Reviews - BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel


Walworth, Darlington, DL2 2LY

Price From 122.53 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (91)

77% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Garry T

  • April 2015

weekend at the races

paid the extra for the upgrade on the castle rooms, slightly let down by the view of the kitchen yard and the noise of the extractor fan in room 25.

however that said the room was clean, the bathroom was in a very good condition. we ate at the hotel and around £10 for a very good battered fish chips and peas I thought was well worth the money. the breakfast and the service in the morning was of a very high standard.

  • Lauren Coad

  • April 2015

Very friendly service

Enjoyed our stay as we were attending a wedding great experience.

  • Elizabeth W

  • March 2015

Lovely place to stay

I stayed here for three nights.

Staff were lovely, room lovely, breakfast good but service a bit slow.

  • Suhel I

  • March 2015

excellent stay and experience at Walworth Castle

Front end staff in particular Auriele was very pleasant and helpful.

Some breakfast staff in the morning seemed to be too stressed out even though they're were only around 6 tables to be served. Apart from that However all in all a great experience at the castle. Rooms were the cleanest you would ever find. Surprised that it is actually rated as 3 star. The other surprise inclusion was the Birds of Prey park in the rear of the castle which was newly opened. Nice cosy fireplace in the lounge area. And when the sun comes out there's chance for some amazing photos. Definitely will recommend to family and friends

  • John H

  • March 2015

Great breakfast, excellent staff

Castle room was interesting, food was good, grounds were lovely.

Best of all the staff were first rate and extremely helpful

  • Mark B

  • March 2015


Good for price but bedding smelt strongly of bleach

  • E Smith

  • March 2015

finally stayed in a castle !

Wow !.

What a setting. Check in quick and efficient. Then to my delight we were given Victoria Room. Giant four poster. Breakfast was gorgeous and cooked to order. Nothing about the stay disappointed. If you are looking for pristine Boutique hotel, then don't bother. But if you are looking for plenty of character, and excellent service then this is the place for you !. We will return !!

  • Wendy C

  • March 2015

high quality at reasonable prices

After problems with room lock quickly upgraded to another room.

Very warm despite being in a stone castle. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food in farmer's bar excellent, as was the breakfast.

  • Roy H

  • March 2015

BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

This is a beautiful hotel, The staff were very friendly and the food was excellent.

I would highly recommend it to anyone wishing to relax in a peaceful location

  • Andrew T

  • March 2015

Okay place to lay your head.

Bathroom and room was very small, the bed blocked the door, the shower was off the taps and inconsistent in temperature.

The bathroom was very cold with no way to warm it up. The Wi-Fi was poor in the room and talking to others this was a common problem with the annex and the lack of other facilities (e.g. gym) was a major down point. The bar was very nice and the food there was excellent. The staff, particularly the lady on the bar on Monday 2nd, were also friendly and helpful.