No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Walworth , Darlington, DL2 2LY
Offering 12th Century character and 21st Century convenience in Darlington, BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel is set in 18 acres of lawns and woodlands... just three miles from the A1(M).

This really is the ideal venue to get away and relax. Whether you are on the lookout for luxury or simply seeking style! Local attractions are easy to get to including the market town of Darlington, Richmond or Barnard Castle. Other attractions include High Force Waterfall, 1/2 hour drive to the coast or to the North Yorkshire Moors.

With a unique blend of flavors and features, we have an award winning restaurant that complements the tastefully designed bedrooms - including a feature four poster suite!

Our secluded, grand property is extremely popular for wedding receptions, and we can make your special day more memorable by the minute with exceptional service from the moment you arrive And of course, the pictures will be perfect!
Picture of BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, Darlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay soured by Hotel and Late Rooms intransigence
Enjoyed the breakfasts in particular ordered porridge followed by kippers both done well and served at the right time. What grated was I had inadvertently booked for 2 adults and therefore 2 breakfasts per day. It was obvious that I was on my own so when I tried to get the bill changed I was told to contact Late rooms. This I did and they said they would speak to the hotel which they did. Late rooms rang me and said nothing could be done because it was down to the hotel. The hotel said it was to do with commission and that's what happens when you book through an agency.
Common sense obviously doesn't prevail, so beware.

Reviewed by
Philip D

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor staff service but beautiful building
I arrived at hotel in the early hours. I chose this hotel as it advertised a 24hr reception. I tried calling reception 3 hrs prior to my arrival, then 2 hrs, then every 15 mins up until I arrived. No answer! When I arrived the hotel door was locked and there was no no staff manning the 24hr reception. I was liked round the hotel in the pouring rain after a 20hr day banging on every door possible, whilst trying to call reception. 53 minutes after my arrival the phone was finally answered and I was able to get inside. The member of staff informed me they had been checking rooms although from the bloodshot eyes and pillow marks to the face, it was clear to see someone had been asleep! Room was good value for money. Check out time was advertised at 11am although I was woken at 0900 by housekeeping in an attempt for me to vacate....given that I'd actually only been in my room several hours. Poor systems in place although actual building was delightful.

Reviewed by
Nicholas W

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasurable late minute booking
I booked very late and had a very nice room with a good view. Clean and functional.
Would certainly recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
J Elliott

From Diss, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic place
What a fantastic place to stay. I have no complaints about this hotel and can only praise the staff for helping to make our short stay fantastic. There was a wedding at the hotel on the day we arrived, yet the staff, although very busy still went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed.

Reviewed by
W Sykes-Robertson

From North Berwick, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Romantic weekend
Was getting engaged,girlfriend birthday , and only 6 weeks to go till our baby is born, so what better to stop in a romantic castle!!!!!!!!! Not.... Had crab cakes on Sunday night in the restaurant and woke up the next day being sick and having the runs , also kept being hot and cold, yes!!!!! I had food poison. Spoiled our weekend. Not happy

Reviewed by
john baker

From Accrington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy Days!!
well.......yesereedodayyyyyyy

Reviewed by
C Hayton

From Maryport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

i stayed in the annex part which isnt as nice as the main building but good for purpose of visit

Reviewed by
L Thornhill

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent service from start to finish. room was clean and very comfortable

Reviewed by
J todd

From Newton Aycliffe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First impressions were excellent. Checked in ok. Seemed to take reception back when paid for room up front. Around the hotel some members of staff looked like they would rather be anywhere else than there, however the staff in the restaurant were polite and friendly. Breakfast was a slight let down. Even something as simple as some beans included on the breakfast would make it feel better value for money. I did find the room lovely, but found previous occupants deodorant under the spare bed. But saying that we did enjoy our stay. Just one or two little things would have made it fantastic.

Reviewed by
clare s

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room, mediocre service
The rooms were lovely- really well set out, clean and comfortable.
The main issue with this venue is the breakfast service or lack of it. For 10 pounds per person you do get a big, cooked breakfast which is decently cooked. However, even the most menial items have to be constantly requested: napkins, knives, butter, glasses... even when the restaurant had only 5 people present for breakfast. The continental selection/cold selection was extremely poor- 3 tiny pastries left on a tray with an hour of breakfast service still to go; poor selection of cereal (just cornflakes) and one yoghurt. So basically, a good hotel but don't pay more for breakfast- not worth it.

Reviewed by
M Magdi

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next