No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Walworth , Darlington, DL2 2LY
Offering 12th Century character and 21st Century convenience in Darlington, BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel is set in 18 acres of lawns and woodlands... just three miles from the A1(M).

This really is the ideal venue to get away and relax. Whether you are on the lookout for luxury or simply seeking style! Local attractions are easy to get to including the market town of Darlington, Richmond or Barnard Castle. Other attractions include High Force Waterfall, 1/2 hour drive to the coast or to the North Yorkshire Moors.

With a unique blend of flavors and features, we have an award winning restaurant that complements the tastefully designed bedrooms - including a feature four poster suite!

Our secluded, grand property is extremely popular for wedding receptions, and we can make your special day more memorable by the minute with exceptional service from the moment you arrive And of course, the pictures will be perfect!
Picture of BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, Darlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 65 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Classic Accommodation
Very impressive site when approaching the hotel - a bit of historical England.
Even if the room is in the annex the room quality is great.

Reviewed by
John Morrison

From Lanark, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was small but adequate for a one night stopover. Staff were friendly and helpful. breakfast was nice and the place in general was very clean and tidy

Reviewed by
T SANDERSON

From Strathaven, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

happy customer
Another enjoyable stay

Reviewed by
s dunn

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel review
Castle was amazing views nice staff nice polite helpful, bedroom was basic could of had more wow factor bit let down when u see castle then go in room . Breakfast was nice lots of variety to choose from would definitely stay there again though .

Reviewed by
g hughes

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relax in a charming castle hotel
Walworth Castle is just a few miles from the main A1 in a very quiet country location with great views from the castle grounds. It is an impressive building with some history and even a dungeon! Food was excellent, rooms simple and full of character, staff are friendly and helpful. If you like getting away from it all and just want to relax, then you can't go wrong with this one. I will definitely be staying again.

Reviewed by
Colin Coote

From West Byfleet, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was gorgeous very different to anything ive stayed in before. The good was fantastic will be going back to eat there again. Had a wonderful stay and the staff were very helpful and friendly!

Reviewed by
S Thompson

From Stockton on tees, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Its raining its pouring
One night stay would have proved good value for money and satisfactory if weather had been dry. Food was good and good value for money. However it rained. It rained into our room. Reported this to be told we could have towels to mop up the water! My sleep was disturbed from what sounded like a tap running in the room and hitting the window or carpet all night. I moved the TV in case water went on it. At check out when asked if everything was ok, I reluctantly told Receptionist about the rain coming in and how I felt this had been an ongoing problem as there was lots of evidence of work being carried out in the room to attempt to prevent the rain coming in. The Receptionist did not give any response! I just hope repairs are carried out before anyone else has to spend a sleepless night in room 25 again.

Reviewed by
S Keane

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 30
One night in room 30 will leave you wrecked the next day. The bed is the most uncomfortable bed I have slept in. I can only describe it as like lying on a sack of potatoes!
The shower and lavatory room is no bigger than a walk in wardrobe.
The room is classed as one of their standard double rooms.
Definitely to be avoided.
HOWEVER
Room 31, which we were moved into the following night has separate lounge and bedroom. It also has a four poster bed. MUCH improvement but at a price.

Reviewed by
I Merryweather

From Ballaugh, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unexpected late deal but what a gem!
What a lovely hotel. The chap on reception could not have been nicer when we arrived very late in the evening and gave us a warm welcome. Beautiful room, I would recommend the castle rooms for those wanting a more romantic or atmospheric stay. Fantastic countryside surroundings and would make a great venue for a celebration or special occasion.

Reviewed by
R Burns

From Renfrew, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay
Staff incredibly polite. Food was delicious. Grounds and castle were beautiful. Thank you!

Reviewed by
Lisa P

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next