No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Letchworth Lane, Letchworth Garden City, Hertfordshire, LETCHWORTH, SG6 3NP
The 4 star Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel & Spa is a converted manor house close to Letchworth, the original garden city & just 30 minutes from London Luton airport, Cambridge & London King's Cross. The hotel has 87 modern bedrooms, air conditioning & Wifithroughout. Set in 8 acres of grounds overlooking Letchworth Golf Club. The 5 function rooms are ideal for meetings or weddings. Lytton's offers elegant dining for lunch & dinner. The Spa has an indoor heated pool, gym & treatment rooms
Picture of Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel, LETCHWORTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
We stayed at this hotel as we were attending an event there and the location and ambiance were very pleasant. The room was nicely furnished and decorated but we didn't sleep well as the heating/water system was noisy. Bathroom was adequate but small. We were completely satisfied with the food and service in the restaurant.

Reviewed by
Rachel E

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel
We stay at the hall about six times a year or more. The room we were given was 58 on the top floor. It was a nice enough room, but the heating was broken and we had a noise going on all the time. It was from the ground floor some sort of vent. Not good when you can here this all night.

Reviewed by
Daphne Williams

From Tavistock, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed the Stay
Nice room. Good Environment

Reviewed by
TF Leung

From Hong Kong
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bathroom was designed for young people not for the older generation.. There should be grab rails to assist getting both in and out of the bath and support while showering.

Reviewed by
W Hooper

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed the Stay
Nice room. Good environment

Reviewed by
TF Leung

From Hong Kong
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean comfortable in a nice country setting with helpful friendly staff.
On arrival we were able to park the car outside the reception while we checked in and take our cases to our room. There were plenty of parking spaces so it was easy to park ..Checking in and out was easy with a quick checkout option if required. Our room was on the Ground Floor. It was clean,had air conditioning, a decent TV.,a kettle with tea and coffee and milk/creamers to make a hot drink, WiFi and LED bedside reading lights. The bathroom had a bath and a shower and plenty of towels and toiletries .We ate in the bar and enjoyed a bar meal. At lunchtime they have a two /three course options at a fixed price for each. We tried this - the food and service were excellent. The only area where we felt things could have been better was wheelchair access. We took a friend in a wheelchair and they provided portable ramps. We have made hotel aware of this and they said they will look into it. If we go to that area again we would stay in this hotel.

Reviewed by
Donald C

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average for a 4*

Reviewed by
amish s

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our room No. 66 had some maintenance issues in the bathroom which should have been noticed and corrected some time before. These were to the shower and WC and our bedroom window was stuck closed.
I was disappointed by the reception areas. Not very welcoming and a bit shabby.

Reviewed by
Charles S

From Windsor, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality Hotel at budget hotel prices
Excellent customer facing staff, restaurant food was outstanding, room was more than satisfactory and the bed was very comfortable (too soft for me but that's my choice)

Reviewed by
darren hargreaves

From Dewsbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what you expect for 4 stars
While the outside of the building is lovely and picturesque, the inside leaves a lot to be desired. Our room had the layout and contents of a budget hotel room, with an ill-fitting bathroom door which wouldn't close and a bathroom wall light which wouldn't turn off. The 'guest directory' was conspicuously absent from our room, which we only found out when looking though a haphazard pile of papers left on a dresser and finding our "Welcome..." letter somewhere near the bottom.
The front of house staff were polished and professional but the restaurant staff let them down by being obviously inexperienced and Ill trained, fumbling over simple tasks like opening wine and serving rolls and butter. The food itself was good quality, as was the wine. The goats cheese starter in particular was delicious, as was the roast beef. Mains start at about £20 though so be prepared to get your wallet out!
Overall it didn't feel like 4 star hotel experience at any point, and it seemed overpriced even at the reduced laterooms rate.
If you're going to Letchworth, check out the Broadway Hotel and Carvery, I can't vouch for the accommodation but the food is delicious and cheap as chips, we had a much more enjoyable evening there than at Letchworth Hall for a mere fraction of the cost.

Reviewed by
Stef J

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next