No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Suncliff Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
29 East Overcliff Drive , Bournemouth, BH1 3AG
Located on the sea front overlooking Bournemouth Bay The Suncliff is situated on the prestigious East Cliff of Bournemouth, within easy walking distance of Bournemouth’s stunning blue flag beaches, award winning gardens and vibrant town center.

It is one of Bournemouth's premier 3 star hotels, offering 103 bedrooms and 4 luxurious penthouses. Many rooms have fabulous ocean views and balconies, all have en suite bathroom, LCD television, internet access, hair dryer and hot drinks refreshment tray.

Located within the Oceana Resort is the Oceana Day Spa at Cliffeside, an Asian inspired Treatment and Beauty Spa open daily that offers wellbeing and luxury. Also located on site at Suncliff is Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, Mini Gym and Squash Courts. Outdoor Pools are also located within resorts along with 4 Restaurants and 4 Bars and a Costa Coffee Shop

The Suncliff's two associate hotels directly next door. The Cumberland offers one of Bournemouth largest outdoor pools (heated during summer months) as well as Lido Deck with loungers and ‘Chill beds’ whilst the Cliffeside offers a smaller more intimate outdoor pool.

Oceana Hotels reserve the right to pre-authorise credit cards prior to arrival. In addition, please note that different terms and conditions apply for group reservations, it is recommended to contact the hotel direct for further information before booking.
Picture of The Suncliff Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 120 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It felt more like a BnB than a hotel
Compared to sebveral other hotels in Bournemouth that I have stayed, this was the least comfortable. Staff are nice and respectful however the facilities felt more like a bed and Breakfast than a hotel. I was pretty disappointed!
I'll suggest you re-brand yourselves to a BnB or a hostel rather than call it a hotel.. just a thought

Reviewed by
craig a

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Located in a good position on sea front and close to town centre.
Single room was small but adequate, cleaned daily.
Good breakfast.
Staff I encountered were friendly, however, had to wait for long periods when trying to get drinks from the bar.

Reviewed by
L Hope

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value stay
This is my 2nd visit to the Suncliff Hotel. Better than the first actually. I had a single room. It was inevitably small but it was newly decorated, clean and I had everything I needed. I was very comfortable. I had a snack in the bar and again this was all fine. Breakfast was traditional - but very good, plenty to eat if you wanted it. Reception staff very polite and attentive. My stay was Incredible value at £17.85p!!! A record I think! I would certainly recommend and stay again.

Reviewed by
Rosie A

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
We booked this very last minute and we were amazed at the bargain price we got for this fabulous accommodation. Pity about the weather!

Reviewed by
Karen Smith

From Spain
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

had a lovely time
the room was clean had everything we need the staff were friendly no complaints

Reviewed by
J Hillier

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable Stay.Bit of waiting around,Upgraded room much better, Breakfast EXCELLENT!!
Waited in the lounge a bit too long for the room to be ready. But I guess thats good for the bar?
Had to prompt reception. Was very disappointed with the room we were given, under the stairs and opposite a residents lounge with an awful view. Luckily there was water leaking onto the bathroom floor which we could have used towels to mop, but given the water was a funny colour, we reported
it to reception. If we had paid the normal advertised price for this room, we would have walked out.
The staff dealt with the leak very swiftly and we were duly upgraded to a far superior room with a lovely view and excellent facilities and decor. Breakfast was very well organised, a superb range,perfectly cooked with very helpful and attentive staff. Apart from other peoples children causing a nusiance knocking on doors at silly oclock and running riot in the corridors it was a very pleasant stay. We would definately return but not to the room under the stairs!!! Well Done.

Reviewed by
Tracy E

From New Milton, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value,polite staff,good breakfast and a swimming pool!

Reviewed by
R Stokes

From Lichfield, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good

Reviewed by
g yovanov

From Harrow, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Single room accommodation
Well, I know I asked for a single room, but my word, I think it was the smallest single room I have ever seen! I did have a sea view though!
If you get claustrophobic, avoid room 306!
Apart from the this, I had no other complaints

Reviewed by
S Holt

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

December 2013
Very enjoyable I've night at this hotel. Given room size could have stayed comfortable as a couple for even a week. Food was good, fresh and hot. Restaurant manager seemed stressed, but our waitress remained very professional and just got on with her job while he faffed around. Would stay again as beds/ bathroom were very clean and place was gorgeously warm. If had to pick one fault (and this is because I'm a perfectionist... The quilts were half tucked in. Looked half done/ scruffy. . Should been all tucked in neatly or left hanging out. Other than than it's a lovely friendly clean hotel

Reviewed by
Lisa H

From Wimborne, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next