No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bowfield Hotel & Country Club

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Bowfield Road,Howwood , beith, PA9 1DZ
A refreshingly different hotel within a relaxed country club atmosphere. Tucked away in the Renfrewshire Hills , yet only 10 minutes from Glasgow Airport this hotels offers quiet comfort, a superb leisure club and restaurant.

Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.

Picture of Bowfield Hotel & Country Club, beith at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 98 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cosy
Nice location & very friendly staff. Lovely old style to the building. Our room let us down slightly, very comfortable bed but very dated, no colour ), walls were stained with something splashed up wall beside the kettle& view of a building site. Breakfast in our room was lovley although we had to down & ask for itthat morning as it was late. Overall very cheap & worth the money.

Reviewed by
l neill

From Newtownabbey, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good accommodation and good food
The bedrooms were clean although they are a bit outdated.

Reviewed by
P Wilson

From Strathaven, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Waitresses
I have stayed here many times and the service has always been very good but this time i was disappointed,i was the only guest in the dinning room the waitress took my order for breakfast pot of coffee and brown toast the coffee arrived then i waited and waited meanwhile another guest came in he ordered a cooked breakfast and toast within a few minutes out came his toast and cooked breakfast! then she went straight back into the kitchen never to be seen again after 15 minutes i gave up trying to get any bodies attention as i had plans for that day,thank goodness the waiters i encountered after that were up to the standards i have come to expect from this hotel.

Reviewed by
D Summers

From newport, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely secluded hotel
Excellent couple of days. Super leisure facilities. Would certainly recommend. Will be back soon.

Reviewed by
david s evans

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would stay again.
Had an excellent discount. Just stayed the one night so I wasn't able to make full use of the facilities. I would consider going back for a weekend break. The staff are very welcoming and helpful.

Reviewed by
T Kearns

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stayed here about 10 years ago. This was probably the last time the hotel had a refurbishment!
The woodwork in the bedroom was shoddy, there was no hot water in the morning so my partner couldn't even face her shower.
The towel rail was rusted through, there was a large water leak stain on the bathroom ceiling and a noise all night like someone had left a fan on in another part of the hotel.
The bar restaurant was functional and the food was good, but it was far too hot and this killed our appetites.
Added to the fact that the menu in the folder in the room was old and clearly didn't reflect the menu downstairs and there was no coffee (only decaf) and no sweeteners in the room implied shoddy housekeeping.
My other half was distraught when we discovered that there was no mattress protector, and with the sheet not even being a fitted sheet - we had ended up sleeping part of the night on the bare mattress and whatever deposits previous guests might have left! Yuck.
After complaining in the morning, we received a partial refund of the £85 paid. No way was this ever a £300 room as advertised on Laterooms, and I will be complaining about this to Laterooms and filing a compalint with Advertising Standards. The hotel confirmed that they have never charged £300 for a room and I am awaiting a written response to our complaints from the hotel. 2 days later and we have yet to even receive an apology.
I wouldn't stay here again if you paid me £85, honestly. Had I known it would be of such a poor standard I would have stayed in a Travelodge where at least you know you get a clean bed and hot water.

Reviewed by
N James

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
New Year's Eve banquet and service was excellent. At other times over a two day stay a little lacking in attention. Rooms could be doing with being upgraded with dampness in places. Spa facilities were excellent. Enjoyable stay but had the potential for being great.

Reviewed by
L Galbraith

From Paisley, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very impressed
We only needed one night's accommodation prior to attanding a wedding in the area and, after reading good reviews, chose the Bowfield in preference to an impersonal airport hotel. Arriving on a cold wet winter's day there was a warm reception from the friendly staff and the welcoming real fire burning in the snug reception area. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable with a generous assortment of drink sachets and biscuits provided. Taking advantage of the gym and leisure facilities we enjoyed a swim and sauna before enjoying an excellent generous meal in the attractive dining room. Breakfast was again top class, plentiful and varied. After a short stroll outdoors in the dry to admire the extensive country views we wished that we could have stayed longer in this homely hotel in such a peaceful location yet not too far from the airport and city.

Reviewed by
P Brown

From Bournemouth, England
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thank goodness it was a discount rate
The reception staff were pleasant and helpful. The availability of staff in the morning was very poor and the service basic at best. Given the discounted rate the stay was OK, however no stretch of the imagination makes it worth the advertised full price and I'll not use this hotel again.

Reviewed by
Rona L

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly Surprised
After seeing a few online reviews & tweets about this place I was a little worried, usual hotel for working up in Scotland has significantly put their prices up recently and so I decided to try here, main attraction (apart from price) was the leisure facilities included. Nice looking hotel and friendly and helpful check-in. Spacious room with all mod cons including a trouser press and flat screen tv. Spa facilities were good including steam room, sauna, spa pool and swimming pool, tried all apart from the sauna as it was quite busy. Food in the restaurant was good value £9.95 for two courses set in a cosy room with a real fire in the corner. Breakfast was waiter service, not horrible self service and this was tasty and plentiful too. Ideal location and setting for getting away from it all and relaxing. The only downside was the lack of Wi-Fi and mobile signal in the rooms, Wi-Fi was available (after asking at reception for the code) in the bar/restaurant but really needed it in the room to make perfect. Will I stay here again? Most definitely, for less than £60 inc breakfast and leisure facilities and nice, quiet setting worth it. Good value.

Reviewed by
James G

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next