No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Pratts Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
4-8 South Parade , Bath, BA2 4AB
Bath - one of the few places worldwide to be awarded the 'World Heritage City' accolade - has been host to visitors for 2000 years...Being located in the city centre, Pratt's Hotel is within walking distance of all the attractions.With its famous Roman Baths, Abbey and Classic Georgian architecture, such as the famous Royal Crescent, this spa city is a natural tourist attraction.It is a city best explored on foot, having four distinct quarters, the lively city centre, dominated by the Abbey and Pump Room The Upper Town, with its superb architecture and museums Kingsmead, home of Bath's theatres, cinemas and many restaurants and Bathwick, a tranquil area by the river.Street entertainers are a familiar sight in the city centre, jugglers, mime artists, musicians, even trick cyclists adorn the pedestrianised walkways.The hotel has been part of the city's heritage for more than two centuries itself, hosting such guests as Sir Walter Scott and Dame Peggy Ashcroft, and has a comfortable traditional elegance and style.Extensive pay & display car parking space is opposite the hotel, so motorists can drive to the surrounding tourist attractions such as Longleat House and Wildlife Park, Wookey Hole Caves, the mythical Glastonbury, Cheddar Gorge, Stonehenge and the Cotswolds.
Picture of Pratts Hotel, Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 109 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good city centre experience
Excellent central location for visiting Bath. Really good friendly service. The breakfast was acceptable but not exceptional.

Reviewed by
Christine W

From Kingussie, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location - very tired looking
Position was great, however the rooms need an update - didn't want to use the bath as didn't look clean. No hot water anyway and toilet needed bleach very stained. Quilt cover wasn't fastened revealing a stained quilt - all a bit worn and tired!

Reviewed by
vicki c

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No prats here
Good atmosphere in this meandering and traditionally decorated hotel... The staff were great, laid back and friendly. I didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food offer but the bar was basic with a limited range of beers and malts on offer. Still it's probably all that's needed when there's a night out in the lovely city of Bath awaiting!

Reviewed by
andrew w

From England
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very tired decor, hotel clean enough but in dire need of attention! Staff & service very good.
Had to complain about our room because it wasn't the room we were initially told we were having, that had obviously been given to someone who refused ours...! We then did the same and were given a much better, bigger, cleaner room, the first was obviously a last resort room ... It was grim, peeling wallpaper, very tired looking and dingy...

Reviewed by
Helen R

From Poole, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sheer delight
Stayed here for my second night in Bath after a bad experience in anothe hotel. Chose Pratts because of the name! This is a delightful, old fashioned, 'commercial hotel'. My room was a bit tired, but very comfortable, and my single room had a proper full sized bath and plenty of hot water. My evening meal was good despite (or perhaps because of) a very limited menu. Free wifi worked well. Staff were friendly and efficient. And I shall be returning to experience the sheer joy of the old-fashioned elevator.

Reviewed by
David C

From Shipston on Stour, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding aniverary twenty years
Booking late for my visit to Bath where we got married and lived for a couple of years I booked into Pratts as we were arriving by train and is very near the station , then I looked at the reviews !!! not good I have to say. But when arrived we were very pleased on arrival all the staff very very friendly our room if in need of a bit of refurbishment was really clean very comfortable Thank you guys for a memorable wedding anniversay and YES we will be back.

Reviewed by
Ellen Fletcher

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok for a couple of nights, very tired but clean.
I booked this in a hurry but then saw all the bad reviews for the place. I wanted to cancel but as is booked a paid in advance rate non-refundable I had to steel myself for the worst. However it was not anywhere near as bad as I was expecting. Yes the hotel is way past it's best for sure. Our bathroom towel rail was held together with gaffer tape! But the staff seemed helpful and the room was clean and large and airy, if in need of renovation. We had a "superior" room on the second floor with ancient and probably antique furniture. The bathroom suite was actually pretty decent and on the whole very clean except some of that red scale at the bottom of the cheap shower curtain. The tiles and grout were in good condition though and hot water was OK s long as you were careful with the cold on the mixer tap as the cold pressure easily outweighed the hot. The bathroom main light didn't work so we phoned reception and a gentleman came up and fixed it straight away.
Slept OK if with some noise from the fresher students in town that week and the hotel is very handy for the town centre.

Reviewed by
C Clark

From Waltham Cross, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK for the night
Generally a pleasant stay. Room was fairly clean and tidy. Taped up electrics on the bathroom towel rail was a serious health and safety concern. Replace it or get it fixed. Some stains on the pillow cases but overall reasonably clean and tidy hotel. A bit pricey for room only but probably the going rate for Bath.

Reviewed by
Kevin Gould

From Sherborne, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

meeting american friends.
Everything was great, very friendly staff. Excellent position in the city, close to everything, you can walk easily to all the places of interest. We would have stayed an extra day but unfortunately all the rooms were booked for the next night. Good car park opposite. Excellent breakfast choice.

Reviewed by
maureen ellis

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very few changes could resolve my complaints: the lack of a lock for the bathroom/loo, the rotten piece of wood in front of the bathroom mirror, the wretchedly inadequate electric lightbulbs, the lack of waxed paper in the drawers. A pity too to have such nasty hangers in the wardrobe--treating guests as if they are likely to steal proper coathangers. Better disposition of pictures on the walls would be another easy alteration.

Reviewed by
Nigel Ramsay

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next