Reviews - BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel


Walworth, Darlington, DL2 2LY

Price From 153.30 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (91)

77% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • G McCree

  • July 2015

Beautiful hotel, shame about some of the facilities.


Heating off by arrival 9:30ish, radiators barely lukewarm, cold room. 2. Unit for 'Card' system buzzes as it did in a London BW I stayed in, do all BW have this system.

Did not charge phone overnight as took card out due to buzzing then found out the next morning the power sockets are separate. Bed extremely hard, woke several times. Room cold in morning, no heating on at all between waking and 11am. Too cold for shower and clothes damp. Workmen might have started drilling a little later [it was 9am, we were still asleep]. Would stay again if I was in the main building, I would like to see if it differs from the annex. I would like to point out the receptionist was very polite and helpful even if her suggestion we might get a sandwich was not fulfilled as the other staff said the chefs had gone home.

  • S Wignall

  • July 2015

Last minute. Break

We enjoyed our break would love to stay again

  • R Simpson

  • July 2015

Room 17

Find out if there's a wedding on before you book this room .

Wedding guests kept us awake until 3am . Music in the bar downstairs then outside smoking/talking until then . First time I've ever had to walk through reception with my cornflakes .

  • A Curtis

  • July 2015

Very god value for money

We had a room in the West Wing, this had a hallway, separate bathroom and bedroom, the bathroom was quite small and we felt the sink was way too big for the size of the room but bedroom was good size, large TV on the wall and very comfortable bed.

  • Anthony H

  • July 2015

BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

We were stunned with the setting.

We couldn't be more happier than to have stayed there.

  • d beeton

  • July 2015

more attension to mainatance

ot work and drain in shower was partial blocked flood the bathroom

  • J Strain

  • July 2015

A Castle fit for a King!

My wife and I were only staying the night in a fly-by visit on our way to London, but found the hotel and staff to be fantastic.

Everybody was very friendly despite us arriving very late in the evening, and we felt very welcomed. The room was very well proportioned and had a great view, and we had a sound sleep through the night. An pre-6am start stopped us from sampling the breakfast though, unfortunately. Ample car-parking was a bonus as we were visiting in a classic car so wanted to be sure it was safe. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Tom S

  • June 2015

BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

Excellent stay, fantastic location, and brilliant staff.

  • j adams

  • June 2015

Stunning hotel but shame about the food!

we thought the hotel was beautiful and the room was fine given what we paid.

in the eveing there were 3 young men that were on the reception, bar and other and they were so lovely. helpful and communicative but i am afraid that the breakfastthe next morning was an absolute disaster!!. my husband had a bacon sandwich that was served stone cold and so chewy it was inedible. we had to wait 45 for our simple breakfast and then none of us could eat it. they even served the accompanying toast 38 minutres prior to what then turned out to be an inedible breakfast

  • Rhiannon Fennell

  • June 2015

BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

We ordered boiled eggs at breakfast and obviously the waitress forgot to bring them, we waited about 20 mins then went to ask at the reception what had happened to the eggs.

A few minutes later the waitress brought them to our table by which time they were cold and as hard as bullets. She blamed the chef saying he had forgotten about them !. She did not offer to bring freshly boiled ones. Other than that we enjoyed our stay and the staff were very nice and helpful and it is a lovely location