Matfen Hall Hotel Golf and Spa

4

Matfen, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE20 0RH

Price From 258.92 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Excellent

All reviews (41)

95% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • D Carr

  • March 2015

Matfen Hall Hotel Golf and Spa

Matfen Hall Hotel Golf and Spa

  • brian o

  • December 2014

Relaxing break

We have stayed at Matfen Hall on more than one occasion and we have found everything 1st class, and all the staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stephen R

  • December 2014

An unexpected pleasure

This was a very enjoyable stay in a superbly restored grand old country house.

It is a great experience with relaxed access to the historical features of the house combined with very personal service. Our stay was great value and we enjoyed a pleasant walk around the grounds and the golf club house. On our next visit we will use the spa facilities. The Hotel is also a great base for walks along Hadrians wall.

  • Pauline P

  • November 2014

Horse racing break

The hotel is ideally placed for going to the races at Hexham and shopping in Newcastle.

The rooms are very comfortable and the food excellent.

  • Stewart B

  • November 2014

Overall experience was very positive with an excellent dining room and food quality.

The imposing building and grounds are located in a great position for a country break. We may have been unlucky but our room was compact to say the least (room 41) and in need of some TLC. Not really befitting of a 4 star hotel in a competitive market. You don't expect to have bath area with silicone grout missing and black with grime. The comments are constructive and should not be construed as a damning review. We would be pleased to revisit if rooms were refurbished or upgraded.

  • Violet W

  • October 2014

Mid week treat

Fabulous.

They never fail to delight.

  • brian osmond

  • October 2014

I do not think I could suggest anything that would improve what there is,everything was 1st class.

  • O Leith

  • July 2014

Maften hall

Maften hall was a wonderful place.

Scenic, full of history and wonderful staff. There were 3 negative instances during our 3 day stay however. First was the quality of food at the bar restaurant we ordered a "Maften burger" the first night and for 13 pounds it wasn't any better than a McDonald's quarter pounder. Second instance was the room was very hot and there is no climate control within the room except to open the windows and hope for the best. The last was the worst we went to the lodge restaurant on out last night and splashed out in a surf and turf. The steak came out well done when we asked for rare and the surf consisted if 3 garlic shrimp not the best. In Maftens defence the bar staff replaced our steaks with correctly cook ones without complaint and brought over a round of complimentary drinks for our inconvenience which I appreciate.

  • beverley h

  • July 2014

Excellent break at matfen

I was very pleasantly surprised with the excellent value for money at Matfen.

The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The food was excellent; we ate at night in the Keeper's lodge and the menu was varied, delicious and excellent value for money. The spa was fantastic, as was the bedroom and the house was very interesting to explore and read about. The grounds are beautiful and we will be back without a doubt!. :) It is the best hotel we have stayed in so far.

  • D Breeze

  • May 2014

The Mafen experience

Excellent location, excellent accommodation, excellent and friendly and helpful staff: what more could you want?