No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Walworth , Darlington, DL2 2LY
Offering 12th Century character and 21st Century convenience in Darlington, BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel is set in 18 acres of lawns and woodlands... just three miles from the A1(M).

This really is the ideal venue to get away and relax. Whether you are on the lookout for luxury or simply seeking style! Local attractions are easy to get to including the market town of Darlington, Richmond or Barnard Castle. Other attractions include High Force Waterfall, 1/2 hour drive to the coast or to the North Yorkshire Moors.

With a unique blend of flavors and features, we have an award winning restaurant that complements the tastefully designed bedrooms - including a feature four poster suite!

Our secluded, grand property is extremely popular for wedding receptions, and we can make your special day more memorable by the minute with exceptional service from the moment you arrive And of course, the pictures will be perfect!
Picture of BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, Darlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is in a lovely setting but we did wish we had gone for the better room as the walls where very thin and we were woken up at Midnight as they where moving around upstairs and it was very noisey . Our bathroom sink was cracked and the bath plug was broken amd you couldnt lay down in the bath as the shower taps were too low so you hit your head

Reviewed by
lisa king

From Heathfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extremely friendly service
Food is fabulous, homemade chips, what a treat!!

Reviewed by
Nicola B

From Kenilworth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel but need to update their guest info!
Turned up at 9:05 pm and looked at the guest information that stated room service was available until 9:30pm but then was informed room service had finished at 9:00pm which was a pain as i was hungry and there wasn't any restaurants in the local vicinity.

Reviewed by
James C

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for Money
We were very happy with this hotel service and room quality were very good--staff very pleasant and helpful- excellent base to visit various attractions in the area.

Reviewed by
Judith F

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was great, we enjoyed our stay very much. Would definately stay again. We would also recomend this hotel.

Reviewed by
David Lawson

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food was lovely but room and bar cold and expensive

Reviewed by
Sharon Y

From middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Walworth Castle Overnight Stay
Very pleasant atmosphere, enjoyed the ambience. Room was basic clean and tidy food was very good breakfast service was a little slow as staff did not appear for about 15 mins however breakfast was very nice.
Overall I would and will use this location again

Reviewed by
G McManus

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break in North East
Had excellent stay. Free upgrade to castle room. Excellent stay with attentive staff and delicious food. Cosy lounge with open fire enjoyed in evenings. We will definitely return to walworth castle.

Reviewed by
Barbara C

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to stay
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The food was top notch. Loads of character and lovely views. A bit cool at night, but an extra heater was thoughtfully supplied. Will come again.

Reviewed by
Rowland J Hill

From Cramlington, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous stay at a bargain price!
Would thoroughly recommend the hotel. It has a lovely charm and oodles of character. Members of staff were all very helpful and the room was more than satisfactory for the price paid. We also had dinner in the bar area and the food was excellent. Would not hesiate to recommend and will be booking again.

Reviewed by
Amy O

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next