Reviews - BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel


Walworth, Darlington, DL2 2LY

Price From 117.36 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (91)

77% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • John H

  • March 2015

Great breakfast, excellent staff

Castle room was interesting, food was good, grounds were lovely.

Best of all the staff were first rate and extremely helpful

  • Mark B

  • March 2015


Good for price but bedding smelt strongly of bleach

  • E Smith

  • March 2015

finally stayed in a castle !

Wow !.

What a setting. Check in quick and efficient. Then to my delight we were given Victoria Room. Giant four poster. Breakfast was gorgeous and cooked to order. Nothing about the stay disappointed. If you are looking for pristine Boutique hotel, then don't bother. But if you are looking for plenty of character, and excellent service then this is the place for you !. We will return !!

  • Wendy C

  • March 2015

high quality at reasonable prices

After problems with room lock quickly upgraded to another room.

Very warm despite being in a stone castle. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food in farmer's bar excellent, as was the breakfast.

  • Roy H

  • March 2015

BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

This is a beautiful hotel, The staff were very friendly and the food was excellent.

I would highly recommend it to anyone wishing to relax in a peaceful location

  • Andrew T

  • March 2015

Okay place to lay your head.

Bathroom and room was very small, the bed blocked the door, the shower was off the taps and inconsistent in temperature.

The bathroom was very cold with no way to warm it up. The Wi-Fi was poor in the room and talking to others this was a common problem with the annex and the lack of other facilities (e.g. gym) was a major down point. The bar was very nice and the food there was excellent. The staff, particularly the lady on the bar on Monday 2nd, were also friendly and helpful.

  • D Dixon

  • March 2015

Not worth an upgrade

Paid a little more to upgrade the room and I was put in an okay room directly above the kitchen so the hum of the extractor fans started early and went on til late.

No electric sockets around the desk so unable to work as much, eventually asked for an extension lead.

  • j armstrong

  • March 2015

Beautiful hotel in a stunning location.

Night away certainly recharges your batteries. The food in the restaurant was fabulous.

  • L Stamp

  • February 2015

lovely hotel but needs a new housekeeper

The reception was GREAT the room was well decorated and had everything we needed.

the down side is it was dirty.The room was very dusty on all surfaces even the wooden headboard, it has huge dust webs in the corners. the noise from the fan in the kitchen below went on till past 10pm and at 6.00am there was an alarm going off. When my husband told reception nothing was done about it. I was very disappointed as this was our anniversary treat. Shame because it was a beautiful setting

  • Susan H

  • February 2015

BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

Great character, we had a great stay