Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > North East England > Northumberland > Linden Hotels > Macdonald Linden Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Linden Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club

4Visit England Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Longhorsley, Northumberland , Morpeth, NE65 8XF
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club is set in 450 acres of grounds and nestled within the Northumberland National Park. It is an ideal location for all aspects of life.

Boasting a Championship length 18 hole Golf course, Vital Beauty Spa and Leisure complex, all within grounds that are perfect for your wedding, corporate team building or just some "Me" time, Whilst still only being 30 minutes away from "Shopping" in Newcastle City Centre or the Airport.

With the award winning 2 AA rosette Dobson Restaurant or Linden Tree Pub with outdoor courtyard, all are catered for.

Our dedicated Conference & Banqueting suite of rooms can cater for 2 up to 300 delegates or 250 wedding guests. Making it ideal for meetings, seminars, training or away days; whilst being licensed for Civil ceremonies or partnerships allows us to be the perfect venue for all couples wanting to celebrate their commitment to each other.

Why not try a Spa "Pamper day" together, with your partner/friend or have a round of golf, on a course that offers a challenge for the pro, whilst still remaining sympathetic to the average player. We even offer reduced green fees to hotels residents.

Work, rest or play - we guarantee a good nights sleep.

Picture of Macdonald Linden Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, Morpeth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Staff
Absolutely fantastic, friendly and helpful staff. Incredibly impressed with the whole team. Room average 4* hotel, shame because could easily be lovelier, but bathroom needed painting and regrouting.

Reviewed by
C Burns

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My rating of 6 relates to the quality of food in the Dobson Restaurant. We had our initial evening meal
in the Linden Tree Pub. There, while the quality of the food was high, my portion of haddock (I think it was) in my fish and chips was miserly to say the least. My wife had the same problem with her scampi and chips - there was very little in the way of scampi.

Reviewed by
Robert P

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

no single beds !!!!
I booked a twin room to stay with my sister and we got a double bed !!!!!!!!!!!! not very happy we were at a family wedding

Reviewed by
kathleen odonoghue

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

let down
pretty poor experience,overall,with the attitude of the dining room staff .

Reviewed by
L Denniff

From Arundel, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Hotel
Fantactic hotel with great facilities in a beautiful location. Perfect hotel for golfers, spa breaks and romantic getaways.

Reviewed by
Darren Williams

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay
Gardens beautiful ,very peaceful ,staff very friendly, linden tree pub food over priced,as was Dobson .but didn't detract from our stay,would stay again.

Reviewed by
Ron Ellis

From Glenrothes, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel, friendly staff and set in stunning grounds... I can't wait to go back

Reviewed by
helen howarth

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Linden Hall, Northumberland
Our stay was very good and the staff could not have been more helpful. The breakfast was always of good quality, both from the buffet and cooked full English breakfast.
Spa treatments and spa staff were good and helpful.
We ate each evening in the Linden Tree Pub, the meals and service were very good.
However, on the last evening it appeared different staff were on duty in the kitchen. That meal can only be described as disgusting. I had the steak and my wife had the fish and chips. The chips were burnt but were raw inside and the batter on the fish was just as bad. We left early and pointed the problem to a staff member in charge, we were not charged for this meal.
The only other minor point I would mention is that the room dressing gowns and towels, were a bit grey instead of white and were definitely due for a change.

Reviewed by
S Lewis

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had to change our room as there was water coming through the bathroom ceiling. Fortunately there was a free room for us to go to which was just a nice by the spa
Were disappointed in the Linden Tree Pub - they didn't have any steaks and had to make their own tartare sauce! Breakfast was very enjoyable in the main hotel restaurant though.
We would stay there again..

Reviewed by
W SHEARMAN

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay
Hotel was very clean and the food amazing, unfortunately the service was very poor!

Reviewed by
S Foster

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next