No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Olde Moat House

5AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
MOAT HOUSE, , ROMNEY MARSH, TN29 0AZ
This beautiful medieval property dates from 1460, is set in 3 and half acres of grounds and surrounded by its own moat. It boasts a wealth of oak beams, large inglenook and some sloping floors which give a truly authentic armosphere of times gone by. Luxurious en-suite bedrooms decorated to the highest standard with quality furnishings and many thoughful extras. Beautiful bathrooms, quality toiletries, bathrobes, etc add to the cosy atmosphere, and the attention to detail makes our establishment an extra special place to stay. Homemade bread, muesli preserves etc. Ample parking in grounds. Glorious countryside location.Olde Moat House holds the coveted 5 Diamond and Gold Awardgrading from the English Tourism Council. This is the highest grading available and only given to a few bed and breakfast establishments throughout the country. THERE ARE 3 LOVELY OLD INNS LOCALLY FOR EVENING MEALS, ONE WITHIN 1 M ILE OF OLDE MOAT HOUSE, THE OTHERS ARE 3 AND 5 MILES RESPECTIVELY. - OCTOBER - MARCH SPECIAL SUNDAY TO THURSDAY DISCOUNTS
Picture of Olde Moat House, ROMNEY MARSH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended. Beautiful home. Full of history and character. Very welcoming couple. Delicious breakfast. Could not have asked for more. Wish them all the very best in their latest venture.

Reviewed by
linda ruth m

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely couple
I would recommend this B&B. Robert and Diana are a lovely couple and the B&B is indeed 5 starts. Breakfast is great as well.

Reviewed by
Graziele C

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was extremely comfortable and the breakfast was wonderful. Dianna and Robert were lovely hosts and extremely welcoming. The cottage was very cosy and the bone china was that extra special touch.

Reviewed by
rowena griffiths

From Caerphilly, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant period accomodation
Enjoyed our stay in this lovely period property. Owners very welcoming and comfortable well equipped room. Food fresh and well prepared.

Reviewed by
Jane D

From Melton Mowbray, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The best around Rye
Here was a small, locally owned house in the midst of magnificent scenery convenient for Rye, Dunganess and the bird life of the marshes. The warmth of the welcome and the huge depth of local knowledge was so valuable. They even pre -booked dinner at one of the local pubs as we had no idea when we would arrive. This was a place with old fashioned values which provided the perfect place to stay on an all too short visit to an area rich in interest. Did I say that the breakfasts with home made jams, excellent bacon and eggs made a wonderful start to the day.?

Reviewed by
Nick McCarty

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Romney Marsh gem
A truly great place to stay - quiet, beautiful house. Lovely couple who go the extra mile with their fantastic breakfast table, home made preserves and all the extra touches that count.
Thank you Dianna and Robert.

Reviewed by
M Cross

From Evesham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
The owners were extremely pleasant and helpful.
We felt that the Olde Moat House did not live up to the reviews
Dead flowers in a vase in dining room
Mouldy greengage jam (two separate pots)
Very good value for money
Very comfortable bed
Fresh coffee in bedroom.

ManagementResponse

We are very upset that this guest decided to make a point of 2 very minor issues. The homemade green gage jam (fruit from our own trees) did have a slight film over. This occurs as there is no preservative in the jam we make, unlike the shop jam. We provided a fresh pot immediately. The other jam was strawberry with no film over at all. There were fresh roses on the table, as always, in the silver jug. The flowers were jaded on the side table but not totally dead. I did remove them that morning anyway. The rest of the review does not reflect any negative comments. It saddens me that bed and breakfast owners, who work extremely hard, on the discounted prices these days are subject to such unfair and damaging comments. Basically, now everything is a discount culture establishments are not compared like with like anymore, on a star AA rating, and we offer basic lower grade prices as we are forced to.

Reviewed by
Jane S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a fantastic place to stay
splendid very old (1460) and caracteristic house completely in style; kind couple that welcomed us

Reviewed by
steven p

From Zevenaar, Netherlands
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant stay in picturesque house
comfortable, real coffee and cafetiere in room appreciated

Reviewed by
E LYONS

From Chichester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful short break
We very much enjoyed our stay at the Old Moat House, set in the beautiful Romney Marsh. The room was comfortable, clean and bright and the breakfasts first class - taken in a beautiful dining room. Our hosts were very charming and helpful with much local knowledge. Our only slight problem was that the central heating did not come on when the weather turned cold although we did have a plug in heater in our room which did keep us warm. We would definitely return to the Old Moat House.

Reviewed by
S Shoesmith

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next