No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Pratts Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
4-8 South Parade , Bath, BA2 4AB
Bath - one of the few places worldwide to be awarded the 'World Heritage City' accolade - has been host to visitors for 2000 years...Being located in the city centre, Pratt's Hotel is within walking distance of all the attractions.With its famous Roman Baths, Abbey and Classic Georgian architecture, such as the famous Royal Crescent, this spa city is a natural tourist attraction.It is a city best explored on foot, having four distinct quarters, the lively city centre, dominated by the Abbey and Pump Room The Upper Town, with its superb architecture and museums Kingsmead, home of Bath's theatres, cinemas and many restaurants and Bathwick, a tranquil area by the river.Street entertainers are a familiar sight in the city centre, jugglers, mime artists, musicians, even trick cyclists adorn the pedestrianised walkways.The hotel has been part of the city's heritage for more than two centuries itself, hosting such guests as Sir Walter Scott and Dame Peggy Ashcroft, and has a comfortable traditional elegance and style.Extensive pay & display car parking space is opposite the hotel, so motorists can drive to the surrounding tourist attractions such as Longleat House and Wildlife Park, Wookey Hole Caves, the mythical Glastonbury, Cheddar Gorge, Stonehenge and the Cotswolds.
Picture of Pratts Hotel, Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 109 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay in Bath
We had a lovely large en-suite room with a comfortable, big double bed. Friendly and helpful reception staff; very good breakfast with a full range of cereals, cooked food, fresh friut and drinks. Not the most up-to-date décor and facilities but a refurbishment programme is planned - this may result in higher prices but at the moment this is very good value for money.

Reviewed by
Brian T

From Emsworth, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shockingly awful. The wallpaper peeled off every wall and surface, and by the bed (which had no headboard) all of the wallpaper had long since gone where hands might touch it during the night. There was a deep yellow stain on the floor by the toilet. All of the appliances were snapped or damaged (kettle, heater, etc - all broken, and all in multiple ways - e.g. heater had broken dial and broken light). Bedside table was broken in multiple ways (missing bits, broken bits that were hanging off).
Worst of all, the shower was totally broken and could not be used - it would not mix the water on any adjustment, so you had a choice of scalding hot or freezing cold. That is a safety hazard. I also couldn't stand up in the shower (I'm only just 6 foot) since the ceiling was too low, but since it didn't work this turned out not to matter. Everything in the room was dirty - grease on the remote, deep grime on the basket with the tea in, and hairs all over the sink. Strange marks on the walls.
I reported some of this to reception. The lady on reception shrugged her shoulders and said she knew. I said the shower didn't work - they knew this too. Apparently "the water doesn't have enough oomph for the top floor", and I quote. They didn't specifically apologise or offer any compensation.
An utter, almost-certainly illegal disgrace. False advertising at the very least.
Send your mortal enemies here. But only if you're feeling particularly nasty.

Reviewed by
Gareth M

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A friendly welcome
We enjoyed our stay at Pratt's. The location is outstanding and we were made to feel very welcome from the minute we walked through the door. The room was a good size and had comfortable facilities - the only negatives were i) the decor was tired (which applied throughout the hotel) ii) the room was too hot and iii) the shaver light/socket did not work - but the location, welcome and value more than made up for these comparatively minor blemishes.

Reviewed by
Peter Harris

From Ascot, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were helpful and able to accommodate an early check-in
only downside is there is no car park at the hotel and the car park close by is very popular with shoppers so very busy

Reviewed by
Micki Miles

From Bradford, England
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A disppointing experience
Very tired hotel. Room heating did not work (despite one attempt to fix by staff). Toilet leaked - bathroom floor wet. Carpet ancient and dirty. Notice to guests that the new owners know about the state of the hotel and beg for tolerance was not appreciated at the price of £232! Wifi had to be asked for and was switched off after one night. Staff not always available - sight of them smoking at door not great. Overall, avoid until fully refurbished.

Reviewed by
R Hawkins

From Crewkerne, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pratts
It was a nice Hotel, it was friendly and it made a good base for Bath.

Reviewed by
H Beazley

From Crowthorne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired and in need of modernisation
Very tired decor in this hotel. Floorboards creak terribly upstairs and the whole hotel could use a major refit. The bathroom was looking particularly in need of renovation, with a very poor shower and an extractor that didn't work at all. I found the bed too hard to sleep comfortably on and to make matters worse the smell of drying paint made it way in to my room from the corridor (although this shouldn't affect future potential customers of this hotel they should know that I was not made aware of this). Having stayed in Bath before and knowing the generally good standard of hotels in the area I will not be staying here again.

Reviewed by
Max B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very tired needs serious refurbishment, good location
I assume they can only have the very high prices due to location as the hotel is very old fashioned and very tired. Paint falling off walls and bathroom.
For the price £109 for one night in a double room (no breakfast) I cannot understand how they get away with it.
Much nicer places in Bath...

Reviewed by
William T

From Stratford upon Avon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel, awesome location and great customer service
Even though the room was right up in the attic (and my girlfriend reckons the shower could have been cleaner!), the room was nice, the hotel was cheaper than anything else we found in the city centre and the location was absolutely perfect!
The customer service was awesome - we took our bikes, so that we could do the new 2 Tunnels cycle route, and they were great about letting us keep them in a room in the hotel, even though the room wasn't set aside for that purpose!!

Reviewed by
N Jenvey

From Beaconsfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff wee friendly and helpful on check in, I was told they would book me a mimi cab for the next morning. This does not appear to have been done. Staff on reception the next morning were rude and non cooperative.
Room was adaquate, bed was uncomfortable.
All in all disappointing

Reviewed by
Sarah J

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next