No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Walworth , Darlington, DL2 2LY
Offering 12th Century character and 21st Century convenience in Darlington, BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel is set in 18 acres of lawns and woodlands... just three miles from the A1(M).

This really is the ideal venue to get away and relax. Whether you are on the lookout for luxury or simply seeking style! Local attractions are easy to get to including the market town of Darlington, Richmond or Barnard Castle. Other attractions include High Force Waterfall, 1/2 hour drive to the coast or to the North Yorkshire Moors.

With a unique blend of flavors and features, we have an award winning restaurant that complements the tastefully designed bedrooms - including a feature four poster suite!

Our secluded, grand property is extremely popular for wedding receptions, and we can make your special day more memorable by the minute with exceptional service from the moment you arrive And of course, the pictures will be perfect!
Picture of BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, Darlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Historic and Quiet
I would love to stay here again, the unique character of the hotel was something special.
The staff were very attentive, the accommodation was great and the breakfast had everything I would wish for.

Reviewed by
JAMES EAGLETON

From Whitchurch, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value for money, lovely old building.
The gardens are great for families, peaceful with play area and great scenery. The castle grounds and building were very well presented. Staff were very pleasant. A friend eats Sunday lunch there regularly and always enjoys. Only slight downside was the extractor fan which went on in the kitchen early morning and we must have been directly above in room 25. Overall lovely experience.

Reviewed by
Adele S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

booked a room within the main castle as described as more spacious it was very cramped and the shower/toilet was no more than a cupboard,there were no views apart from rooftops.The food in the bar area was very good and the staff helpful.

Reviewed by
lynn h

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A change is a s good as a rest
The hotel may be only a 40 minute drive from home but it was as if we were miles away. My husband and I needed a break after both experiencing busy periods at work. We wanted luxury, comfort and good food at an affordable price and Walworth Castle certainly more than satisfied all our requirements.
We ate in the Farmers Bar each night and the food was excellent, the service first class but the clientele on the third next left a lot to be desired. Room 28 please note, we do not need, nor want, to know your food requirements, or whether you were within budget for your dinner allowance or that you were going to mark them down on TripAdvisor for not having your favourite tipple - what is the saying again about empty vessels!?
That aside, which the hotel can do nothing about, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend staying here for a short break with excellent food and a touch of luxury.

Reviewed by
Barbara L

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would stay here again.

Reviewed by
k price

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We booked via the Late Rooms and got a fantastic deal. The service was great and the decor in the rooms was very tasteful and modern. A very romantic setting

Reviewed by
S Flaherty

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Service outweighed accommodation.
Fantastic building, and had a great stay. The staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough for us, even keeping the kitchen open late after returning, when just about to stop serving food. Only down side the superior double room was obviously intended for hobbits! Perfectly clean and well presented but no wardrobe, small bed! Suitable for an overnight stay but not really adequate for a 3 night stop. Although very cozy. Staff made it bearable. Especially the chef, when he set the fire alarms off burning the toast personally apologised to each guest when we came down for breakfast. I did say I'd skip the toast as I didn't wish to disturb anyone's lie in.

Reviewed by
Richard C

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dissapointing stay
The person on reception was not particularly clued up , in the room the television was not working properly and had its cable / plug dangerously dangleing and there was mould growing by the sink . all small problems which would not take much sorting out shame the customer saw these points . Upon leaving no real effort was made to appolgise for these problems the girl said she was just filling in I would stay again but maybee report faults as and if found straight away and not leave until the next morning

Reviewed by
a glover

From Sandbach, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brass monkey
The coldest room I have EVER stayed in.
The bedroom was like a fridge, and the bathroom like a freezer.
A cold shower in the morning didn't help either

Reviewed by
Paul B

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location . Friendly helpful staff. windows in room had flaking paint otherwise lovely . service at bar a little slow but lovely staff and relaxed atmosphere.

Reviewed by
Kay Alison

From Epsom, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next