No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Walworth , Darlington, DL2 2LY
Offering 12th Century character and 21st Century convenience in Darlington, BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel is set in 18 acres of lawns and woodlands... just three miles from the A1(M).

This really is the ideal venue to get away and relax. Whether you are on the lookout for luxury or simply seeking style! Local attractions are easy to get to including the market town of Darlington, Richmond or Barnard Castle. Other attractions include High Force Waterfall, 1/2 hour drive to the coast or to the North Yorkshire Moors.

With a unique blend of flavors and features, we have an award winning restaurant that complements the tastefully designed bedrooms - including a feature four poster suite!

Our secluded, grand property is extremely popular for wedding receptions, and we can make your special day more memorable by the minute with exceptional service from the moment you arrive And of course, the pictures will be perfect!
Picture of BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, Darlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy Days!!
well.......yesereedodayyyyyyy

Reviewed by
C Hayton

From Maryport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

i stayed in the annex part which isnt as nice as the main building but good for purpose of visit

Reviewed by
L Thornhill

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent service from start to finish. room was clean and very comfortable

Reviewed by
J todd

From Newton Aycliffe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First impressions were excellent. Checked in ok. Seemed to take reception back when paid for room up front. Around the hotel some members of staff looked like they would rather be anywhere else than there, however the staff in the restaurant were polite and friendly. Breakfast was a slight let down. Even something as simple as some beans included on the breakfast would make it feel better value for money. I did find the room lovely, but found previous occupants deodorant under the spare bed. But saying that we did enjoy our stay. Just one or two little things would have made it fantastic.

Reviewed by
clare s

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room, mediocre service
The rooms were lovely- really well set out, clean and comfortable.
The main issue with this venue is the breakfast service or lack of it. For 10 pounds per person you do get a big, cooked breakfast which is decently cooked. However, even the most menial items have to be constantly requested: napkins, knives, butter, glasses... even when the restaurant had only 5 people present for breakfast. The continental selection/cold selection was extremely poor- 3 tiny pastries left on a tray with an hour of breakfast service still to go; poor selection of cereal (just cornflakes) and one yoghurt. So basically, a good hotel but don't pay more for breakfast- not worth it.

Reviewed by
M Magdi

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Place
Excellent Hotel will definitely stay again, food & accommodation great,

Reviewed by
H Snowden

From Huntly, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A superb venue
The castle was a beautiful place to stay. The staff were all very nice and the service was good. The room, a 4 poster in the main castle, was well equipped and comfortable. Breakfast was expertly cooked and very tasty. Probably the best fried eggs I've ever had.
I have no complaints about Walworth Castle at all and would happily stay there again.

Reviewed by
Adam P

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very novel and interesting place to stay
Really enjoyed staying here. No complaints

Reviewed by
M Thomas

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

inconsistent
Arrived at two fifteen, and greeted in an aggressive manner, un-packed and returned to the desk to request afternoon tea on the front terrace. We sat waiting in the hot sun, only to be forgotten, again went to the desk to ask what was happening, a waitress came out after a further wait, ( we had now been outside waiting for service for nearly 25 min ) we gave our request for afternoon tea only to be told that the chef had finished at 2pm and that we could have scones or cakes with tea. Frustrated we ordered scones which just passed as such, were small and flat but not very appetising,
The next morning at breakfast we had to ask for toast ( full English) , which then arrived as we nearly finished our meal, then realised that we only had enough butter for two slices, again very disappointing,
The accommodation and location was excellent , however the standard of service ruined the whole experience, Memorable for all the wrong reasons, we should have been told at the desk about the afternoon tea availability issue.

Reviewed by
Roy Siffleet

From Frodsham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food was a little slow in coming out considdering we there were only 4 people in the restaurant. Service was not great. After the other table left it was a long time before it was cleared and I had to track someone down from reception in order to get another drink.

Reviewed by
Sean O

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next