No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Apollo Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
243-247 Hagley Road , Birmingham, B16 9RA
Ideally situated for access to the International Convention Centre, National Indoor Arena, National Exhibition Centre (NEC), Edgbaston Cricket Ground and main business centres.
Easy access to M5 (Junction 3) - 5 miles. M6 (Junction 6) - 5 miles and Birmingham International Airport - 10 miles.
AMPLE FREE CAR PARKING.
FREE WI-FI.
With 126 bedrooms and extensive meeting / function facilities.
Picture of Apollo Hotel, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 72 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful staff, place a little rickety but fine enough
Very helpful staff, place a little rickety on the outside but being renovated and fine enough inside. Will be staying again...

Reviewed by
ellis k

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is very good value for money if you book on line. I feel normal prices are rather high.

Reviewed by
Mary D

From Bodmin, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location. Good size room. Parking avaialble.

Reviewed by
Helen D

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic little hideaway!
When we arrived there was plenty of room to park and then some with extra round the back. The receptionist was very welcoming and friendly. We asked about the wifi and were given the password with no problems. The wifi wasn't the strongest and very hit and miss but as it is free no real need to complain about it. The room was very clean and the beds very comfy. This was a lovely overnight stay for me and my friend and would quite happily stay again :)

Reviewed by
N Weeks

From Swaffham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't have a room on the ground floor if possible!
A favoured haunt of contractors with vans, and two tall blocks of rooms facing one another doesnt make for a very peaceful stay, even though its away from the Hagley Road. Anyone talking outside or starting an engine is amplified and with some not back until late and others leaving early, its not a very peaceful place to stay if you are at ground level.
it's no frills... could be cleaner, inside the rooms and out.... and if the room key takes a dislike to you... well... that's one I could have written a book about after two nights.

Reviewed by
Jon E

From Beaminster, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel too stay nice clean and very warm with two heaters plus nice and clean room
I enjoyed my stay Apollo hotel has nice warm and very comfortable rooms the room I had a electric heater and also a radiator too the room was very clean and extra pillow facilities and four towels plus the shower was nice with mix water taps too have a nice cosy shower I loved my stay and it is value for money and has very big safe cambered car park and I felt like home and the staff is nice too...

Reviewed by
A Baz

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Located by main road so slightly noisy, water pumps/occupants next door caused some disruptive noise too, not sure which. All staff were excellent, helpful and polite. They were all cheerful from the people on reception to the waitress. Room was great value for money, spacious and clean, bathroom had decent shower, also spotless.
Car park was discreet so it felt safe to leave car here. Would deffo stay here again, only slight complaint about breakfast was sausages were under cooked, every1 left theirs!

Reviewed by
Ian m

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Average at best unfortunately
Wouldn't let me pay cash unless I put down a £100 deposit which wasn't stated very clearly or at all on line. There was no food on because of something to do with a problem with the Chef so had to go out for food. There was a nest of ants everywhere directly outside the entrance door and the shower in the room was absolutely pathetic probably due to being on the top floor was just a drip at most. Was reasonably clean and the staff were friendly but wouldn't go back again sorry.

Reviewed by
S Forrest

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't let the exterior put you off!
Not the most attractive hotel outside, but free parking, ground floor room requested and given. Carpets a bit shabby, but the room was large, clean, comfortable, lovely crisp white clean bed linen. Good wardrobe space. Iron and Ironing board. Very clean and modern bathroom. Good amount of towels. Was impressed for the price we paid, will stay again if we can get it at the same price. Didn't have breakfast so can't comment on the food.

Reviewed by
Wendy P

From Stamford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First Visit To Birmingham
Recommended by my son,having stayed there on business trips.
Easy to get to the city center by public transport and more importantly free car parking.
Very good value for money.

Reviewed by
barry reay

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next