No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bridge House

24 - 25 Parliament Street, Temple Bar , Dublin, 2
The Bridge House is a delightful family run guest house which is located in the heart of Temple Bar, Dublin's vibrant cultural quarter. The property is of a two star standard, and offers the same amenities as any city centre hotel. A warm welcome awaits every guest. We welcome both individual travellers and groups of all kinds including tours, and stag and hen parties. Families travelling with children are especially welcome, and we offer a range of rooms suitable to their requirements. Each of our en suite rooms has been comfortably furnished to a high standard. All rooms include newly fitted bath / shower rooms, remote control televisions, direct dial telephones, and fluffy towels. Irons and ironing boards are available for guests use on request. It is important to note that as the Bridge House is a listed building, no lift has been fitted, and elderly guests / guests with disabilities may find the stairs steep. A full continental breakfast is served every morning, and complimentary tea and coffee is available all day. Free wi-fi available.Guests also can enjoy fine meals in the Bella Roma Italian Restaurant* which is located on the ground floor, and in many of the other rich and varied restaurants which Dublin has to offer.
Picture of Bridge House, Dublin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
35% recommended this accommodation to a friend 39% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Guest house with good location but with very poor customer service
I stayed in this guest house for two nights but was not very happy with the service and other facilities provided. I also think this accommodation is generally overcharged for what they offer. After we came, the lady behind the desk was not very friendly. She seemed she hates her job. She did not make any eye contact, smile or whatever. She was just reading all the procedures and information as a machine. She did not make such a good impression. I think, a little smile would make a much better impression. Other two ladies in following two days were slightly better.
The guest house is in the centre of Dublin, near to all attractions and main centre road, which was my purpose of selection. It is above the Italian restaurant, which was very nice. The guest house is in a very old building, where you could hear every step from other rooms, noise from outside as the windows are also very old and poorly sound-proofed. The rooms should be also refurbished a bit. It looked like there has not been any change for the past 10 years. The rooms were relatively clean when we arrived. Also towels and bathroom prepared. I would also expect some table in the middle of the room. I had to put all my clothes, documents and other stuff on tiny chair.
Further issue was a broken TV, which i reported on the reception but the lady said something like "maybe you have not switched it on properly because the maintainer was testing it before, and it worked". Whether i forgot or did not forget how to switch on the TV, after two same reports of this issue on the reception, nobody came to check it within three days.
I would also mention the breakfast, which costs 5 euros and it consists of toast and coffee/tea. I think you should get more options for 5 euros. Some yoghurt, fruit and more options of juice should be offered. But you still have an option to decline the breakfast, so it is better to have a breakfast outside.
To conclude, only the location of this guest house is great but on the other hand, they need much more improvements for being a perfect guest house. I think you can find a better place in Dublin for 134 euro for two nights.

Reviewed by
Peter V

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect low budget place to stay if heading out in Dublin. Basic, but it's not as if you need much more if you're going to be out in the city. Good value!

Reviewed by
Andrew D

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A stay in the centre of Dublin
Very central hotel and a little noisy if staying in bedrooms fronting the street (as our friends experienced until 2am). We stayed in one of the rooms on the top floor - which was a climb if you have heavy luggage. Everything was clean, enough just a bit run down, and no apparent fire escape. Car parking was a problem and pricey. Very basic breakfast.

Reviewed by
J Russell

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Motorcycle Touring Couple
Hotel clean if a little 'tired'. Staff helpful and cheery. Parking not ideal and location for drop off a little hectic on a busy one-way. Noisy adjacent rooms...creaky ceilings..banging doors etc.
From our experience, more of a commercial establishment. Great location for Temple Bar attractions.

Reviewed by
A Hatton

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not for me!
Hotel was adequate but when it came to sleep......forget it!!
Traffic / drunks in street below........ Nite are!
Plus hotel bedroom walls were paper thin!
Was kept awake ALL night!!!

Reviewed by
Helen A

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not recomended
For 115 Euros I would have expected more. On arriaval we where told our twin room was not available because it had rained. We were given singles which was fine. On the positive side there was plenty of hot water and the heating was on. There were clean sheets and towels. The room was dated partculary the shower room. I was woken by a strong smell of smoke in the early hours of the morning which was unpleasant. This was basically the most expensive hostel I have ever stayed in, I am glad I didn't bring my wife because she wouldn't have stayed. There was a TV in each room with no reception, What is the point! I wouldn't recommend this place unless you get a special rate of no more than 10 Euro a head per night.

Reviewed by
P Meehan

From Kenilworth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as bad as some of the reviews i read before booking
You get what you pay for. It was cheap but would only go back if it was cheaper as I think you could find better places for the price I paid. The time I booked was very busy so it was all I could find in my budget.
The staff were friendly and put me in a quiet room as requested. The only complaint I would have was getting a 6:45am wakeup call that I did not request.

Reviewed by
Claire B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very expensive stay!
The manager called Gabrila emailed me several days prior to my stay asking for my credit card details. I replied to infom her that I would not email my card details for security reasons. on my arrival they used my card twice for payment saying the first transaction did`nt go through. On my return I checked my account and found that They have charged twice on my card for my stay. I have emailed the Bridge house to inform them but they refuse to refund my extra payment. My account online clearly shows that the bridge house have taken two payments.

Reviewed by
j w

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab hotel ideal for our needs will go again

Reviewed by
I Wing

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very surprised at the the quality of the room for how much i paid .. Lovely top floor room with rooftop

Reviewed by
Yasmin G

From Kilkenny City, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next