No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Walworth , Darlington, DL2 2LY
Offering 12th Century character and 21st Century convenience in Darlington, BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel is set in 18 acres of lawns and woodlands... just three miles from the A1(M).

This really is the ideal venue to get away and relax. Whether you are on the lookout for luxury or simply seeking style! Local attractions are easy to get to including the market town of Darlington, Richmond or Barnard Castle. Other attractions include High Force Waterfall, 1/2 hour drive to the coast or to the North Yorkshire Moors.

With a unique blend of flavors and features, we have an award winning restaurant that complements the tastefully designed bedrooms - including a feature four poster suite!

Our secluded, grand property is extremely popular for wedding receptions, and we can make your special day more memorable by the minute with exceptional service from the moment you arrive And of course, the pictures will be perfect!
Picture of BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, Darlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Its raining its pouring
One night stay would have proved good value for money and satisfactory if weather had been dry. Food was good and good value for money. However it rained. It rained into our room. Reported this to be told we could have towels to mop up the water! My sleep was disturbed from what sounded like a tap running in the room and hitting the window or carpet all night. I moved the TV in case water went on it. At check out when asked if everything was ok, I reluctantly told Receptionist about the rain coming in and how I felt this had been an ongoing problem as there was lots of evidence of work being carried out in the room to attempt to prevent the rain coming in. The Receptionist did not give any response! I just hope repairs are carried out before anyone else has to spend a sleepless night in room 25 again.

Reviewed by
S Keane

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 30
One night in room 30 will leave you wrecked the next day. The bed is the most uncomfortable bed I have slept in. I can only describe it as like lying on a sack of potatoes!
The shower and lavatory room is no bigger than a walk in wardrobe.
The room is classed as one of their standard double rooms.
Definitely to be avoided.
HOWEVER
Room 31, which we were moved into the following night has separate lounge and bedroom. It also has a four poster bed. MUCH improvement but at a price.

Reviewed by
I Merryweather

From Ballaugh, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unexpected late deal but what a gem!
What a lovely hotel. The chap on reception could not have been nicer when we arrived very late in the evening and gave us a warm welcome. Beautiful room, I would recommend the castle rooms for those wanting a more romantic or atmospheric stay. Fantastic countryside surroundings and would make a great venue for a celebration or special occasion.

Reviewed by
R Burns

From Renfrew, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay
Staff incredibly polite. Food was delicious. Grounds and castle were beautiful. Thank you!

Reviewed by
Lisa P

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A haven of relaxation
I was upgraded for free to a gorgeous four-poster room where i stayed for 2 nights, i had the best nights sleep for a very very long time. Everything from the temperature to the thickness of the curtains and walls to the firmness of the bed, it was wonderful. The sunsets and sunrises from my window were stunning and i was able to convince myself that i was on holiday rather than on business... the food was great too - i would highly recommend it to anyone.

Reviewed by
Jessie P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very small Looked better in picture
Having booked this last minute and price been reduced and after ooking at he pictures advertising large rooms with oversized bed/baths, I was expecting something extremely big and vast and huge but sadly the 4 poster bed didnt accommodate my husband who's 6 ft. Room was around a 4 x 4 with small, high 4 poster bed, tv attached to side of wall/window but behind post on bed. So if you happen to be on the left you couldnt see the tv. Small table against wall which had coffee kettle milk and tourist books on what to do ,see etc. Room was clean and tidy. Had to bedside cabinet and a small walk in cupboard with hangers.Bathroom was a separate room with basic comodoties and a very worse for wear mould seal round bath and tiles. Room 17 was above the small bar on front and is not a great sleeping area if you could anyway due to the bed constantly creaking on the slightest of movement.! All in all would not use again.

Reviewed by
lorraine thompson

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Other hotels take note
This is how to do accommodation for business users and others, room great, parking great WI FI great I could go on, everything is good here. No need to search for any other hotel within 20 miles.

Reviewed by
Darren Langley

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great looking hotel with all the features you expect from a castle
Area and castle are lovely, room is decent with plenty of room, bathroom could do with a little spruce up, female in the bar wasn't the best at customer service, I would have also liked a digital copy of my room receipt however they don't offer that. The food wasn't great but overall the stay was only for one evening as I passed through the area on business so was fine for my needs.

Reviewed by
K Docherty

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely venue
Stayed for a wedding its a medieval type castle beautiful grounds and very romantic. Look in the cupboard for tea and coffee making facilities as we nearly missed them! Overall happy with stay

Reviewed by
Carla W

From Paulton, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Castle Overnight Stay!
Really nicely sized suite with seperate bedroom. My only gripe was the lack of a shower in the bathroom. I had to run a bath in the morning which was not ideal. Visited the restaurant in the evening and the food was excellent. I would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Lee Axton

From Coalville, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next