Reviews - Campanile Hotel, Wakefield near Sheffield & Leeds

Monckton Road, Wakefield, WF2 7AL

Price From 78.92 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (33)

55% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Jayne W

  • November 2014


Extremely good value for money

  • colin mugford

  • November 2014

Campanile hotel wakefield

Would not stop there again.

the kennel I left my dog at was better. sink cracked, mirror broke. needs decorating and the block was very run down and tired even the sign had about 6 of the letters not illuminated. very poor. glad to leave, does not give you a good feeling.

  • Peter Hemsley

  • October 2014

Friendly staff, compact but adequate accommodation, clean and tidy, bed a little tired! Would repeat

  • zoe g

  • September 2014

did it's job

The staff were all excellent and friendly.

The room fulfilled it's need and the bed was clean. There were big srains on the carpet and could have done with extra towels

  • S Weston

  • August 2014


The heater in the room did not work correctly, which was not much of an issue considering that was a mild night during my stay, the shower was meant to be disabled accessible, but I failed to see how a disabled person would be able to get themselves in and out of the sit down shower.

Once in the shower, my tall frame was to tall to get fully under the shower head. On the plus side the members of staff were more then helpful and was happy to provide me with more coffee and milk for my visit. The food was to a average quality, i asked for a steak that was cooked medium rare, but it came out more medium well......the free wifi was capable of meeting the demands of my iphone and laptop and is free during your visit. In conclusion, if you are looking for a hotel on a budget, with staff with a smile then I would recommend this hotel.

  • jennifer p

  • August 2014

Staff were lovely.

Bed was so uncomfy, you could feel the springs. Only 1 light bulb worked. Bathroom was clean.

  • Carol H

  • June 2014

Overnight stay

Room large and airy, basic but comfortable with Tea/Coffee making facilities.

Ok place to stay for overnight stop en route to other destination.

  • Martin H

  • June 2014

Good but room for improvement

Very reasonaly priced, clean and functional.

It looked a little tired andpast its best from the outside could do with a good refresh. But well located and staff very friendley and accomadating. A pleasant stay for a couple of nights

  • Trish McGlynn

  • April 2014

Value for Money

Our trip was planned at the last minute and the hotel that we would normally stay at was fully booked.

All the other options we looked at were extortionately expensive for a midweek stay. We booked this hotel for £33 per night. We were somewhat concerned when we read other reviews but as we knew we were only going to be in the room to shower, sleep and get changed we thought we'd give it a go. It is quite old fashioned on the outside and the rooms are basic. ~ A double bed, desk with tv on it, wardrobe, hairdryer and bathroom with bath/shower and toilet. The bed was comfortable and the shower was amazing. A minor gripe - why supply towels that are tiny.... a normal size bath sheet would be great for those of us that are a little larger that a size 8.

We didnt eat in the restaurant but did pop into reception to ask for extra pillows (not a problem and they arrived in 5 minutes); This hotel is based in the middle of an industrial estate on a busy dual carriageway but is so well insulated we didnt hear a thing. Across the road is a Toby Carvery (who do full breakfasts for £4 per person and its all you can eat - which is more reasonable than the restaurants £8 plus) as well as a Wetherby Whaler so other food options are within easy access.

  • simon b

  • March 2014

not bad hotel bit noisey and beds not too comfy but apart from that ok