You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

3

Walworth, Darlington, DL2 2LY

Price From 118.87 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (78)

74% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Wendy C

  • March 2015

high quality at reasonable prices

After problems with room lock quickly upgraded to another room.

Very warm despite being in a stone castle. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food in farmer's bar excellent, as was the breakfast.

  • Roy H

  • March 2015

BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

This is a beautiful hotel, The staff were very friendly and the food was excellent.

I would highly recommend it to anyone wishing to relax in a peaceful location

  • Andrew T

  • March 2015

Okay place to lay your head.

Bathroom and room was very small, the bed blocked the door, the shower was off the taps and inconsistent in temperature.

The bathroom was very cold with no way to warm it up. The Wi-Fi was poor in the room and talking to others this was a common problem with the annex and the lack of other facilities (e.g. gym) was a major down point. The bar was very nice and the food there was excellent. The staff, particularly the lady on the bar on Monday 2nd, were also friendly and helpful.

  • D Dixon

  • March 2015

Not worth an upgrade

Paid a little more to upgrade the room and I was put in an okay room directly above the kitchen so the hum of the extractor fans started early and went on til late.

No electric sockets around the desk so unable to work as much, eventually asked for an extension lead.

  • j armstrong

  • March 2015

Beautiful hotel in a stunning location.

Night away certainly recharges your batteries. The food in the restaurant was fabulous.

  • L Stamp

  • February 2015

lovely hotel but needs a new housekeeper

The reception was GREAT the room was well decorated and had everything we needed.

the down side is it was dirty.The room was very dusty on all surfaces even the wooden headboard, it has huge dust webs in the corners. the noise from the fan in the kitchen below went on till past 10pm and at 6.00am there was an alarm going off. When my husband told reception nothing was done about it. I was very disappointed as this was our anniversary treat. Shame because it was a beautiful setting

  • Susan H

  • February 2015

BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

Great character, we had a great stay

  • K SUMMERS

  • February 2015

Valentines weekend

GREAT Staff , excellent service , Room excellent , valentines menu and food excellent 10/10 Thank you for a Great Stay , Would love to stay again..

Thank You.

  • K Hailes

  • February 2015

Walworth Castle Hotel

The exterior of the hotel looks very inviting and is set in lovely grounds and the main entrance is nice.

We had booked a superior room and the room we had left us disappointed. It was very small and could definitely have done with modernising as the bathroom in particular looked shabby. The room when we arrived was freezing and the radiator was not working. We reported this at reception and as it could not be repaired they provided a heater which was good but took quite a lot of space in an already small room. On the plus side the breakfast was lovely with lots of variety.

  • J Baker

  • February 2015

Welcoming Staff

Both reception and restaurant staff were most helpful and the food excellent.

Room was quite basic and the bathroom very cold. However it is a very old building and we were there on one of the coldest nights of the year. Would love to return in better weather to explore the surrounding area.