No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Pratts Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
4-8 South Parade , Bath, BA2 4AB
Bath - one of the few places worldwide to be awarded the 'World Heritage City' accolade - has been host to visitors for 2000 years...Being located in the city centre, Pratt's Hotel is within walking distance of all the attractions.With its famous Roman Baths, Abbey and Classic Georgian architecture, such as the famous Royal Crescent, this spa city is a natural tourist attraction.It is a city best explored on foot, having four distinct quarters, the lively city centre, dominated by the Abbey and Pump Room The Upper Town, with its superb architecture and museums Kingsmead, home of Bath's theatres, cinemas and many restaurants and Bathwick, a tranquil area by the river.Street entertainers are a familiar sight in the city centre, jugglers, mime artists, musicians, even trick cyclists adorn the pedestrianised walkways.The hotel has been part of the city's heritage for more than two centuries itself, hosting such guests as Sir Walter Scott and Dame Peggy Ashcroft, and has a comfortable traditional elegance and style.Extensive pay & display car parking space is opposite the hotel, so motorists can drive to the surrounding tourist attractions such as Longleat House and Wildlife Park, Wookey Hole Caves, the mythical Glastonbury, Cheddar Gorge, Stonehenge and the Cotswolds.
Picture of Pratts Hotel, Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 109 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel is very old and needs a facelift.

Reviewed by
Lisa C

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Horrendous!
Absolutely horrendous. The hotel is in a state of total dilapidation ! Stair carpets taped on edges. Peeling paintwork everywhere. Big hole - crack in lounge ceiling. Furniture more suited to a care home. Bedding worn out ;torn in places. Sheets appeared not to have been changed on arrival. Hairs in the bed. Thank goodness we didn't eat there. Only received £20 refund after complaining to deputy manager plus a bottle of cheap wine. Totally unacceptable . Forestdale need to be taken to task over this establishment and should be thoroughly inspected by the body overseeing standards in hotels. Such a pity! Pratts used to be a stylish / elegant hotel.

Reviewed by
J Sharp

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed here for 2 nights as we had a wedding in the area and it was valentines day. I looked on late rooms and the pictures and guest reviews looked quite nice. I booked a double room for £176. Although the staff were very friendly and the views were great, the room was very basic. The first thing we noticed was the wardrobe was leaning quite a bit forward. Then we noticed that the bed was an old divan with the draws missing. The top sheet on the bed had a stain on it. The bathroom was no better. The taps were filthy and the toilet looked like it hadn't been cleaned for a while. On the first night it was quite cold but by the second day it was sweltering hot. We used the fan but it didn't rotate. Overall it was a very disappointing visit and deffinatly will not be returning and wouldn't recommend anyone staying there.

Reviewed by
Scott D

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very tired

Reviewed by
Kathi B

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely elegant looking hotel, beautiful decor, nice breakfast
Great location- right in centre of Bath.
Wonderful room and nice views. Feels like your in a Jane Austen film! Gorgeous breakfast. Nice and friendly staff.
But as old system hot water can be temperamental. And heating didn't come on until 8.30pm in our room, so quite cold! (room right at end of corridor though).
Room service not too good and phone didn't work.
Other than that a nice stay.

Reviewed by
Nicola H

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice central hotel.
The hotel is central for bath and the attractions. It is also near the station.
One problem that the site showed more than one price for the same room, it seems that you have to pay more for an en-suite, but all rooms have one.
The staff are very helpful and friendly, I asked for the room to be ready early and they did their best to help.
The hotel has a lot of old charm, but it seems they have been taken over and may be changing it so there are more rooms and less rest areas. This will be a shame as its old fashion appearance is its main attraction.

Reviewed by
David C

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The beds bottom sheet had not been changed.
The shower taps could not be regulated to enable use of the shower or bath safely.
The carpets not hoovered.there were coins under table and fluff.
The tea was the cheapest quality.
The girls on reception were too busy gossiping to attend to me when i arrived.
The whole place needs reparation and decorating.tile missing in bathroom.

Reviewed by
G Gilbert

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will not stay here again
the reception was lax and the staff seemed confused.
my room was dirty and had water satins on the walls from a previous leak,there was soap scum round the taps and the toilet cistern was broken,being noisy and taking ages to refill.The room was so hot i had to have the window fully open even though it was -4 outside !!
The staff at breakfast were 'human' compared to the check in staff, but the food was swimming in grease.
the place looked faded and past its best,needs a full overhaul,i will not be repeating my stay!

Reviewed by
A COCKERILL

From Stockton on Tee, England
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value, great location, great customer service...cozy place...like staying at your grandparents
We really enjoyed our experience. It was convenient to the train...3 min. walk...to town and the spa...fabulous customer service from all staff especially Marta, Kristin and a wonderful woman on the morning shift of the 19th...helpful with suggestions for food, held our luggage...I feel very comfortable referring the Pratt to friends...It is not a fancy hotel...but comfortable and the price was good...creaky floors but it's part of the character from the 1700's...lovely stay...great hires!!!

Reviewed by
Jennifer M

From USA
Who stayed in January 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break in Central Bath
A friendly, down to earth centrally located hotel, ideal for a middle-aged couple and offering great value for money. Railway and bus stations, shops, canal, river walks and many restaurants are all within a five minute walk. Royal Crescent and The Circle within 15 minutes walk. The snow made our stay special! Parking opposite is £12.50 per day. We went by train and didn't miss the car at all.

Reviewed by
S Rickett

From Penarth, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next