No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wotton House

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Guildford Road, Dorking, Surrey, RH5 6HS
Wotton House is nestled in 13 acres of spectacular listed gardens in the Surrey Countryside, on the outskirts of Dorking. It is the ideal setting for a romantic getaway, the perfect base for a family holiday or just some me time.

111 beautiful bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms and full use of all leisure facilities including, gym, indoor pool (children’s splash times apply), sauna, steamroom, tennis courts and games room. Enjoy relaxing in our Orangery Bar with outside access to the Terrace overlooking the gardens where you can also indulge in our bar menu. If you require something extra special why not dine in our newly refurbished Tempus Restaurant.

Ideally located for all local attractions including Denbies Vineyard, Royal Ascot, Thorpe Park, Chessington World of Adventures, Box Hill, Epsom Racecourse, Polsden Lacey, Leith Hill, Clandon Park and Hatchlands Park

Only 15 minutes from Junction 9 of M25, 30 minutes from Gatwick Airport and 40 minutes by train to Waterloo, we are perfectly located no matter where you are travelling from.
Picture of Wotton House, Surrey at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel, average service
Lovely Hotel, average service

Reviewed by
Craig B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Impressive venue but could do better
Hotel looks great room was nice but was let down by crack poorly repaired in bathroom sink and loose toilet seat, bed was comfy and in general the room was clean and pleasant enough.
Service was slow in the bar and at breakfast the next morning dirty cutlery, plates and cracked coffee cup even after the discounted rate I felt the stay was only comparable to a premier inn or similar.

Reviewed by
Stephen S

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired / shoddy decoration and filthy window
I called the hotel directly to find out more about the room (size, position, outlook, facilities etc.). he was very evasive, insisting all rooms are different sizes and would be allocated on arrival. I booked because the website looked smart and I had very little time. I specified in the LateRooms booking that I did not want a ground floor and to have the largest room possible (they only had standard rooms left).
When we arrived, we went to our room #146 - of course no one offered to show us the room - and it was on a lower ground floor, it smelled of mildew, the outlook was non existant of course, wallpaper is peeling away at the joins, no remote for the 1990's CRT TV and you could almost grow mushrooms in the dirt that had collected on the inside of the window sill where the window had been left open to hide the smell of the mildew. The window had clearly not been cleaned for months.
Grounds and setting are lovely, staff are friendly but junior and underresourced. All focus on the perpetual wedding parties and any other guests I presume get diverted to these awful new build box rooms at the side of the hotel. Definitely do not stay in 146!

Reviewed by
R Polding

From Esher, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Astounding Surroundings
Kind of in the middle of no where, but this to me and many others is perfect, the grounds are spectacular, well kept and with good seating / relaxing options
The actual building has mostly been refurbished well and in keeping with the stately home feel, however both the actual room and the breakfast room were ultra modern and could have been any hotel chain, shame as this could have made it 5 star,,,
Do take note though, the room was comfortable, small but,,, and the breakfast was excellent!!!!
Would return definately

Reviewed by
Craig M

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly people most comftable bed could up grade T.V in room food was lovely would defiantly stay there again grounds were beautiful .

Reviewed by
Mandy Lidbetter

From Hassocks, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely country house hotel
I stayed here three nights and thought the place was excellent, room was a bit stuffy but there was a fan in the wardrobe so it wasn't a major problem. Staff were great and breakfast was very good. A £1m refit and this place could be in the top rank but right now it's just below and accessible to the business traveler which is great. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
A Moody

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was lovely, gardens were beautiful, staff were friendly and very helpful

Reviewed by
S Leighton

From Leigh on Sea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
This is a lovely hotel an imposing building with clean, comfortable and spacious rooms. the staff I dealt with were lovely and very helpful. It is not cheap being aimed at the luxury end of the market, but it mostly has the facilities to match this and the ability to just go for a quick swim after a long (hot) day was welcome. I have one gripe. At £103 per night for a room only I would have expected free and good internet access as part of the room rate. Instead what was on offer was an hour for free then wait two hours for a much reduced service. In this day and age that is a bit like being charged extra for hving a kettle in your room.

Reviewed by
Susan R

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel and Surroundings
Went down to Surrey for my Sons graduation and couldn't get in the "mainstream" hotels. Found out they had tripled the price anyway so when we found this hotel had a room available we jumped at it. Fantastic hotel and surroundings, we didn't use many of the facilities as we had other plans but it looked really nice and clean. We would stay here again when we visit our son down in Guildford

Reviewed by
M Derbyshire

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wedding occasion
lovely hotel and surroundings but hotel room was so hot need air conditioning in rooms.

Reviewed by
B JARVIS

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next