You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Angel Hotel - The Hotel Collection

4

CASTLE STREET, CARDIFF, CF10 1SZ

Price From 521.17 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (120)

73% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • A Thomas

  • September 2015

Angel Hotel - The Hotel Collection

Bedroom was fine bathroom needs up dating and we found the room very stuffy as the air-con wasn't working

  • Nadine W

  • August 2015

The air conditioning wasn't working during our stay.

The staff were very helpful in ensuring we could have a room where the windows opened - no easy task.

  • David T

  • July 2015

Great location

Will be going back

Friendly place loads of character

  • L Davies

  • July 2015

Excellent value for money

3 course dinner, gorgeous breakfast and a lovely suite for £100 odd per night.

Air conditioning wasn't cool enough but it wasn't worth complaining about. Couldn't fault the cleanliness, it was spotless.

  • Hazel S

  • July 2015

Excellent service

Couldn't fault the staff for their friendliness and willingness to help.

Food - dinner especially - excellent, quantity, flavour and presentation. Afternoon tea was definitely great value for money.

Room looked a little tired but was clean and comfortable. Updating of rooms is obviously taking place at the moment but this did not impact on our stay in any way. I look forward to staying here again. Thank you Angel Hotel.

  • P Moore

  • July 2015

Dated and in poor Condition

Was very disappointed in the room, it was extremely dated, not that I mind 'oldy' world but the room look tired and worn and I'm guessing it had been a longtime since it decorated!.

with the paint on the ceiling flaking off and black spur mould present, the bathroom which was a dated suite was in poor condition, with mouldy mastic, ill fitting cracked front panel to the bath and not the best mixer shower fed from the bath taps, there was also flaking paint and black spur mould on the ceiling, my double bed was 2 singles joined together badly!. I can honestly say that I will not book this hotel again. On another note I am waiting to check my credit card statement as I booked online and was informed full payment had to be made at the point of booking which I did but according to the hotel no payment had been taken and it was taken of my credit card at the point of checking out of which I insisted on a receipt to accompany my online receipt and will be following this up if I have been charged twice!. On a final......positive note Breakfast was good.

  • T L

  • June 2015

Ok, but car park...

Hotel was ok but £10 for overnight parking, in the smallest car park ever.

Had problems getting in n out of my car due to how small the spaces where!

  • C Edwards

  • May 2015

Worst hotel I've been to!

What a terrible experience.

Arrived at 12ish, popped in to the hotel to tell the receptionist we had left the car in the car park as we we were in a rush to make a wedding. We advised we would be back later in the afternoon to check in, the lady was quite helpful and had me sign the forms so when we came back later check in would simply mean picking up the key for the room.

We headed off to the wedding and went back to The Angel about 6-7pm. Receptionist gave me the card and we went up to the room.

Upon opening the door I was greeted with a bed that looked as though someone had just woken up and thrown the covers off them, dirty coffee cups lying about, tissues, a full bin. I went straight back to reception to advise how disgusted I was. Bearing in mind check in was from 3pm, they had all day to ensure the room was clean for our arrival.

The receptionist kindly put us in a new room, which was equally as awful. Okay, I don't think anyone had slept in there but what an awful room. Room 310, marks all over the walls, stained carpets, paint flaking off the walls and bath panel in the bathroom, discoloured tiles and seals. I was honestly horrified, I felt as though we were staying in a hostel and certainly not a known hotel.

There was a card on the table in the room saying 'Welcome Jason, we hope you have a lovely stay at The Angel' who Jason is, I will never know. I felt so uncomfortable expecting some man to walk in to our room through the night!.

When checking out I was told if I chose to stay there again they 'may' offer me an upgrade but would not offer any good will gesture or money off this stay. Very rude lady on reception Sunday morning. I paid £97.50 for rubbish, absolute rubbish. I would never stay here again.

Maybe focus on refurbishing half of the hotel and close the other half off. This has left such a bad taste in my mouth and I would definitely advise people not to stay here!

  • Janette O

  • May 2015

Nice hotel, room was a little small but ok for the price I paid

  • L Nixon

  • May 2015

Room was dirty. Hair in bath, ledges very dirty, broken window, heating didn't work

This is not a 3 star hotel.

All the ledges, windows and skirting were thick with dirt. Everywhere felt grubby.