Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Strathclyde > Glasgow > East Kilbride Hotels > Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel & Spa
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel & Spa

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Strathaven Road East Kilbride, East Kilbride, G75 0QZ
Turning of the main road the quiet tree lined drive leads to 37 Acres of tranquil garden and woodlands. Located just 15 minutes from the heart of Glasgow surrounded by countryside, offering luxurious accommodation, excellent dining and total relaxation.

The original building, which now acts as the hub of the hotel, dates back to 1700 although it was not used as a hotel until 1964. With a superb function suite, luxurious bedrooms and excellent leisure and Spa facilities, Crutherland House is one of the finest and most luxurious hotels in the West of Scotland. Every one of the bedrooms has been designed and decorated with comfort in mind. Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.

If you prefer privacy during your stay, you can select cuisine from the 24-hour room service menu. Macdonald Hotels has established an enviable reputation for their cuisine and The Crutherland House Hotel has helped to maintain that standard. The award winning chefs use prime fresh produce, locally bred or grown wherever possible and dishes that are mainly Scottish and continental, while the wines are specially selected to compliment whatever choice of food you make.To make your dining experience complete why not begin with a cocktail or aperitif in the elegant cocktail bar and, afterwards return to relax in the sofas and leather armchairs over coffee and a brandy, malt whisky, or whatever liqueur takes your fancy.

**Please note there will be a £3.00 charge for the use of credit/debit cards**
Picture of Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel & Spa, East Kilbride at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 76 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were friendly and helpful. Room clean.

Reviewed by
J Lewis

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable hotel but terrible service
The hotel and room were quite acceptable. Nothing special but well maintained. Service however was the worst we've encountered for some time. Check-in receptionist was fine, but check-out hadn't got a clue. Waited 10 minutes to finally be told we had nothing to pay.
Food and drink service in the lounge was a joke. Breakfast service was so bad it was funny - three attempts to serve a cooked breakfast and on no occasion did we get what we ordered.
Some staff training is needed here!

Reviewed by
Ian F

From Skegness, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Trip
Booked on line with no fuss, Hotel looked great.
Accommodation.
Arrived at 5.35pm, 2-3 guests waiting to check in, was asked to take a seat for 5 mins while my room was allocated, waited 35 mins before approaching reception to ask if my room had been allocated and was told no without an explanation, I could hear other customers complaining about how long they had been waiting for a room.
I kindly offered to go through to the bar with my guests and was told my room would be ready shortly.
At 8.45pm the reception manager came into the bar waving a torn key card wallet, no apology or explanation for the delay, no offer of an upgrade of complimentary drink for my inconvenience.
Food.
Ordered a club sandwich which took 50 mins to arrive, was Luke warm and almost inedible.
Checked out at 7.30am, again no apology for any delay or how my stay was.
I will not be staying at this hotel again nor will any of my work colleagues.
Very poor standard of service given it has a 4 star rating.

Reviewed by
Graham W

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent stay here. staff so friendly and very approachable. food excellent and bedrooms very clean

Reviewed by
P Scott

From Bathgate, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

MacDonald Crutherland House Hotel is very sub standard
This hotel is not anything like it appears on the Internet site.
We found it to be a very out of date and shabby hotel lacking in the quality that its price appears to suggest.. In reality it was faded and uninspiring in all its common areas - which were all badly in need of an upgrade.
Worst of all was the restaurant - where food was served that defies description. They even managed to make a full Scottish breakfast inedible. We were most disappointed and could not eat the very stale bacon, the greasy eggs and the plate full of grease.
To cap it all the Hotel said we would not be charged for only one of the two breakfasts - but they were paid for on your website anyway - so we just left in disgust at the lovely setting in which 30 years ago a nice Hotel had been built - and then it had been run into the ground until today
We will never book a hotel again on your website without checking the whole thing out! This was the most expensive hotel you had to stay in in Glasgow - and it was the worst experience of our lives!
David Wellstead

Reviewed by
david wellstead

From Rowlands Gill, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room but terrible food and service
The Checkin service was great and well explained and the room was lovely, the room service delivered one half of the order with no cutlery and when called regarding the missing half that also appeared with missing cutlery thus eating at different times.
Breakfast we were sat down an we watched as everyone else around was served tea/coffee and orders taken, after catching a waiter we ordered coffee and breakfast after 15 minutes, what arrived was cold and horrible looking breakfast minus things that were asked for also the toast arrived as the breakfast got colder and pushed to the side, thank god there was cereal.
Consider I eat almost anything it was severe let down after the room service fiasco and when I mentioned it I was informed the duty manager would call me, which never happened:-(
I have stayed here previously and it was perfect but I guess that's the joys of employing too many 16/17 year olds with insufficient training, really felt let down

Reviewed by
Thomas Craig Stewart

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Service
Staff were great - very friendly !

Reviewed by
Martin A

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor customer experience
The management at this hotel are disorganised and do not know how to deliver a good customer experience to its paying guests.
One of the worst places I have stayed in many years, would never go back.

Reviewed by
Jamie B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
Surprised that I managed to get this quality of hotel for the price paid, only one criticism I had the room next to the lift and not much of a view (air con units), apart from that very good, had excellent leisure facilities

Reviewed by
J Turner

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
We stayed at this hotel for 2 night as we were at a family wedding on the Saturday. Very friendly staff, good breakfast and lovely setting. There are lots of spa facilities too which looked lovely. If you are looking for a wedding venue, this is a great day. We had the most perfect day and we would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
A Tickner

From Sandhurst, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next