No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lygon Arms - The Hotel Collection

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
HIGH STREET BROADWAY, The Cotswolds, WR12 7DU
As one of the most celebrated hotels in England The Lygon Arms (Pronounced Liggon) a Premium Hotel, has been welcoming travellers since the 16th Century and today its charm and sense of occasion are as pronounced as ever while complemented by the best of modern comfort.

The hotel has just completed phase one of an impressive restoration programme to revitalise bedrooms and public areas that date back to the sixteenth century, this work is ongoing but is being kept discreet so as not to compromise the guest experience whilst we lovingly restore this Grand Dame of English hospitality.

Our designer, Stephan Oberwegner of Max Bentheim Design based in London has worked on many impressive projects including The Hempel Hotel in London and has recently worked with Peter de Savary creating a new ski resort in Les Gets. Stephan has an obvious synergy with this wonderful building and his desire to retain its integrity as a historic building underpins all of his designs.

Original features such as the timber & flagstone floors, wood panelling, doors, architraves, dados and all stone mullions have been retained and refurbished and dramatically lit to highlight every architectural feature. Naturally this restoration provided a wonderful opportunity to add an element of modernity to the facilities, Garden Wing and Orchard Wing bedrooms will benefit from having air conditioning, high-speed internet access and state of the art Bang & Olfusen audio system.
The hand picked management team has been brought together from some of the finest hotels in the UK and Europe to deliver a truly remarkable experience.
Picture of Lygon Arms - The Hotel Collection, The Cotswolds at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Nice Hotel
Very good value.
Staff very very helpful

Reviewed by
Kathie C

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room dull and dingy- dont stay here
Room in desperate need of refurb. Wires hanging fom tv. Scuffs on walls. Desperately needs paining. Bathroom awful. Bath enamel chipped in places showing horrible bblack patches. Also who on earth has a shower curtain these days? We were placed in modern part of hotel. Other than a fancy lamp _ there was nothing modern about it. The room had no natural light. Could not open blind as it would compromise privacy. Corridors dreadful
stained carpet, woodwork chipped all over. Menu cards had food splattered on the. Urghh. Horrible over rated hotel. One positive.. staff were helpful and pleasant

Reviewed by
i wray

From coventry, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 great days in Cotswolds
Great hotel, but just used it as a place to sleep. Too much other good stuff around to stay in!

Reviewed by
Barrie H

From Hexham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could not have been better
From the moment we checked in and were offered an upgrade on very good terms, through the excellent room service meal, comfortable evening and night, and breakfast next morning we do not think our experience could have been bettered. Everyone was kind, courteous and helpful, and the facilities were excellent.

Reviewed by
W Muir

From Swaffham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

puma in broadway
lovely accommodation in a lovely village

Reviewed by
Marco P

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lygon Stay
Enjoyed our stay, but some staff were a little grumpy and the bed was meant to be a double but was two singles put together, which was very bumpy and uncomfortable.

Reviewed by
Caroline R

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

birthday treat
Having stayed here three times before ,and enjoying the area, my husband chose The Lygon Arms as à venue to celebrate his birthday. Though we enjoyed the experience we did not feel as pampered as we had formerly. Perhaps we were expecting too much and little things added together to make us feel that perhaps this was a visit too far!

Reviewed by
Linda J

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

High standard of accommodation
one of the best hotels in the cotswolds - great for a weekend

Reviewed by
Tony DUNLOP

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not quite what we expected.
Although we had visited the hotel before, as coffee guests, this was our first 'stay.' We had always assumed that the hotel would have a certain air about it but were disappointed that there did not seem to be an active dress code. I know that in this age people are more relaxed and casual but diners wearing football supporters shirts! No I am not a snob, just concerned about a decline in standards.

Reviewed by
John T

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay at the Lygon
Overall I enjoyed my stay at the Lygon but there was an incident one day when my husband and I decided to have a snack outside at the terrace at the rear of the hotel as it was a lovely sunny day. We waited three quarters of an hour and other people were being served who had arrived after us. I mentioned this to the waiter we finally got our order another 15 minutes later. Which was NOT GOOD.

Reviewed by
Dorothy Hickson

From England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next