No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Market Tavern

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Market Tavern, 12 Castlegate, , Knaresborough, HG5 8AR
on the pocket. Freshly brewed ground coffee, teas and pastries are available all day. An evening menu is available to our residents on request and our very popular breakfast is available to non-residents. Every effort is made to ensure your visit to the Market Tavern is as comfortable and pleasant as possible. A convivial atmosphere for eating and drinking is enhanced by our 'cosy corner' with real fire and leather settees and an outside flower and shrub courtyard. We offer 6 en-suite bedrooms, with tea and coffee facilities, free-view TV and hairdryers. Full English breakfast is available and continental breakfast is available on request. Ironing board available if required. We serve food that is a mix of traditional and contemporary that proves popular with our visitors and locals alike. Whether you want a quick snack, just a coffee and a pastry or hearty homemade Steak and Ale, then you will find it at the Market Tavern.ge selection of fresh produce including quality cheese, fish, meat and fresh fruit and veg. There is a wide variety of craft and other stalls to cover all needs and tastes. There is also a monthly farmers market providing top quality local produce. The town offers many restaurants and tea shops as well as a large number of pubs for you to explore. *******Please note the we host a live "jam night" every thursday untill midnight. We also have karaoke on a friday and either a live band or a diso on a saturday untill midnight. This can cause the rooms to be noisey on these nights.
Picture of Market Tavern, Knaresborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
58% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not great.
Room was cold and smelled damp.

Reviewed by
Lesley b

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Market Tavern
Basic room. Could do with updating a bit but bed comfy and very clean. Location excellent.

Reviewed by
Irene A

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great budget break. Only issue for weekends is music Friday and Saturday night, is very loud in the rooms. Great friendly staff and thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Reviewed by
A Jones

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but spartan -
We stayed the weekend when taking my daughter to York University- the accommodation was adequate but the room was spartan and corridor smelt damp. The breakfast was average but service was very slow. We booked this at short notice but will try to book closer to the city in future.

Reviewed by
A Perrett

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The stairway & some parts a little tired but we had a very nice room, over looking the market place. Great location.

Reviewed by
w smith

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of Market Tavern Knaresborough, Yorkshire England.
The location of the pub is excellent. The hosts were most friendly and welcoming. As a woman travelling on her own I felt very safe. The room was big and the beds very comfortable - a very important factor as I often find much more expensive accommodation do not have comfy beds. The breakfast was beautifully cooked and piping hot. The price is very competitive. I stay in Knaresborough a lot and believe me this pub is cheap. However, guests must realise that it is not a five star hotel! There is live music but I did not find it annoying - I went downstairs and joined the fun. I would certainly stay in the Market Tavern again. for me it was a very positive experience.

Reviewed by
Kathleen Hudd

From Inverurie, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bathroom needs updating.

Reviewed by
Paul Wilkinson

From Crowthorne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Market Tavern
Very good value for money

Reviewed by
Joshua B

From Nr Warwick, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Freindly weekend
The people and staff were very welcoming and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble, all in all a very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
John Manning

From Nottingham, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a clean bed
The only good thing was the clean bed and bedding. The whole place in my opinion needs some TLC. The carpet edges had never seen a vac. and the bathroom floor also needed a good clean. I did wipe the floor around the shower and left the very dirty paper to show the cleaners. towels were off white. Shame as the place is nicely carpeted, just needs a clean now and again.
Guests should be warned that there is disco on Fridays and ???????????????????. it was very loud.
Breakfast also was a bit hit and miss, perhaps we were the only guests.

Reviewed by
MAUREEN J

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next