Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Strathclyde > Glasgow > East Kilbride Hotels > Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel & Spa
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel & Spa

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Strathaven Road East Kilbride, East Kilbride, G75 0QZ
Turning of the main road the quiet tree lined drive leads to 37 Acres of tranquil garden and woodlands. Located just 15 minutes from the heart of Glasgow surrounded by countryside, offering luxurious accommodation, excellent dining and total relaxation.

The original building, which now acts as the hub of the hotel, dates back to 1700 although it was not used as a hotel until 1964. With a superb function suite, luxurious bedrooms and excellent leisure and Spa facilities, Crutherland House is one of the finest and most luxurious hotels in the West of Scotland. Every one of the bedrooms has been designed and decorated with comfort in mind. Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.

If you prefer privacy during your stay, you can select cuisine from the 24-hour room service menu. Macdonald Hotels has established an enviable reputation for their cuisine and The Crutherland House Hotel has helped to maintain that standard. The award winning chefs use prime fresh produce, locally bred or grown wherever possible and dishes that are mainly Scottish and continental, while the wines are specially selected to compliment whatever choice of food you make.To make your dining experience complete why not begin with a cocktail or aperitif in the elegant cocktail bar and, afterwards return to relax in the sofas and leather armchairs over coffee and a brandy, malt whisky, or whatever liqueur takes your fancy.

**Please note there will be a £3.00 charge for the use of credit/debit cards**
Picture of Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel & Spa, East Kilbride at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 77 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The service was deplorable, room not ready until 5.10pm, no reason given and a half hearted apology The quality of breakfast was very poor considering the reputation the hotel perceives. The spa facilities i.e sauna and steam room were not working. Overall very poor.

Reviewed by
g docherty

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean bedding the least you expect!
I discovered a soiled pair of pyjamas in my bed. This is not an experience that I would ever care to repeat!!!

Reviewed by
David S

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, classic and very tasty breakfast

Reviewed by
M Sloan

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Definitely recommend
Lovely hotel. Room was large, clean and nice decor. As photos on website. Nice grounds. Food was excellent. Restaurant staff were attentive. Reception staff not as much. Did not ask if I enjoyed my stay etc. Just minor things really but makes a difference. Did not have full information in welcome brochure in room. (Pages missing). Had to ask. But really good value and really enjoyed my stay. Would definitely return and recommend.

Reviewed by
Angela C

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not impressed
Staff totally disengaged, unorganised and have no obvious leadership.
45 minute wait for seat for breakfast. No butter nor juice available.
Numerous tables left with dishes and cutlery

Reviewed by
K Salmon

From Laurencekirk, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Title
Pro Nice accomodation, great breakfast,
Cons Evening meals expensive. Corridors & Dining room cold

Reviewed by
Paul G

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable Stay
I stayed in Crutherland House for one night for business with colleagues in a standard double room. The rooms were very clean and had the facilities you would usually expect and the staff were very helpful. There was no wifi available in my room which was a dissapointment - I am not sure if this was the case for all..
The food was to a very high standard in both the evening and the mornng although I felt that the breakfast was over priced at £17.50!! But that said the room was very good value at £69 a night.
The pool and spa facilities were very clean and it was nice touch to be able to use them as part of my stay.
Overall it was a pleasant stay and I would stay again if in the area for business.

Reviewed by
Gemma Redmond

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good facilities, chef needs lessons in how to cook steaks
pool and gym, very good, food could be better for price, had to send steak back as it was overdone. Second one slighty better, but should be perfect for price.

Reviewed by
M Trigg

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place

Reviewed by
Paul G

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one of the best resorts in Scotland.
I love the time there. the pool and the sauna AND the morning meal was great.

Reviewed by
Michael Walker

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next