No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Woodside - A Sundial Venue

4Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Glasshouse Lane , Kenilworth, CV8 2AL
Woodside is an Edwardian mansion situated in 32 acres of grounds just 5 minutes from Warwick, Coventry and the National Agricultural Centre at Stoneleigh. There are 74 en-suite bedrooms in a separate accommodation building that are all well equipped with environmentally friendly Bee Kind toiletries, hot drink facilities, free wifi and television, to name a few.

Woodside also has two restaurants - The Mulberry Brasserie and the Orchard, where a selection of mouth-watering dishes are produced daily. It also has the group's largest range of leisure facilities including an indoor swimming pool, fitness suite, croquet lawn, tennis court and a 9 hole pitch'n'putt golf course which are all complimentary to our guests.
Picture of Woodside - A Sundial Venue, Kenilworth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food, location... Shame about the room!
We stayed at the Woodside for one night at a slightly discounted rate via laterooms.com. The location was excellent entering through electric gates surrounded by greenery. The food was superb. Unfortunately the room did not come up to the same high standard. It was cold when we got there and we had to ask for the heating to be put on in the room. Reception staff were very good and put the heating on immediately , even giving us 2 extra heaters! The mattress on the sofa bed was so thin we would challenge anyone to get a good nights sleep on it. We asked for an extra mattress to put on the bed and very quickly they brought us one. The bathroom was very basic and the enamel was coming off the bath in several places. Plenty of towels but only one face cloth!!! It was very quiet and we probably only saw around a dozen other guests which suited us. Our children used the pool in the evening and they were the only ones in!!! Would have been disappointed had we paid full price for the room but at the discounted rate and with the superb food and service it was worth what we paid.

Reviewed by
George G

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Service with a Smile
We enjoyed a nicely quiet night at your hotel. The staff were very smart, friendly and extremely attentive. The swimming pool was wonderfully warm, quiet and relaxing. The breakfast was to a very high standard and served very efficiently with a perfect level of engagement. We went away with a refreshment pack and encouraged to use the facilities through our departure day. We fully intend to return!

Reviewed by
clive j

From Belper, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay, best breakfast ever had in a hotel
Staff very helpful, polite,
Nice clean, recently decorated room,
Best breakfast we have ever had in a hotel (stayed at many)
Lovely grounds, good clean swimming pool, shame no jacuzzi
Good location for Warwick, Stratford upon Avon etc.
Has tennis court, small gym, small pitch and put course ( not tried)
Had wedding there when we stayed but as accommodation block is separate to main building there was no disturbance or noticed load music. Also has a separate bar from main building so non wedding guests do not have to mix with wedding party. Would definitely stay again. Good value.

Reviewed by
d turpin

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic.

Reviewed by
Emma WARE

From Epsom, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissapointing & certainly not 4 * rooms. As basic as an Ibis. Pool vvvv dissapointing
The room was very basic as an Ibis/Premier Inn.
The only 2 plus points were free Wifi & a docking station for I pods.
Swimming pool was very un inspiring - having got dressed for a swim, I arrived at the pool and didn't like it so I didn't use it. Very different from the photo online.
Noisy rooms, I was woken twice in the night by adjoining rooms.
Room service limited menu.
Only 2 tea bags in the room
Setting for breakfast in the conservatory was lovely, & a good choice for breakfast but bacon was burnt

Reviewed by
Gillian F

From Hatfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Mixed Experience...
The positive parts of our one-night stay included the beautiful grounds, the Orchard Restaurant with expansive glass windowslooking out on to a restful vista of fabulous trees, free tea/coffee in the foyers, and fruit, biscuits and bottled water for guests' onward journeys. There is also a good-sized swimming pool. The negative aspects include the really mean-sized bedroom - hardly room to walk round the double-bed. The Accommodation block (not in the lovely Edwardian main building) also has no lift to the upper floors. This was not a problem for us, but would be for anyone with substantial baggage. Check-out time is also the earliest we have ever come across - 10.00 on week-days, 10.30 at weekends. (The contrasts with the w/e check-out of 12.00 noon at the hotel we stayed at in Yorkshire the previous night!) Most hotels will give you a little leaway, but there was a fixed charge of £10 for each additional hour or part) here.... I'm afraid we found the Receptionist on morning duty pretty dippy. Before 10.30am, my husband rang Reception to ask for an hour check-out extension till 11.30. She omitted to tell us that we had to come and get the key reprogrammed, so we were locked out of our room bang on 10.30, saved by a passing cleaner... When we came to check out, her computer was down. She invited us to wait in a rest-area (again free tea/ coffee/biscuits - very nice) where we could access the free wifi on our laptops... After well over an hour , we began to think there must be a BIG problem with the computer....... We were due to visit our son and were in danger of being late, so went back to Reception. She said that she had come to let us know that the computer was back in action within half an hour, but we had looked so intent working on our laptops, that she 'didn't like to disturb us'. Honestly! To be fair, she did at least take the £10 late-check out fee off the bill.
This hotel has the slight ambience of a Conference hotel, which 'tolerates' leisure visitors. I think this explains the early check-out, and also the small-sized rooms....

Reviewed by
J Raeburn

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We regularly stay in this hotel when on business in Warwick and have always found it to be clean and comfortable. The staff are very pleasant and helpful.

Reviewed by
Allison C

From York, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Woodside - A Sundial Venue
Very good hotel and enjoyable stay. They are clearly more organised to handle functions but despite this looked after us well during our visit.

Reviewed by
David Stuart

From Alnwick, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Conference style, friendly staff

Reviewed by
Ken H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Double bed a little small for 2 people. Would of been nice to be allowed into lounge but wedding took priority

Reviewed by
C Lowe

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next