No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Aonach Mor

4AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
14 Kilmaurs Terrace, Newington, Edinburgh , Edinburgh, EH16 5DR
'Aonach Mor' guest house is a stunning four star B&B run by a Scottish couple with an enthusiastic knowledge of the city.

Set in an accessible area of Edinburgh - only one mile from the castle - the location is about as close to the city center as you can get without the late night noise. Regular buses will take you into the center or a taxi will cost you around £5. If you enjoy walking, you can take a variety of interesting routes which will take around twenty minutes.

Our breakfasts are freshly prepared using only the finest local ingredients.

Hope to see you soon!

Fiona & Tom
Picture of Aonach Mor, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay, lovely B&B
The lady who runs the place is very nice, friendly and cheerful, asked if I needed any information about the city and talked me through the buses to get back to the B&B. The room was excellent, clean and well-presented, and the bed was incredibly comfortable! I didn't want to get up! The shower room was clean and nice, excellent water pressure too. I'd definitely recommend this as a place to stay in Edinburgh, good value and far enough outside of the city centre that it's pretty quiet at night.

Reviewed by
Scarlett d

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice
The accommodations are just what I expected and wanted. Simple, quiet, and elegant.

Reviewed by
Eric K

From USA
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable experience
Having not stayed at a B & B for sometime we were not sure what to expect as our previous experience had not been so successful. We were made to feel most welcome and feel that the Aonach Mor was good value for money.
Cereals and fruit juice selection was good but the main breakfast selections might have been more substantial and the toast was average.

Reviewed by
Tim T

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place for short stay in Edinburgh
Tim the host is quite nice, and handsome! Room is small but cozy! Nice breakfast! There is a nice T night bar just down the street left, you shall try it out.

Reviewed by
XU QIU

From Shanghai, China
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Bed and Breakfast
Stayed for a dancing event, and was a great place. Lovely rooms with very comfortable bed and a good shower (essential for this kind of trip), and easily accessed bus routes to get us places. Breakfast was delicious, and the staff were friendly throughout. Will definitely be recommending this place to friends and family.

Reviewed by
J Simpson

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An absolute pleasure
This was just a last minute night away break and it was one of the most hospitable hotel/guest house experiences I've ever had. The guest house was extremely clean and it may sound trivial to some but the quality of the bed and the shower room was fantastic. We were travelling with our 10 month old son and thankfully got the ground floor room (no.1) which was ideal for the pram. Breakfast was first class. I've already recommended this place to work colleagues and friends. We will be back. Thanks Gavin

Reviewed by
Gavin Lindsay

From Ayr, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly
I booked a single room which was exactly what I got - a room just large enough to accommodate a single bed and a wardrobe too small to accommodate my clothes. On the other hand, cheap, clean, friendly, close to the city centre and grat breakfasts. Would stay agin but in a double room.

Reviewed by
Anne G

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
Really enjoyed the four poster bed - very cosy and a lovely quiet room. Peaceful night's sleep.

Reviewed by
T Parker

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely people, great breakfast, wonderfull bed I will go back with great pleasure.

Reviewed by
J Cope

From Clarbeston Road, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy and friendly guesthouse
The couple who run the guest house couldn't do enough for their guests and the wealth of information Amy has about Edinburgh was fantastic and eagerly imparted. I felt extremely welcome, I really enjoyed the breakfast chat and the food (and array of it on offer!) was well above and beyond what I was expecting. I also loved that you chose your own breakfast time rather than had it dictacted to you.

Reviewed by
Emma G

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next