No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Suncliff Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
29 East Overcliff Drive , Bournemouth, BH1 3AG
Located on the sea front overlooking Bournemouth Bay The Suncliff is situated on the prestigious East Cliff of Bournemouth, within easy walking distance of Bournemouth’s stunning blue flag beaches, award winning gardens and vibrant town center.

It is one of Bournemouth's premier 3 star hotels, offering 103 bedrooms and 4 luxurious penthouses. Many rooms have fabulous ocean views and balconies, all have en suite bathroom, LCD television, internet access, hair dryer and hot drinks refreshment tray.

Located within the Oceana Resort is the Oceana Day Spa at Cliffeside, an Asian inspired Treatment and Beauty Spa open daily that offers wellbeing and luxury. Also located on site at Suncliff is Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, Mini Gym and Squash Courts. Outdoor Pools are also located within resorts along with 4 Restaurants and 4 Bars and a Costa Coffee Shop

The Suncliff's two associate hotels directly next door. The Cumberland offers one of Bournemouth largest outdoor pools (heated during summer months) as well as Lido Deck with loungers and ‘Chill beds’ whilst the Cliffeside offers a smaller more intimate outdoor pool.

Oceana Hotels reserve the right to pre-authorise credit cards prior to arrival. In addition, please note that different terms and conditions apply for group reservations, it is recommended to contact the hotel direct for further information before booking.
Picture of The Suncliff Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 126 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful staff
we stayed at this hotel on a late booking. I was unable to make my original date but the staff changed it to the day before without any problems. On arrival, the heater in the room would not turn off and was far too hot. The reception staff were extremely helpful, offering several rooms as a replacement of differing sizes and locations for nom extra. Room finally found 104, very spacious. One extra bed moved into the room by staff. Music in the bar could be heard but TV just managed to drown most of this out. Unfortunately didn't get to use the facilities during our stay. Breakfast was plentiful and good assortment of food. Staff apologised in the morning for inconvenience caused too. All very helpful.

Reviewed by
chris k

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired dated but clean
Be prepared to have a sense of humour it's a bit faulty towers but we have stayed twice and for the money you can't quibble
This time £80 for two nights with breakfast
The room was tiny and cramped but spotless
If I'd paid £100+ I'd have complained so I rate it a 8/10 for £40 a night
And 2/10 for £100

Reviewed by
Mark T

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

basic room not much bigger than bed and no view. old tired bathroom. Bed awful. Didn't stay
Supposed to have had late room deal. Told room was originally £150!!! offered room for £48 so thought we had a good deal - no way was that room ever £150!! It is a £40 a night room. so if you pay that then expect it and no more. Receptionist was sullen and looked fed up. Decided we didn't want to waste our time also bed was so bouncy we would have had to have slept on the floor as both have bad backs!

Reviewed by
Lynda P

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor quality hotel
shabby room

Reviewed by
L king

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good
Book hotel last minute. Only stayed for one nght wish it could have been longer. Could not fault hotel or staff who were excellent. Would stay there again.

Reviewed by
D Kelly

From Honiton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Communal areas, bar, restaurant, lovely, room terrible.
I have never previously reviewed a stay in a hotel as I am quite easily pleased, but I had to break my rule for this sub standard stay at the Suncliffe. I stayed for four nights partly for business then extended for leisure with my partner. I have stayed in other similar priced hotels in the area and I have to say I was very disappointed with my stay at the Suncliffe. The communal areas such as the lounge, bar and reception were pleasant. The food was good and the waiting on staff in the eateries were very attentive and helpful. However, the main issue with my stay was the room. The website clearly states that all rooms are up to 3 star standard and have free wi-fi. This is bordering on misrepresentation , the bathroom in particular was of one star standard, it was dark, dingy, mildew evident and very very small (the toilet was squeezed between the shower and sink). The room in the main was tired and dated, and certainly not of 3 star quality. It had a small flat screen tv with freeview but nearly every channel had transmission/signal issues. The wi-fi was a similar story, this was run by EE and I had to provide several personal details such as mobile number and email address to gain access and then the signal was APPALLING. It was simply impossible to do ANY work whatsoever as it constantly dropped out, the most internet I enjoyed was a glorious 3 minutes where it did not drop out on me. When I went down to reception to address this issue i was told they would attempt to reboot the wi-fi but unsurprisingly this did not alter the situation whatsoever. The other main issue with my stay was the parking. I was fortunate enough upon arrival to secure a parking space in the hotel's limited parking facilities but was shocked to receive a phone call on the third morning of my stay from reception asking me to move my car to allow a coach to park! (despite the hotel's limited parking they appear to have guaranteed parking for 3 huge coaches!). This was clearly a financial consideration by the hotel with no thought to customer service. The hotel also appeared to be a favourite for stag and hen parties, which admittedly the management can do little about. For food, atmosphere and location I would recommend the hotel for people looking for a drink/meal with a view but stay elsewhere!!!! there are much better quality hotels in the are for the same price point.

Reviewed by
Chris Smith

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Suncliffe Hotel was spacious but very dated it really needs updating. I know it caters for the older generations but the heat in the hotel was too much to the point of being uncomfortable.

Reviewed by
J Gurr

From Battle, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best overnight stay ever
Superb hotel with great service and the room had a fantastic view of Bournemouth beach. Food was excellent and we would definately return again.

Reviewed by
R Johnson

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent!!

Reviewed by
Susan M

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent hotel the staff were fantastic, the breakfast was great value as was the price I paid for the room. The only problem is the furniture in the room is a bit dated but it was clean.

Reviewed by
jason hutchings

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next