No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wotton House

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Guildford Road, Dorking, Surrey, RH5 6HS
Wotton House is nestled in 13 acres of spectacular listed gardens in the Surrey Countryside, on the outskirts of Dorking. It is the ideal setting for a romantic getaway, the perfect base for a family holiday or just some me time.

111 beautiful bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms and full use of all leisure facilities including, gym, indoor pool (children’s splash times apply), sauna, steamroom, tennis courts and games room. Enjoy relaxing in our Orangery Bar with outside access to the Terrace overlooking the gardens where you can also indulge in our bar menu. If you require something extra special why not dine in our newly refurbished Tempus Restaurant.

Ideally located for all local attractions including Denbies Vineyard, Royal Ascot, Thorpe Park, Chessington World of Adventures, Box Hill, Epsom Racecourse, Polsden Lacey, Leith Hill, Clandon Park and Hatchlands Park

Only 15 minutes from Junction 9 of M25, 30 minutes from Gatwick Airport and 40 minutes by train to Waterloo, we are perfectly located no matter where you are travelling from.
Picture of Wotton House, Surrey at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
This is a lovely hotel an imposing building with clean, comfortable and spacious rooms. the staff I dealt with were lovely and very helpful. It is not cheap being aimed at the luxury end of the market, but it mostly has the facilities to match this and the ability to just go for a quick swim after a long (hot) day was welcome. I have one gripe. At £103 per night for a room only I would have expected free and good internet access as part of the room rate. Instead what was on offer was an hour for free then wait two hours for a much reduced service. In this day and age that is a bit like being charged extra for hving a kettle in your room.

Reviewed by
Susan R

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel and Surroundings
Went down to Surrey for my Sons graduation and couldn't get in the "mainstream" hotels. Found out they had tripled the price anyway so when we found this hotel had a room available we jumped at it. Fantastic hotel and surroundings, we didn't use many of the facilities as we had other plans but it looked really nice and clean. We would stay here again when we visit our son down in Guildford

Reviewed by
M Derbyshire

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wedding occasion
lovely hotel and surroundings but hotel room was so hot need air conditioning in rooms.

Reviewed by
B JARVIS

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Hotel and location
really surprised when arrived at how grand the hotel was, in its own grounds, staff very welcoming, room fantastic, bar and restaurant are also great. Down side on the ground floor there is no mobile phone signal although there is complimentary Wifi and the speed bumps on the drive down from the main road are very fierce care needs to be taken - would very much recommend a visit, great if travelling alone or part of a group.

Reviewed by
s potts

From Saltash, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good stay!
Breakfast was very good apart from the bacon on the two mornings we spent there.I don't know whT they do with it but it is most unusual ,pale gray in colour and not at all attractive.We decided not to have it!

Reviewed by
M Cockburn

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grounds
The grounds and building were fantastic, ideal setting for the weddings they put on. Enjoyable evening meal.

Reviewed by
Philip S

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning Place
Not too sure where people find faults with Wotton House? Stunning place, admittedly helped by some great weather. Stayed for 2 nights. The room was quite warm upon arrival but due to the quiet surroundings, leaving the window open on a night was not an issue. Used the leisure facilities on the first night, all clean and modern. The breakfast choice was first class albeit a tad expensive. Already looking to stay again where possible.

Reviewed by
Richard A

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Slightly disappointed...
I chose this hotel for my business stay in Dorking based on the reviews but I was disappointed in the general cleanliness of my room, what I assume to be the ventilation grill in the bathroom was dirty, the blades of the electric fan were also covered in dirt and there was an obvious lack of a deep clean in the bedroom.
On arriving downstairs for breakfast, I had to put two or three plates aside before I found a plate without any dishwasher residue from which to eat my breakfast.
Overall, I enjoyed my stay at the Wotton House Hotel but was disappointed that the hotel has overlooked some simple fundamental areas of cleanliness for their guests.

Reviewed by
Kim Turnbull

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning place to stay - well worth visiting
From the moment we walked in all the staff were very attentive, especially our waiter John, who really went the extra mile to ensure we had a good time. The hotel had four weddings on over the two days that we were there, but it didn't interfere with out stay at all and actually added to the atmophere.
The terrace is wonderful to sit out on and enjoys the afternoon sun - so relaxing.
The spa was lovely too, and only three couples using it. We didn't want to leave!

Reviewed by
L Brown

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice views, shame about the place!
I decided to give Wotton House another chance as last time I had visited I had a problem with dining on the evening as a conference had booked in and I was unable to book a table for food.
Views and drive to hotel as others have mentioned are magnificent but the appeal soon dies off once entering the hotel.
As before only 1 person was working on check-in and there were 4 people in front of me when I arrived, so it took a while for the poor receptionist to get through everybody. By the time I had my key there were more people in the queue but still no extra staff were available to help out.
Rooms are spacious and clean but I almost hit the floor when sitting on the bed, the mattress seemed springless. The television was very old and it was just random selection to try and get one of the five channels available.
I visited the bar and waited 15 minutes to be served. Again only 1 person on duty who was trying his best to cope with the queue's! However the till had no change and it was suggested to any customer that the drinks were charged to their room. This was at 7PM so I think the barman was in for a long night!!
Food was OK and decent value but my colleague had to ask three times for the bill which was passed to us as we finally walked out.
Another 15 minutes checking out with one receptionist the following day truly capped a forgettable experience!!
Its no fault of the staff who are really pleasant but the hotel seems dramatically undermanned at peak times and causes a lot of frustrations. Could also do with a bit of an update on in room entertainment. I wont be returning!!

Reviewed by
Tony C

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next