Reviews - BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel


Walworth, Darlington, DL2 2LY

Price From 153.30 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (91)

77% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality



  • February 2015

Valentines weekend

GREAT Staff , excellent service , Room excellent , valentines menu and food excellent 10/10 Thank you for a Great Stay , Would love to stay again..

Thank You.

  • K Hailes

  • February 2015

Walworth Castle Hotel

The exterior of the hotel looks very inviting and is set in lovely grounds and the main entrance is nice.

We had booked a superior room and the room we had left us disappointed. It was very small and could definitely have done with modernising as the bathroom in particular looked shabby. The room when we arrived was freezing and the radiator was not working. We reported this at reception and as it could not be repaired they provided a heater which was good but took quite a lot of space in an already small room. On the plus side the breakfast was lovely with lots of variety.

  • J Baker

  • February 2015

Welcoming Staff

Both reception and restaurant staff were most helpful and the food excellent.

Room was quite basic and the bathroom very cold. However it is a very old building and we were there on one of the coldest nights of the year. Would love to return in better weather to explore the surrounding area.

  • Jeremy F

  • January 2015

Awesome looking building and good place to stay.

Really pleasant surroundings, character rooms in the main castle building and a fantastic breakfast - top notch local produce.

  • Karol Ozimkowski

  • December 2014

peaceful and well organised!

Went to stay for a night at the Castle and it was jist perfect.

Quiet, spacy, with a great customer service. Will definitely be back as it also was a great value for money.

  • N Delanty

  • December 2014

Walworth Castle

Have stayed here before and have had various rooms this time I was in a box room 11 the door hit the bed when you opened it could not use the desk as the televisions was on it .

Hanging space was behind the door or try to use a contraption that folded out which when you did meant the desktop was useless. Add the the coffee making equipment meant it was easier to sit on the bed and work. Room too small . Ate in bar area waited 47 minutes for fish and chips on a piece of slate 7 people ordered before me and 1 after and the one after got his meal at the same time. Shame because staff were friendly helpful and apologetic

  • Stephen Godfrey

  • December 2014

Not a pleasant night!

Unfortunately, I was put in 'The West Wing' which was a bit like spending the night in a large prison cell.

The room was a square,bland very small space with an equally small window situated on the corner of the room. You could hardly turn round in the bathroom let alone 'swing a cat'. The shower was 'unuseable' as you had no control over the water temperature which made it extremely hot and dangerous especially for the elderly or children. I ate in the bar which was passable.

  • David B

  • December 2014

Great weekend

Excellent hotel and staff friendly - restaurant good value.

However, unless you can get a ground floor room possibly not for those with mobility problems - lots of stairs to upper floors and no lift.

  • stuart moore

  • December 2014

Castle stay with lots of Character

stayed in this beautiful Castle for one night, and I really wasn't disappointed, the staff couldn't do enough to ensure a great stay, the room I stayed in was a superior room which included a 4 poster bed, all the d├ęcor matched the castle experience, even strolling around the castle is a delight with the items you can see and discover, one of the best nights sleep I've had in a while, would definitely recommend, and will definitely return,

  • A White

  • November 2014

BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

Moved from one room to another because of having no hot water.

The new room was slightly better in the evening but had no hot water in the morning. I believe that other rooms had similar difficulties. I would stay there again if the water problems were resolved.