night stay away over Christmas to be near family and initially booked a premier room and breakfast. I was shown to our room and although it had a sea view it was very small and we decided to pay for an upgrade to a deluxe room on the 3rd floor which was well worth the £30 a night extra. The room was spacious, comfortable and had an amazing view. Shame that there was no minibar or fridge.
The breakfast was reasonable except the fruit juice (particularly the grapefruit) was made from some odd concentrate which tasted strange and certainly not fresh.
All the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful from the receptionists to the chambermaids and bar staff. We didn't get charged for parking which is something i have seen on previous reviews. The sign said that there would be a charge but this didn't happen fortunately.
We were impressed by the history of the hotel and you can picture how grand it used to be.Some of that grandeur has faded a bit now but it is still well worth a stay and we will certainly return given the
opportunity.

Reviewed by
Rachel H

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely stay
We stayed here for one night and had a lovely time. The staff could not of been more lovely and helpful, very welcoming too. Our room was great a nice big room but the view left a lot to be desired ( looked out over a Carpark and staff block. Comfy bed, nice shower and a great breakfast with a fantastic view.

Reviewed by
L Edwards

From Dorchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Changed my room twice
When I checked in I was given a dark, dingy, cramped room with obstructed sea view, was not happy with this and was moved to a room a floor up whilst the room was light and spacious double room it was next to the function suite, so on the second night when a party was in full swing when I returned to my room at 10.30 pm for the night it was so noisy and went to reception to be told the function was going on till 1am, so requested another move. This was then to a higher floor much better but had twin beds. This was the only room with complimentary robes and water which should of been standard in all rooms as was supposed to be in a superior room.
Cleaniness was lacking everywhere, breakfast inferior and service poor

Reviewed by
JANE D

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel
Fantastic hotel, with great service and an unrivalled location 10/10

Reviewed by
G Dean

From Stonehouse, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Broken toilet roll holder. Badly placed.
Queues at breakfast. Ran out of plates. New plates wet. Ran out of butter. Staff seemed under pressure. No management at breakfast.

Reviewed by
A Weston

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next