Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Yorkshire & The Dales > West Yorkshire > Wakefield Hotels > Campanile Hotel, Wakefield near Sheffield & Leeds
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Campanile Hotel, Wakefield near Sheffield & Leeds

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
Monckton Road , Wakefield, WF2 7AL
We make you feel at home, and thats the difference! Whether you want to sleep or work, all our rooms are fully equipped to provide you with all what you need tea & coffee making facilities, TV with satellite, bathroom with bath and shower, work surface with telephone, modem connection and all bedrooms and public areas have the added advantage of having WIFI, charges apply.

Why not try our Market fresh Breakfast, ranging from freshly baked Pastries to a traditional Full English Breakfast cooked to order, at fantastic prices, Continental Breakfast for £6.00 and add a cooked Breakfast for just £2.75.

Our meeting room can be used for a number of occasions please contact the hotel for more details.
Picture of Campanile Hotel, Wakefield near Sheffield & Leeds, Wakefield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

General Comments.
Although customer service, cleanliness etc was very good the food range and quality could be improved. Fish for instance was like a piece of cardboard and no starters on offer.At breakfast, although plenty of food on offer the cold drink machine only gave you only slightly coloured water (in the two days Manager was unable to fix) and the toasters were fit for a museum, again Manager accepted toasters did not work as they should.

Reviewed by
David Turner

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little tired
I've stayd at many Campanile hotels over the years and get the feeling that they need a makeover. The furnishings look as though they haven't changed much since the place was built and with only one electrical socket working from the hotel room can be difficult if you need more than one appliance (eg laptop and your 'phone needs charging). Food was OK, but not as good as a few years ago when they provided a buffet choice (like the French hotels still do). But, very good value for an overnighter and breakfast was plenty filling.

Reviewed by
Ewan M

From Salford, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay great value
Only problem was one plug socket in each room is not sufficient (the one the tv plugged into) with two people there will be a minimum of two phone chargers not to mention cosmetic appliances

Reviewed by
a farr

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wakefield but rather too basic
This hotel is situated on an industrial estate. The outward appearance is poor and tatty. The green 'carpet' that covers the landing areas of the first and second floor is well worn and highly dangerous. The signs warn it may be sloppy but is in an absolute danger. I found myself sliding about on it when dressed up to go out.
The building looks and feels like a 1970s Pontins Chalet with the room being small and clean but nothing special but we did only pay £39 a night! So I guess we got what we payed for. Inside the room had a large bed with fresh covers but the room had poor lighting and was initially greeting cold as the room doors were left wide open.
Reception closed early but the young man was friendly but disinterested.
We didn't try the good or even breakfast as the general feel was so poor.
It's a cheep bed for a night but we won't be going back :(

Reviewed by
L Clarke

From , England
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic and Warm
Basic accommodation as you should expect of a motel, clean and warm , that's all it needs to be .
Service and Food was above expectations however.

Reviewed by
I Cooper

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap and cheerful
Room was suitable for a one-night stay

Reviewed by
Pam S

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Campanile Wakefield
Excellent hotel good location would stay there again

Reviewed by
R Webb

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average stay
You get what you pay for I suppose. My room was an unusually set up from most hotels but was clean though the decor needed being dragged from the 80s to modern day. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Leave the cooked breakfasts though as it was bearly edible, sausages made of sawdust and mushrooms looking like they had been grown on the plate rather than cooked for you, eat elsewhere is my opinion. Solid 3/5 stay.

Reviewed by
H M

From , England
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfy and cheap but rooms run down
Our room had a cracked sink which didn't drain well. We had one cup and one dirty mug when we arrived. Very plesent reception staff but on bank holiday monday the receptionist was also the chef! He did a very nice bangers and mash but no where on the menu was there anything green, perhaps as no-one really uses the dining area. Bed comfy but noisy air extraction throughout the night, worse when lying down. Fine if you are a heavy sleeper! No bitter available in the bar.

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From Cromer, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

August 13
Room basic and clean, only one plug socket so if you needed anything plugged in you had to unplug the TV.
Free Wi-Fi with good connection, always a bonus.

Reviewed by
Malcolm T

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next