No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Suncliff Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
29 East Overcliff Drive , Bournemouth, BH1 3AG
Located on the sea front overlooking Bournemouth Bay The Suncliff is situated on the prestigious East Cliff of Bournemouth, within easy walking distance of Bournemouth’s stunning blue flag beaches, award winning gardens and vibrant town center.

It is one of Bournemouth's premier 3 star hotels, offering 103 bedrooms and 4 luxurious penthouses. Many rooms have fabulous ocean views and balconies, all have en suite bathroom, LCD television, internet access, hair dryer and hot drinks refreshment tray.

Located within the Oceana Resort is the Oceana Day Spa at Cliffeside, an Asian inspired Treatment and Beauty Spa open daily that offers wellbeing and luxury. Also located on site at Suncliff is Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, Mini Gym and Squash Courts. Outdoor Pools are also located within resorts along with 4 Restaurants and 4 Bars and a Costa Coffee Shop

The Suncliff's two associate hotels directly next door. The Cumberland offers one of Bournemouth largest outdoor pools (heated during summer months) as well as Lido Deck with loungers and ‘Chill beds’ whilst the Cliffeside offers a smaller more intimate outdoor pool.

Oceana Hotels reserve the right to pre-authorise credit cards prior to arrival. In addition, please note that different terms and conditions apply for group reservations, it is recommended to contact the hotel direct for further information before booking.
Picture of The Suncliff Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 126 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely staff
The hotel is very dated and a little run down in some areas (pool area and bathrooms). However, it is clean and pleasant and we were very happy with the price we paid via LateRooms.com. What we were both very impressed with at this hotel was the staff - they were all very lovely.

Reviewed by
Tracy C

From Paulton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice view and room
We were only in the room overnight - late arrival, early departure - but found the hotel easily, parked as instructed on the quiet road outside, and enjoyed the last of the evening twilight over the sea. The staff were polite and helpful, the hotel wasn't noisy despite being busy with many guests enjoying post school holiday time away, and the room was clean and tidy. We didn't eat at the hotel, so cannot comment on that aspect.

Reviewed by
David B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A short break back to where we lived 50 years ago
We took my mother back for a short break for her 94th birthday.
The hotel was excellent - rooms more than adequate, food excellent and the staff were really superb. I cannot thank you enough - and my mother was 'tickled pink' with the way you looked after her in the restaurant on her birthday - many many thanks. Bournemouth has 'worn well' and the weather was wonderful, we all even went for an Autumn paddle in the sea.

Reviewed by
Martin Minett

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Its an old hotel. It has creaky floorboards and thin walls. Noise will be a problem if there are inconsiderate guests around. But this is the same in a modern hotel anywhere in the world. The breakfast is a buffet style and was very good. I didnt ask if I could have any other eggs (fried/scrambled are on offer)

Reviewed by
G Hill

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location. Young receptionist who checked us in and out was very pleasant. Room on the small side and decor and furniture a bit dated. Bed very comfy. Tiles in bathroom needing a good scrub in the grouting. Would have liked list of opening times for pool, breakfast etc in room. Pool pleasant but sauna not warm enough. Bigger towels would be good. Breakfast fairly good with friendly reception. Sausage a bit underdone for my liking and all food needed to be slightly warmer. Advertise the fact it is a buffet, I much prefer this. Overall a nice hotel but needs a bit of refurbishment here and there.

Reviewed by
gail j

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food and Room Facilities
1. Breakfast delivered to room was cold
2. Television not available, very important to me for company
3. Decor very tired
4. Other than 3 negative points, was very good and staff were lovely

Reviewed by
L Hacker

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We would not hesitate in returning to this hotel
Hotel is in a good position on the cliff top, a 10 - 15 minutes leisurely stroll into town but there is also an hourly bus service except on Sundays.. During our week's stay we were able to find parking space each day. Reception staff very welcoming. We occupied room "Eugenie" which was on the top floor, lovely and quiet and side sea views from both the bedroom and bathroom. Not overlooked. Bedroom also had another window with views out over the treetops across town. The room was very nicely decorated in a contemporary/deco style, a decent size and had plenty of drawer and hanging space for a week's stay. The bathroom was also very stylish and a constant supply of hot water. good shower. Daily housekeeping was to a high standard, thanks to our excellent Portuguese lady (sorry didn't get her name).
Meals -Breakfast offered an excellent choice. Although we had only booked on a bed & breakfast basis, we soon discovered that the hotel offered an excellent dinner menu at a very reasonable price to residents. The restaurant manager, Jose, ensured a very efficient service and kept us entertained with his assurances that he personally provided everything including growing all his own vegetables, milking his own cows and collecting the eggs from his own farm and took it in good spirit when we assured him we had personally printed our own money with which to pay him!! Such a good sense of humour is so rare these days.
There was entertainment on three evenings during our stay and this was enjoyable. We would not hesitate to return here again.

Reviewed by
Anthony B

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Reception and restaurant staff extremely helpful. Booked rooms through LateRooms and were given sea view rooms which were good size doubles. Bit cold for outdoor pool at sister hotel but used indoor pool which was nice and warm.

Reviewed by
Gwen B

From Wales
Who stayed in September 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Suncliffe

Reviewed by
Adam Hardy

From Wimborne, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, excellent staff. Seems to appeal most to older generation.
There were family's. Overall very good and you could use facilities at two sister hotrls either side.
Payment was taken day after arrival.

Reviewed by
P Brown

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next