Reviews - BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel


Walworth, Darlington, DL2 2LY

Price From 143.86 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (91)

77% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • J Strain

  • July 2015

A Castle fit for a King!

My wife and I were only staying the night in a fly-by visit on our way to London, but found the hotel and staff to be fantastic.

Everybody was very friendly despite us arriving very late in the evening, and we felt very welcomed. The room was very well proportioned and had a great view, and we had a sound sleep through the night. An pre-6am start stopped us from sampling the breakfast though, unfortunately. Ample car-parking was a bonus as we were visiting in a classic car so wanted to be sure it was safe. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Tom S

  • June 2015

BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

Excellent stay, fantastic location, and brilliant staff.

  • j adams

  • June 2015

Stunning hotel but shame about the food!

we thought the hotel was beautiful and the room was fine given what we paid.

in the eveing there were 3 young men that were on the reception, bar and other and they were so lovely. helpful and communicative but i am afraid that the breakfastthe next morning was an absolute disaster!!. my husband had a bacon sandwich that was served stone cold and so chewy it was inedible. we had to wait 45 for our simple breakfast and then none of us could eat it. they even served the accompanying toast 38 minutres prior to what then turned out to be an inedible breakfast

  • Rhiannon Fennell

  • June 2015

BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

We ordered boiled eggs at breakfast and obviously the waitress forgot to bring them, we waited about 20 mins then went to ask at the reception what had happened to the eggs.

A few minutes later the waitress brought them to our table by which time they were cold and as hard as bullets. She blamed the chef saying he had forgotten about them !. She did not offer to bring freshly boiled ones. Other than that we enjoyed our stay and the staff were very nice and helpful and it is a lovely location

  • Brian B

  • June 2015

Lovely hotel but has faults

Cannot fault the location or setting of this beautiful Tudor building.

The staff on reception were excellent and made us feel welcome. Room 33 was a lovely spacious room, the four poster bed was comfortable and it was peaceful and quiet. Two faults... the dressing table in the room had a broken leg and the washbasin in the bathroom could do with the S trap cleaning because the water would not drain away.

  • Elizabeth B

  • May 2015

Wonderful castle to stay in!

Brilliant customer service skills!.

Quality castle, quality staff!. Steve Wiids and Debbie on reception were fantastic- not at all flummoxed by my requests to make our stay perfect as it was a treat for my other half :-) Dining in the library really made it special - thank you!!

  • d allen

  • May 2015

avoid superior and stick with standard

Room disappointing small and Noise for a supposed 'superior' room.

Awoken really early by kitchen fans in morning as sleeping directly above them. Bed not made properly also. Alternatively food was very good and plentiful and grounds very pleasant.

  • M Pugh

  • May 2015

Enjoyed our stay

The staff were very friendly and the service was excellent.

It was great to stay in a Castle the grounds were beautiful.

  • Stephen C

  • April 2015

Lovely hotel with very helpful and friendly staff.

Wonderful breakfast!

  • T Hegarty

  • April 2015

A little Gem

Lovely quiet hotel, Great Views, Excellant service by all staff, Breakfast hot and plenty.

Birthday card in room for my Daughter and Cake & Candle for Breakfast. Nice touch!