No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Pratts Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
4-8 South Parade , Bath, BA2 4AB
Bath - one of the few places worldwide to be awarded the 'World Heritage City' accolade - has been host to visitors for 2000 years...Being located in the city centre, Pratt's Hotel is within walking distance of all the attractions.With its famous Roman Baths, Abbey and Classic Georgian architecture, such as the famous Royal Crescent, this spa city is a natural tourist attraction.It is a city best explored on foot, having four distinct quarters, the lively city centre, dominated by the Abbey and Pump Room The Upper Town, with its superb architecture and museums Kingsmead, home of Bath's theatres, cinemas and many restaurants and Bathwick, a tranquil area by the river.Street entertainers are a familiar sight in the city centre, jugglers, mime artists, musicians, even trick cyclists adorn the pedestrianised walkways.The hotel has been part of the city's heritage for more than two centuries itself, hosting such guests as Sir Walter Scott and Dame Peggy Ashcroft, and has a comfortable traditional elegance and style.Extensive pay & display car parking space is opposite the hotel, so motorists can drive to the surrounding tourist attractions such as Longleat House and Wildlife Park, Wookey Hole Caves, the mythical Glastonbury, Cheddar Gorge, Stonehenge and the Cotswolds.
Picture of Pratts Hotel, Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 110 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok for a couple of nights, very tired but clean.
I booked this in a hurry but then saw all the bad reviews for the place. I wanted to cancel but as is booked a paid in advance rate non-refundable I had to steel myself for the worst. However it was not anywhere near as bad as I was expecting. Yes the hotel is way past it's best for sure. Our bathroom towel rail was held together with gaffer tape! But the staff seemed helpful and the room was clean and large and airy, if in need of renovation. We had a "superior" room on the second floor with ancient and probably antique furniture. The bathroom suite was actually pretty decent and on the whole very clean except some of that red scale at the bottom of the cheap shower curtain. The tiles and grout were in good condition though and hot water was OK s long as you were careful with the cold on the mixer tap as the cold pressure easily outweighed the hot. The bathroom main light didn't work so we phoned reception and a gentleman came up and fixed it straight away.
Slept OK if with some noise from the fresher students in town that week and the hotel is very handy for the town centre.

Reviewed by
C Clark

From Waltham Cross, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK for the night
Generally a pleasant stay. Room was fairly clean and tidy. Taped up electrics on the bathroom towel rail was a serious health and safety concern. Replace it or get it fixed. Some stains on the pillow cases but overall reasonably clean and tidy hotel. A bit pricey for room only but probably the going rate for Bath.

Reviewed by
Kevin Gould

From Sherborne, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

meeting american friends.
Everything was great, very friendly staff. Excellent position in the city, close to everything, you can walk easily to all the places of interest. We would have stayed an extra day but unfortunately all the rooms were booked for the next night. Good car park opposite. Excellent breakfast choice.

Reviewed by
maureen ellis

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very few changes could resolve my complaints: the lack of a lock for the bathroom/loo, the rotten piece of wood in front of the bathroom mirror, the wretchedly inadequate electric lightbulbs, the lack of waxed paper in the drawers. A pity too to have such nasty hangers in the wardrobe--treating guests as if they are likely to steal proper coathangers. Better disposition of pictures on the walls would be another easy alteration.

Reviewed by
Nigel Ramsay

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not a good experience
Room shabby. had to ask for towels. Water tasted disgusting. Hot water came out of cold tap. Shower didn't work. Toilet didn't flush. This hotel definitely needs a visit by Alex Polizzi!!! I won't be recommending or visiting again.

Reviewed by
Andrea Lord

From Dorking, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Below my expectation
The room was on the third floor, balcony was very dirty, room was old and paint are coming out. I was not happy at all with the room, the toilet seat was bending, bath water was very little despite open to high pressure.

Reviewed by
B JOOMRATEE

From London, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired and stained decor
The location of the hotel was very good for all the central tourist attractions and the customer service attentive, but the hotel/room was greatly overpriced for the quality and condition. The carpets were stained, wallpaper faded, paint peeling and bathroom stained. Breakfast was an additional cost to the room. The linen was, however, clean and the bed comfortable. If you are looking for a quiet night's sleep at the weekend though, the central location of the hotel won't allow that!

Reviewed by
Heather V

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We arrived for a wedding and the hotel was most helpful in making our room available to us very early so that we could rest and change. Reception staff were warm and welcoming and when a small electrical problem occurred in our room the manager himself attended. Full marks!

Reviewed by
Alan P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spend about 200 nights a year in a hotel - this is probably worst I have stayed in
- Room was dirty - did not want to touch anything
- Carpet was old and ripped
- Reception were not helpful - asked for an iron but seemed impossible
- Mattress was uncomfortable
Apart from location near train station it was not good.

Reviewed by
Sly H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unfortunately the weather was very hot and this hotel does not have air conditioning.
The shower was not very clean, particularly the soap dish. One towel had brown stains.
Some chairs in the lounge have torn fabric. Parking should be with a discount when using the hotel.

Reviewed by
Henriette Bennitt-Maters

From Papendrecht, Netherlands
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next