No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lygon Arms - The Hotel Collection

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
HIGH STREET BROADWAY, The Cotswolds, WR12 7DU
As one of the most celebrated hotels in England The Lygon Arms (Pronounced Liggon) a Premium Hotel, has been welcoming travellers since the 16th Century and today its charm and sense of occasion are as pronounced as ever while complemented by the best of modern comfort.

The hotel has just completed phase one of an impressive restoration programme to revitalise bedrooms and public areas that date back to the sixteenth century, this work is ongoing but is being kept discreet so as not to compromise the guest experience whilst we lovingly restore this Grand Dame of English hospitality.

Our designer, Stephan Oberwegner of Max Bentheim Design based in London has worked on many impressive projects including The Hempel Hotel in London and has recently worked with Peter de Savary creating a new ski resort in Les Gets. Stephan has an obvious synergy with this wonderful building and his desire to retain its integrity as a historic building underpins all of his designs.

Original features such as the timber & flagstone floors, wood panelling, doors, architraves, dados and all stone mullions have been retained and refurbished and dramatically lit to highlight every architectural feature. Naturally this restoration provided a wonderful opportunity to add an element of modernity to the facilities, Garden Wing and Orchard Wing bedrooms will benefit from having air conditioning, high-speed internet access and state of the art Bang & Olfusen audio system.
The hand picked management team has been brought together from some of the finest hotels in the UK and Europe to deliver a truly remarkable experience.
Picture of Lygon Arms - The Hotel Collection, The Cotswolds at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lygon Arms - The Hotel Collection
x

Reviewed by
P Lyon

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
We booked this hotel as a late getaway. We parked at the front of the hotel as we were unsure where the car park was ( it's round the back but difficult to find if you don't know how to get to it). As we checked in a valet parked our car for us!! Our room was in the old part of the building above the front entrance. How ever we were not disturbed by any noise. The room was nicely furnished with a modern bathroom.Floors were uneven but added to the charm of this hotel, so were also creaky so if you don't like noise ask to stay in the newer part of the hotel. Breakfast was fab with a good selection of cereals, fruit etc and the 'eggs benedict' was lovely. Staff were friendly and approachable. My husband and I used the Spa, the only draw back here being that classes were held in the pool and so pool was not always available.

Reviewed by
Linda Jennings

From Chessington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Nice Hotel
Very good value.
Staff very very helpful

Reviewed by
Kathie C

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room dull and dingy- dont stay here
Room in desperate need of refurb. Wires hanging fom tv. Scuffs on walls. Desperately needs paining. Bathroom awful. Bath enamel chipped in places showing horrible bblack patches. Also who on earth has a shower curtain these days? We were placed in modern part of hotel. Other than a fancy lamp _ there was nothing modern about it. The room had no natural light. Could not open blind as it would compromise privacy. Corridors dreadful
stained carpet, woodwork chipped all over. Menu cards had food splattered on the. Urghh. Horrible over rated hotel. One positive.. staff were helpful and pleasant

Reviewed by
i wray

From coventry, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 great days in Cotswolds
Great hotel, but just used it as a place to sleep. Too much other good stuff around to stay in!

Reviewed by
Barrie H

From Hexham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could not have been better
From the moment we checked in and were offered an upgrade on very good terms, through the excellent room service meal, comfortable evening and night, and breakfast next morning we do not think our experience could have been bettered. Everyone was kind, courteous and helpful, and the facilities were excellent.

Reviewed by
W Muir

From Swaffham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

puma in broadway
lovely accommodation in a lovely village

Reviewed by
Marco P

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lygon Stay
Enjoyed our stay, but some staff were a little grumpy and the bed was meant to be a double but was two singles put together, which was very bumpy and uncomfortable.

Reviewed by
Caroline R

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

birthday treat
Having stayed here three times before ,and enjoying the area, my husband chose The Lygon Arms as à venue to celebrate his birthday. Though we enjoyed the experience we did not feel as pampered as we had formerly. Perhaps we were expecting too much and little things added together to make us feel that perhaps this was a visit too far!

Reviewed by
Linda J

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

High standard of accommodation
one of the best hotels in the cotswolds - great for a weekend

Reviewed by
Tony DUNLOP

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next