Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > North East England > Northumberland > Linden Hotels > Macdonald Linden Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Linden Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club

4Visit England Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Longhorsley, Northumberland , Morpeth, NE65 8XF
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club is set in 450 acres of grounds and nestled within the Northumberland National Park. It is an ideal location for all aspects of life.

Boasting a Championship length 18 hole Golf course, Vital Beauty Spa and Leisure complex, all within grounds that are perfect for your wedding, corporate team building or just some "Me" time, Whilst still only being 30 minutes away from "Shopping" in Newcastle City Centre or the Airport.

With the award winning 2 AA rosette Dobson Restaurant or Linden Tree Pub with outdoor courtyard, all are catered for.

Our dedicated Conference & Banqueting suite of rooms can cater for 2 up to 300 delegates or 250 wedding guests. Making it ideal for meetings, seminars, training or away days; whilst being licensed for Civil ceremonies or partnerships allows us to be the perfect venue for all couples wanting to celebrate their commitment to each other.

Why not try a Spa "Pamper day" together, with your partner/friend or have a round of golf, on a course that offers a challenge for the pro, whilst still remaining sympathetic to the average player. We even offer reduced green fees to hotels residents.

Work, rest or play - we guarantee a good nights sleep.

Picture of Macdonald Linden Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, Morpeth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An expensive disappointment!
We paid a little extra to have an executive room hoping to have a little more luxury however the room was very disappointing for what we paid. There was no fruit and chocolate plate as stated, the bathroom was clean but small and the so called kingsize bed was 2 single beds clipped together. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. However we went for drinks in the so called cocktail bar, which was just the bar in the main hotel which was manned by 1 barman who was taking drinks to the restaurant. We waited 20 minutes to be served and the drinks were very expensive. The linden tree pub on site was more reasonably priced, however the staff were very Un-organised and there was a lack of atmosphere. On the plus side the breakfast was delicious but that was definitely the best part of the stay.
A £15 taxi fare to the pub in the local village of approximately 1.5 miles away was astronomical but we wanted atmosphere and a bar man available so it was worth the fare to escape for a few hours.

Reviewed by
M Charlton

From Seaham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our room was rather noisy, and the bathroom door only shut with difficulty.
We found the staff very attentive and helpful.

Reviewed by
Colin R

From Castleford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room and a good breakfast. Fire alarm pre 6am and a late taxi were a little frustrating. Generally. Nice stay though.

Reviewed by
Richard P

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room with a view
Our room was on the second floor but had only a small window set high in a dormer which could only open a very small bit. A fan had been provided for ventilation but because of the high temperatures during our stay it was ridiculously hot and stuffy the whole time we were there. The bathroom was unbearably hot and the cold water tap ran warm.

Reviewed by
p dillon

From Denny, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and. He.lpful staff. Beautiful setting. Clean and comfortable .room

Reviewed by
B Monk

From East Molesey, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our mid-week break
We arrived at the hotel on a very hot and sunny afternoon and were warmly welcomed by the receptionist. Our details were taken and we were directed to our room. We were very pleased with the standard of the accomodation. We had an evening meal with friends in the Linden Pub but were not particularly impressed with the quality of the food. We enjoyed an early morning swim and time in the steam room in the leisure pool. The sauna was not very hot and the jacuzzi was was not producing much of a bubbling effect. However we enjoyed our somewhat energetic start to the day. The breakfast served in the dining room was of excellent quality and very well served by an attentive staff. We enjoyed our stay with you and hope to return later in the year.

Reviewed by
Louise G

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The bedroom was very clean, comfortable and quiet so it was easy to get a good night's sleep. We would have liked a bedside lamp on both sides of the bed and it was a little awkward to have to stand the kettle on the floor to plug it in. The grounds and house itself were lovely. We would have made more use of the facilities available had we been staying longer. The staff could not have been more courteous or helpful. We ate twice in
the Linden Tree pub which offered a fairly good range on the menu and the food was of a good standard. Breakfast was pretty standard fare as hotels go withe usual choices, they could have been a little more generous with the tomatoes and mushrooms and the poached eggs were overcooked. However these are minor quibbles and we were very contented overall.

Reviewed by
S O'Brien

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent .

Reviewed by
michael h

From Stamford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to hideaway

Reviewed by
Neil H

From Newton Aycliffe, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Suite 244
Rooms very good;only comment - bed dipped in middle of matress.
Food good quality;service high standard.
Worth checking on various terms & prices available. Booking with hotel direct would have been cheaper!

Reviewed by
Stephen Bartlett

From Kirk Ella, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next