No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Walworth , Darlington, DL2 2LY
Offering 12th Century character and 21st Century convenience in Darlington, BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel is set in 18 acres of lawns and woodlands... just three miles from the A1(M).

This really is the ideal venue to get away and relax. Whether you are on the lookout for luxury or simply seeking style! Local attractions are easy to get to including the market town of Darlington, Richmond or Barnard Castle. Other attractions include High Force Waterfall, 1/2 hour drive to the coast or to the North Yorkshire Moors.

With a unique blend of flavors and features, we have an award winning restaurant that complements the tastefully designed bedrooms - including a feature four poster suite!

Our secluded, grand property is extremely popular for wedding receptions, and we can make your special day more memorable by the minute with exceptional service from the moment you arrive And of course, the pictures will be perfect!
Picture of BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, Darlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

countryside retreat
We stayed in a superior room but felt that for the money it could have been better. It was on the 2nd floor and there were lots of stairs and no lift. My husband had a knee injury and found it very difficult getting up and down. Would advise to check when booking which floor you are on if you having difficulties negotiating stairs. The room was clean but there was no heating in the bathroom to dry the towels. Also we were woken at 5am by birds nesting in the chimney pots. The bed was also not very comfortable. The staff were very helpful and welcoming on arrival. The food was good and the portions were good value for money. I would stay here again but would ask for a room on the 1st floor mext time.

Reviewed by
Kay B

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very small room, but didn't mid too much for the price. No hot water in the shower - housekeeping confirmed the hotel was out of hot water so we couldn't have a shower which was very disappointing. The food in the restaurant was excellent, even if the service was slow. A beautiful castle and grounds and a very quiet relaxing stay (cold shower excluded)!

Reviewed by
Hannah B

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class customer service. Disappointed with the food
The staff were amazing start to finish. Really happy with the room. Restaurant was closed, but the bar was serving food. Ambiance was great in there. Food looked great but the ingredients didn't taste it. Especially for the price. All in all would recommend. Very relaxing location. Lovely decor. If your looking for a quiet get away, this is it.

Reviewed by
philip w

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gem
We were delighted with this place, really did not expect such an intriguing place! Had a "standard" four poster room and it was still lovely and big with a great bed with drapes. Food was lovely and staff friendly if a little lacking in finesse.

Reviewed by
Kate N

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor condition of room
room was clean but, needed repairs to the loose carpet, the shower was blocked, the toilet flush was also broken, and as for the food, this was under par, just low quality and not worth the money, the breakfast buffet bar had nearly an inch of dust under the moveable counter and cobwebs hanging above. not really up to standard. if these issues were to be addressed i would consider staying again.

Reviewed by
D Burton

From Woodbridge, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is in a lovely setting but we did wish we had gone for the better room as the walls where very thin and we were woken up at Midnight as they where moving around upstairs and it was very noisey . Our bathroom sink was cracked and the bath plug was broken amd you couldnt lay down in the bath as the shower taps were too low so you hit your head

Reviewed by
lisa king

From Heathfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extremely friendly service
Food is fabulous, homemade chips, what a treat!!

Reviewed by
Nicola B

From Kenilworth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel but need to update their guest info!
Turned up at 9:05 pm and looked at the guest information that stated room service was available until 9:30pm but then was informed room service had finished at 9:00pm which was a pain as i was hungry and there wasn't any restaurants in the local vicinity.

Reviewed by
James C

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for Money
We were very happy with this hotel service and room quality were very good--staff very pleasant and helpful- excellent base to visit various attractions in the area.

Reviewed by
Judith F

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was great, we enjoyed our stay very much. Would definately stay again. We would also recomend this hotel.

Reviewed by
David Lawson

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next