Reviews - Market Tavern


12 Castlegate, ,, Knaresborough, HG5 8AR

Price From 129.21 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (18)

61% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • D Gabriel

  • September 2015

Great breakfast and central location

The breakfast was lovely and the man running the place could not have been more helpful.

  • C pogson

  • July 2015

Nicest people you could meet

would benefit from a bit of modernisation but for what you pay no one can beat here.

Lovely people who can't do enough to help and make you feel welcome.

  • Valerie A

  • May 2015

Market Tavern

Friendly staff..

Rooms clean if not a little worn, however beds comfortable and breakfast delicious.

  • Lesley b

  • December 2014

Not great.

Room was cold and smelled damp.

  • Irene A

  • December 2014

Market Tavern

Basic room.

Could do with updating a bit but bed comfy and very clean. Location excellent.

  • A Jones

  • November 2014

A great budget break.

Only issue for weekends is music Friday and Saturday night, is very loud in the rooms. Great friendly staff and thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

  • A Perrett

  • September 2014

Basic but spartan -

We stayed the weekend when taking my daughter to York University- the accommodation was adequate but the room was spartan and corridor smelt damp.

The breakfast was average but service was very slow. We booked this at short notice but will try to book closer to the city in future.

  • w smith

  • August 2014

The stairway & some parts a little tired but we had a very nice room, over looking the market place.

Great location.

  • Kathleen Hudd

  • July 2014

Review of Market Tavern Knaresborough, Yorkshire England.

The location of the pub is excellent.

The hosts were most friendly and welcoming. As a woman travelling on her own I felt very safe. The room was big and the beds very comfortable - a very important factor as I often find much more expensive accommodation do not have comfy beds. The breakfast was beautifully cooked and piping hot. The price is very competitive. I stay in Knaresborough a lot and believe me this pub is cheap. However, guests must realise that it is not a five star hotel. There is live music but I did not find it annoying - I went downstairs and joined the fun. I would certainly stay in the Market Tavern again. for me it was a very positive experience.

  • Paul Wilkinson

  • July 2014

Bathroom needs updating.