No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Apollo Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
243-247 Hagley Road , Birmingham, B16 9RA
Ideally situated for access to the International Convention Centre, National Indoor Arena, National Exhibition Centre (NEC), Edgbaston Cricket Ground and main business centres.
Easy access to M5 (Junction 3) - 5 miles. M6 (Junction 6) - 5 miles and Birmingham International Airport - 10 miles.
AMPLE FREE CAR PARKING.
FREE WI-FI.
With 126 bedrooms and extensive meeting / function facilities.
Picture of Apollo Hotel, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 90 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable clean and friendly
Pleasant hotel, we were on the 4th floor, which was a bit of a climb.
Breakfast was ok, good selection, avoid bacon if it looks dry because it will be,
Bed very comfortable and clean, inspected quilt and mattress, they were immaculate, shower was very difficult to get to a temp we could use, would not advise a child using it, gets so hot takes the skin off.
Great location for the NIA / Barclaycard Arena.
We would stay again, just ask for a room lower down.

Reviewed by
K Bartle

From Friskney, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were great! Shame the hotel let them down.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. It was the building/room and deposit I had an issue with. The toilet brush holder was brown instead of transparent so what that meant for general cleanliness I have no idea. The bathroom window seemed broken- as in it was stuck open a little. Not a big issue but it was rather irksome as the bathroom could never warm up. The decent thing was the WIFI. No sign-ups or accounts to create. Password was provided and we were able to log on immediately. The deposit wasn't in my opinion clearly stated enough and I had to pay 100 pounds on top of a room that cost 129 pounds in case of damages to the property. Which I found slightly ludicrous as did other guests that I overheard at reception. Hopefully my money has been released otherwise I'll be leaving another review.

Reviewed by
J Quinn

From Gibraltar
Who stayed in December 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Satisfied
Despite some negative reviews we were pleasantly surprised at the quality of our room. It was good value for money however we booked early and the going rate that day did look ott. One drawback if anything is the noise the main road is a constant source of annoyance as the walls are thin and the shower and lift can also grate on you. These were minor issues we would stay again at the right price.

Reviewed by
Paul S

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

family visiting
This hotel was better than expected and centrally located

Reviewed by
brian whitaker

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Apollo Hotel
Only down fall I was just missing the wife everything else fine

Reviewed by
G Hogg

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly surprised
Room was excellent, clean, modern and WARM!!

Reviewed by
Annette M

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business trip
Room nice and snug. Good TV. Bathroom was abit cold, drafty window. Otherwise nice stop-over

Reviewed by
S Gorman

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would book again
Did not look much from the outside had a slight bates motel feel :-) however the room was good newly refurbished and almost 100% it was let down slightly by the bath which had some mildew and had a dirty non slip mat for the shower , as for the staff they were excellent there was a party of teenagers in the next room being very loud at 5am after returning from a club when reported the staff evicted them from the hotel and gave us a late check out to make up for the lost sleep

Reviewed by
p graves

From birmingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but good value
4th floor no lift, Phew. room was adequate with a good shower and comfortable bed. Stayed on a Friday so paid less. Not good enough for Monday to Thursday rates. Staff were excellent and reception guy was very friendly.

Reviewed by
Roy J

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Stay

Reviewed by
F Mustafa

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next