Reviews - Angel Hotel - The Hotel Collection



Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (134)

69% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Lisa T

  • December 2014

Tired in comparison to others in the City

I've stayed in the Angel a number of times but it had been about 2 years since I last stayed.

On this visit the room looked dated with dark heavy furniture and old fashioned curtains. The kettle didn't work and the hairdryer was next to useless. In the bathroom the water did not drain from the bath very quickly whilst having a shower and I was concerned about it overflowing therefore I had to turn the water on an off.

  • susan u

  • December 2014

A surprise

The room was very spacious, the bed was huge and the bathroom was spotless.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. The secure parking in the city centre was a bonus.

  • Gary Williams

  • December 2014

She needs a makeover

The room (215) was very clean, but dated.

The whole hotel seems to be run by competent, courteous staff; but now needs investment to replace worm carpets and fittings. The room had 2 large, old fashion sash windows, but while it was warm with no draft, most of the putty was missing and there were weeds on the windowsill. A nice place to stay, good location, great staff, but needs money spent to really give the Angel back the opulence I remember of old…

  • R Banks

  • December 2014

Good All Round

A brief stay but very pleasant and friendly

  • diana b

  • December 2014

reasonable hotel, rooms very dark, too poorly lit to read or work in

We stayed for one night, arriving early evening intending to do some reading and work and use the internet.

There was a desk in our room and the wifi signal was fair. However, the room was poorly lit, with one side wall lamp and some low level mini-spotlights that starkly lit up the pillows only on the beds, where also the wifi signal was weakest. There was enough light to see your way around the room but a real strain to read or write and felt oppressive. Whilst the welsh receptionist was lovely and porter helpful they were unable to find a solution; the porter explaining after some searching that the hotel had no additional lamps they could provide. He showed us another room which was also dimly lit and said all the rooms were similarly dark. My temptation was to rush out to the nearest department store and buy a cheap desk lamp or camping torch but sadly it was too late, and it would have been a disruption and hassle to move to another hotel. The lounge and restaurant areas are poorly lit too. Needless to say it was a sheer delight and uplifting to experience daylight, even in the drizzling rain, once we left the hotel.

  • D Hornblower

  • December 2014

Great Hotel and fantadtic staff. Would recommend the Hotel to my friends an family

  • Victoria Stone

  • December 2014

Top hotel

Really lovely hotel, friendly staff and really great location would stay again for sure

  • Antony L

  • December 2014

xmas shopping stay

awkward to give a proper review as we were only there for b&b, we found the bed very uncomfortable, otherwise everything else was ok, main foyer was very christmasy

  • Nia B

  • December 2014

Angel of a stay!

We stayed at The Angel Hotel, Cardiff for a Christmas night out.

The service was excellent. Very welcoming staff with nothing being too much trouble. The hotel was clean & quite a beautiful building with a gorgeous grand staircase for those ballgown photos. The room was a good size, bathroom spotless, warm (it was December & blowing a gale outside), with ample tea & coffee. Despite there being a function taking place in the hotel, it was lovely & quiet. The only downsides, very small car park which cost £10. And rattly windows, but it was blowing a gale, & the room was very warm despite the rattles. I thoroughly recommend The Angel if you're visiting Cardiff!

  • R Fardoe

  • December 2014

Nice hotel

Very nice hotel great staff food good yes it can do with a bit of tidy up in places but do not be put off by some bad reviews it is a very old hotel