No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Market Tavern

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Market Tavern, 12 Castlegate, , Knaresborough, HG5 8AR
on the pocket. Freshly brewed ground coffee, teas and pastries are available all day. An evening menu is available to our residents on request and our very popular breakfast is available to non-residents. Every effort is made to ensure your visit to the Market Tavern is as comfortable and pleasant as possible. A convivial atmosphere for eating and drinking is enhanced by our 'cosy corner' with real fire and leather settees and an outside flower and shrub courtyard. We offer 6 en-suite bedrooms, with tea and coffee facilities, free-view TV and hairdryers. Full English breakfast is available and continental breakfast is available on request. Ironing board available if required. We serve food that is a mix of traditional and contemporary that proves popular with our visitors and locals alike. Whether you want a quick snack, just a coffee and a pastry or hearty homemade Steak and Ale, then you will find it at the Market Tavern.ge selection of fresh produce including quality cheese, fish, meat and fresh fruit and veg. There is a wide variety of craft and other stalls to cover all needs and tastes. There is also a monthly farmers market providing top quality local produce. The town offers many restaurants and tea shops as well as a large number of pubs for you to explore. *******Please note the we host a live "jam night" every thursday untill midnight. We also have karaoke on a friday and either a live band or a diso on a saturday untill midnight. This can cause the rooms to be noisey on these nights.
Picture of Market Tavern, Knaresborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of Market Tavern Knaresborough, Yorkshire England.
The location of the pub is excellent. The hosts were most friendly and welcoming. As a woman travelling on her own I felt very safe. The room was big and the beds very comfortable - a very important factor as I often find much more expensive accommodation do not have comfy beds. The breakfast was beautifully cooked and piping hot. The price is very competitive. I stay in Knaresborough a lot and believe me this pub is cheap. However, guests must realise that it is not a five star hotel! There is live music but I did not find it annoying - I went downstairs and joined the fun. I would certainly stay in the Market Tavern again. for me it was a very positive experience.

Reviewed by
Kathleen Hudd

From Inverurie, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bathroom needs updating.

Reviewed by
Paul Wilkinson

From Crowthorne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Market Tavern
Very good value for money

Reviewed by
Joshua B

From Nr Warwick, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Freindly weekend
The people and staff were very welcoming and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble, all in all a very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
John Manning

From Nottingham, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a clean bed
The only good thing was the clean bed and bedding. The whole place in my opinion needs some TLC. The carpet edges had never seen a vac. and the bathroom floor also needed a good clean. I did wipe the floor around the shower and left the very dirty paper to show the cleaners. towels were off white. Shame as the place is nicely carpeted, just needs a clean now and again.
Guests should be warned that there is disco on Fridays and ???????????????????. it was very loud.
Breakfast also was a bit hit and miss, perhaps we were the only guests.

Reviewed by
MAUREEN J

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stained carpets rugs curling and cobwebs met us on arrival in room 1. You could not cough in bed never mind turn over without the bed making a noise and the TV is too far away to see it.
Good size room that needs a lot of TLC

Reviewed by
Gail Hardwick

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent tavern...nice warm cosy room...friendly staff and ,the full English breakfast was a culinary delight .

Reviewed by
david o

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and cheap but no early nights here.
The room was ok with tea making facilities and clean (if strained towels) and a decent bed and sofa. No toiletries in the bathroom at all and no extras like Wi-Fi which would have been appreciated.
We arrived to the booming sound of a disco which on Saturday night consisted of Abba and Elvis shaking the whole pub until midnight so no early nights here. Then breakfast by 9:30 and check out by 10 left me feeling very tired and quite unprepared for the day ahead. The breakfast was included in the price which we had thought fantastic value but when we were served very little choice in oats, cornflakes or weetabix with milk and a single sausage so cheap it was probably actually a "banger" rather than a true sausage with the English breakfast, we saw where the money was being saved. Nice people but unfortunately I wouldn't stay here again, if the breakfast had been decent and there had been Wi-Fi or a later breakfast and check out we would have considered it.

Reviewed by
Sara B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Eugene goes the extra mile for his guests
We couldn't have picked a worse night for our stay - Knaresborough had a hoax terrorism alert, police everywhere and town centre closed off. Eugene the manager arranged a taxi for us to get to a family reunion - then another when the first refused to come to Knaresborough. SO helpful. Our room basic and a bit tired but clean and shower good. Breakfast cooked by Eugene himself was fantastic.

Reviewed by
Susan G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

it's a very nice hotel
it's very noisy in night in weekend coz this is a night club for local. but i really enjoy the superior home equipment and delicious foods there.

Reviewed by
S Wang

From Hull, China
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next