No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Walworth , Darlington, DL2 2LY
Offering 12th Century character and 21st Century convenience in Darlington, BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel is set in 18 acres of lawns and woodlands... just three miles from the A1(M).

This really is the ideal venue to get away and relax. Whether you are on the lookout for luxury or simply seeking style! Local attractions are easy to get to including the market town of Darlington, Richmond or Barnard Castle. Other attractions include High Force Waterfall, 1/2 hour drive to the coast or to the North Yorkshire Moors.

With a unique blend of flavors and features, we have an award winning restaurant that complements the tastefully designed bedrooms - including a feature four poster suite!

Our secluded, grand property is extremely popular for wedding receptions, and we can make your special day more memorable by the minute with exceptional service from the moment you arrive And of course, the pictures will be perfect!
Picture of BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, Darlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

inconsistent
Arrived at two fifteen, and greeted in an aggressive manner, un-packed and returned to the desk to request afternoon tea on the front terrace. We sat waiting in the hot sun, only to be forgotten, again went to the desk to ask what was happening, a waitress came out after a further wait, ( we had now been outside waiting for service for nearly 25 min ) we gave our request for afternoon tea only to be told that the chef had finished at 2pm and that we could have scones or cakes with tea. Frustrated we ordered scones which just passed as such, were small and flat but not very appetising,
The next morning at breakfast we had to ask for toast ( full English) , which then arrived as we nearly finished our meal, then realised that we only had enough butter for two slices, again very disappointing,
The accommodation and location was excellent , however the standard of service ruined the whole experience, Memorable for all the wrong reasons, we should have been told at the desk about the afternoon tea availability issue.

Reviewed by
Roy Siffleet

From Frodsham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food was a little slow in coming out considdering we there were only 4 people in the restaurant. Service was not great. After the other table left it was a long time before it was cleared and I had to track someone down from reception in order to get another drink.

Reviewed by
Sean O

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall a really nice stay,, the food was the bast I have had for a long time,,

Reviewed by
thomas wigham

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely surprise.
Found this hotel whilst browsing the web. We only live 30 minutes away and had no idea this place existed. What a gem of a place. The staff were very good, very attentive and all of them very smart.
Our room was lovely, a beautiful four poster bed, spotlessly clean with a really nice bright and spacious bathroom.
Breakfast was delicious and there was lots of it too.
I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
M Bellars

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accomodation, pleasant grounds and setting, very pleasant staff, tasty food
Walworth Castle gives a very period feel right from the time you turn into the gate, if your looking for an escape stay with an historic feel Walworth Castle is ideal. I can't comment on all the suites but the Four Poster Suites are well appointed and spacious, somewhere you could really relax in. Reception staff were very frendly and knowledgable as to the castle. Restaurants have a 'room' feel about them, one would like to think a dinning room of olde. Food was of a good standard, with a smallish menu, service was of a comfortable nature, and again staff were very pleasant although there were missed opportunities for added enhancement for the dinning experience. On the whole though a very enjoyable experience.

Reviewed by
Christopher B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Food noisy room
We had room 32. The bed creaked as soon as you got on. It was a saniflow toilet which was noisy every time you flushed. I thought a castle would have thick walls but heard everything from the neighbours. The room was very dusty and the phone didn't work. I loved the fact that I had to use steps to get into the bed. The food in the hotel was fantastic and great value for money. Huge portions.

Reviewed by
Elaine A

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Everything was wonderful aparrt from no facilities in the room for making a hot drink, found this very disappointing.

Reviewed by
D Lang

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

countryside retreat
We stayed in a superior room but felt that for the money it could have been better. It was on the 2nd floor and there were lots of stairs and no lift. My husband had a knee injury and found it very difficult getting up and down. Would advise to check when booking which floor you are on if you having difficulties negotiating stairs. The room was clean but there was no heating in the bathroom to dry the towels. Also we were woken at 5am by birds nesting in the chimney pots. The bed was also not very comfortable. The staff were very helpful and welcoming on arrival. The food was good and the portions were good value for money. I would stay here again but would ask for a room on the 1st floor mext time.

Reviewed by
Kay B

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very small room, but didn't mid too much for the price. No hot water in the shower - housekeeping confirmed the hotel was out of hot water so we couldn't have a shower which was very disappointing. The food in the restaurant was excellent, even if the service was slow. A beautiful castle and grounds and a very quiet relaxing stay (cold shower excluded)!

Reviewed by
Hannah B

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class customer service. Disappointed with the food
The staff were amazing start to finish. Really happy with the room. Restaurant was closed, but the bar was serving food. Ambiance was great in there. Food looked great but the ingredients didn't taste it. Especially for the price. All in all would recommend. Very relaxing location. Lovely decor. If your looking for a quiet get away, this is it.

Reviewed by
philip w

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next