No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Pratts Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
4-8 South Parade , Bath, BA2 4AB
Bath - one of the few places worldwide to be awarded the 'World Heritage City' accolade - has been host to visitors for 2000 years...Being located in the city centre, Pratt's Hotel is within walking distance of all the attractions.With its famous Roman Baths, Abbey and Classic Georgian architecture, such as the famous Royal Crescent, this spa city is a natural tourist attraction.It is a city best explored on foot, having four distinct quarters, the lively city centre, dominated by the Abbey and Pump Room The Upper Town, with its superb architecture and museums Kingsmead, home of Bath's theatres, cinemas and many restaurants and Bathwick, a tranquil area by the river.Street entertainers are a familiar sight in the city centre, jugglers, mime artists, musicians, even trick cyclists adorn the pedestrianised walkways.The hotel has been part of the city's heritage for more than two centuries itself, hosting such guests as Sir Walter Scott and Dame Peggy Ashcroft, and has a comfortable traditional elegance and style.Extensive pay & display car parking space is opposite the hotel, so motorists can drive to the surrounding tourist attractions such as Longleat House and Wildlife Park, Wookey Hole Caves, the mythical Glastonbury, Cheddar Gorge, Stonehenge and the Cotswolds.
Picture of Pratts Hotel, Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 110 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Below my expectation
The room was on the third floor, balcony was very dirty, room was old and paint are coming out. I was not happy at all with the room, the toilet seat was bending, bath water was very little despite open to high pressure.

Reviewed by
B JOOMRATEE

From London, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired and stained decor
The location of the hotel was very good for all the central tourist attractions and the customer service attentive, but the hotel/room was greatly overpriced for the quality and condition. The carpets were stained, wallpaper faded, paint peeling and bathroom stained. Breakfast was an additional cost to the room. The linen was, however, clean and the bed comfortable. If you are looking for a quiet night's sleep at the weekend though, the central location of the hotel won't allow that!

Reviewed by
Heather V

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We arrived for a wedding and the hotel was most helpful in making our room available to us very early so that we could rest and change. Reception staff were warm and welcoming and when a small electrical problem occurred in our room the manager himself attended. Full marks!

Reviewed by
Alan P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spend about 200 nights a year in a hotel - this is probably worst I have stayed in
- Room was dirty - did not want to touch anything
- Carpet was old and ripped
- Reception were not helpful - asked for an iron but seemed impossible
- Mattress was uncomfortable
Apart from location near train station it was not good.

Reviewed by
Sly H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unfortunately the weather was very hot and this hotel does not have air conditioning.
The shower was not very clean, particularly the soap dish. One towel had brown stains.
Some chairs in the lounge have torn fabric. Parking should be with a discount when using the hotel.

Reviewed by
Henriette Bennitt-Maters

From Papendrecht, Netherlands
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pratts hotel - Only if there is nowhere else to stay in Bath!!
Pratts Hotel.... Well from the outside it did not look unreasonable, nicely positioned in location to the train station and other local amenities but the accommodation left a lot to be desired. For the grand fee of £84 on the first night, £79 for the second, I was told I was not entitled to breakfast- that would be an additional £10! I declined. The room itself was on the third floor, the floors creaked, as did the doors, and pretty much everything else. The room itself was a room, the only contemporary furnishing was the TV. The décor reminded me of an old episode of Eastenders - dated. There was no pressure in the shower regardless of what time you took one (and I had a few), The hairdryer had begun to change from white to that old brownish colour that appliances change to when you have had them for a while, and the room needed airing prior to the arrival of guests, not at their expense.
The customer service wasn't second to none - there was just none. I was only spoken to on two occasions when I arrived (breakfast will £10 extra) and when I left (do you want an invoice?) and that was it. Everybody but the staff at Pratts Hotel were very pleasant, the town, food, everything... If I have any regrets it would be that I did not book earlier at least then I could have got better accommodation somewhere else.
Staff did not seem interested in me, or even if I had a pleasant stay or in anyway asked about the accommodation, perhaps they were fearful of my response.

Reviewed by
Rob W

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer service at the reception desk and in the breakfast room was very friendly and welcoming. The room itself was disappointing. The carpet was stained in several places and in front of one of the two windows was threadbare to the point of showing the weave underneath, providing a potential trip hazard. The wallpaper was starting to peel in a couple of places, skirting boards were badly scuffed and the small desk had some damage. In the bathroom the shower attachment was broken and only a third of the water came out of the shower head, as was the bin and the light above the mirror did not work, leaving the bathroom somewhat dimly lit. The wardrobe contained rubbish left behind by the previous guest. For the price paid, coffee and tea facilities and complimentary toiletries were very basic. If I would have stayed for a longer period of time, I would have asked for a different room, but as I only stayed for a weekend conference, I did not bother. On the plus side the blackout curtains were working well and the bed was comfortable. The hotel itself is in a very good central location, a 5 minute walk from the train station and town center respectively.

Reviewed by
I Smith

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired hotel in great location!
Hotel needs decorating and some TLC. Our bathroom was dirty and our bedding, although clean, was stained. There were lots of cobwebs in the bedroom and bathroom. On the positive side, the breakfast was good and the location couldn't have been better.

Reviewed by
N Gibson

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place

Reviewed by
S YEH

From New Taipei City, Taiwan
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous location
Stayed here last weekend as a friend and I went to the spa. The hotel is close to the station, so we didn't need to lug our bags too far, and also close to the centre, so easy to get about. I had read some reviews before hand so was a bit dubious. Some reviews were right, if a little harsh. The hotel does need to have some work done to it and there was some water damage and wallpaper peeling off, and this is why i think the price was a little high, despite the location. To be honest, the hotel could do with modernising and would benefit from an outside area, like its neighbour. However, the friendliness and helpfulness of the reception staff really made up for it, they were totally lovely and I would stay there again on the strength of the two lovely ladies who looked after us during our stay.

Reviewed by
Kirsty C

From Herne Bay, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next