Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Strathclyde > Glasgow > East Kilbride Hotels > Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel & Spa
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel & Spa

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Strathaven Road East Kilbride, East Kilbride, G75 0QZ
Turning of the main road the quiet tree lined drive leads to 37 Acres of tranquil garden and woodlands. Located just 15 minutes from the heart of Glasgow surrounded by countryside, offering luxurious accommodation, excellent dining and total relaxation.

The original building, which now acts as the hub of the hotel, dates back to 1700 although it was not used as a hotel until 1964. With a superb function suite, luxurious bedrooms and excellent leisure and Spa facilities, Crutherland House is one of the finest and most luxurious hotels in the West of Scotland. Every one of the bedrooms has been designed and decorated with comfort in mind. Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.

If you prefer privacy during your stay, you can select cuisine from the 24-hour room service menu. Macdonald Hotels has established an enviable reputation for their cuisine and The Crutherland House Hotel has helped to maintain that standard. The award winning chefs use prime fresh produce, locally bred or grown wherever possible and dishes that are mainly Scottish and continental, while the wines are specially selected to compliment whatever choice of food you make.To make your dining experience complete why not begin with a cocktail or aperitif in the elegant cocktail bar and, afterwards return to relax in the sofas and leather armchairs over coffee and a brandy, malt whisky, or whatever liqueur takes your fancy.

**Please note there will be a £3.00 charge for the use of credit/debit cards**
Picture of Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel & Spa, East Kilbride at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 77 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Drinks were overpriced. very poor service at breakfast. Had to ask for tea, sugar and toast.

Reviewed by
d muirhead

From thornhill, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay at a great price
Really good hotel. Stayed for two days for a wedding. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Actually went out of the ir way to help. Only problem was food service was slow and the shower screen had a gap which caused a wet bathroom floor

Reviewed by
D Cluckie

From Douglas, Reino Unido
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recent Stay
Stayed at this stunning looking hotel for two nights, I cancelled the third night to move hotels.
I was extremely disappointed with the room (301) as it was small, and surrounded by seriously loud banging doors and you heard every conversation and toilet flush around the room. (I would also recommend you put the pictures of this room onto the web site, not the rooms you have pictured, its simply not a true reflection)
On arrival the Polite receptionist added a one pound voluntary contribution to my room rate (I hadn’t approved this), it was removed.
The shower was cold, and when you turned it up it went warm or hot for less than one second, I mentioned this and waited with no response.
£15 for breakfast is extortionate
£9.99 for 24 hours Internet , which I knowingly paid , gave me the slowest internet I have ever experienced , it crashed four times, (which I reported three times) before paying again for it not to work again, not once did anyone offer help or assistance, or appeared remotely bothered.
Fire alarm was raised at 12.57 am which left us standing outside for 40 minutes in my under-ware and getting very cold, and not one word was said to us by any staff member, in fact the next day when checking out , I noticed some doors had a thank you and apology for the reaction and inconvenience , sadly the note didn’t make the rooms that I was in.
£3.00 credit card fee on top of everything when checking was the final straw.
I stayed at your hotel to visit customers, and to look at the hotel as I was wanting to put our customers in there, but can safely say I will not be recommending it.
Im so very disappointed, but to end on a positive , the Gym is a good one

Reviewed by
M Abbotts

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Third stay at the Crutherland
The Crutherland is one of my favourite stops whilst in Scotland and apart from a bit of confusion re room readiness on my latest trip it has always delivered a pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Gordon Dewar-McKay

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The service was deplorable, room not ready until 5.10pm, no reason given and a half hearted apology The quality of breakfast was very poor considering the reputation the hotel perceives. The spa facilities i.e sauna and steam room were not working. Overall very poor.

Reviewed by
g docherty

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean bedding the least you expect!
I discovered a soiled pair of pyjamas in my bed. This is not an experience that I would ever care to repeat!!!

Reviewed by
David S

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, classic and very tasty breakfast

Reviewed by
M Sloan

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Definitely recommend
Lovely hotel. Room was large, clean and nice decor. As photos on website. Nice grounds. Food was excellent. Restaurant staff were attentive. Reception staff not as much. Did not ask if I enjoyed my stay etc. Just minor things really but makes a difference. Did not have full information in welcome brochure in room. (Pages missing). Had to ask. But really good value and really enjoyed my stay. Would definitely return and recommend.

Reviewed by
Angela C

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not impressed
Staff totally disengaged, unorganised and have no obvious leadership.
45 minute wait for seat for breakfast. No butter nor juice available.
Numerous tables left with dishes and cutlery

Reviewed by
K Salmon

From Laurencekirk, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Title
Pro Nice accomodation, great breakfast,
Cons Evening meals expensive. Corridors & Dining room cold

Reviewed by
Paul G

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next