Reviews - The Suncliff Hotel


29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth, BH1 3AG

Price From 84.01 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (73)

73% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Pam D

  • July 2014

Family break

I had booked four family rooms which caused a lot of problems on arrival.

It was eventually sorted our and complementary meals given as an apology. It wasn't until the next morning when we booked out that I realised my daughter had been given a double room even though I had paid for a family one. One daughter had ordered a cot and on checkout I noticed three of the rooms had been charged for a cot. There was a lovely lady on reception who said she would get the manager to email me regarding the over charging, that was 3 days ago and still waiting. Rooms very dated and bathroom grubby, I decided I couldn't use the bath: my family all felt the same. The saving grace was the lovely staff.

  • G Mezzone

  • July 2014

Suncliff Hotel

My experience booking with the Suncliff was a painful one.

Being a mixed group I was informed that no group 'bond' was needed. It was all stated on their website it was only for single sex groups. This was clearly in place to put Stag and Hen groups off from booking. I was phoned 4 times by the hotel to confirm it was a mixed group so I would have an issue. Then 2 days before my stay I was contacted by the hotel and told I would have to have the 'bond' of £100 per person my group was 11 people, so that gave me 2 days to find £1100. I spoke to the reservation manager who was very unhelpful about this and his attitude was basically 'oh well, you need the bond' when question he said he had just changed the website, only 3 months after I had already booked. Not impressed at all!. One of the rooms was facing the sea and was a great room. Only issue was it was advertised as a family room of 2 singles and a double bed. In fact it was 1 single and a double with a forth bed just wheeled into the room. The second room was facing the other side, and was so hot it was unbareable. No fan or air conditioning in the room, was facing a built up part of hotel so no wind to come into room either.

  • D Goodfellow

  • July 2014

Great Hotel

Really liked the large double en-suite room.

It was lovely and clean and the bed was really comfortable. There is ample parking onsite, and as the sister hotel is next door, there are a wide range of facilities on offer. The pool was warm and clean. We ate at the restaurant one evening and the staff were brilliant. Their attention to detail was great whilst not being intrusive. The breakfast was also good every morning with plenty of options and fresh tea and coffee delivered to your table.

  • M Power

  • June 2014


Bedroom tiny , clean room ,

  • Michael M

  • June 2014

One night in th Suncliff

Spent one comfortable night in the Suncliff.

Good value and a great location on the East cliff.

  • S PASS

  • June 2014

stay june 2014

excellent stay with friendly staff;room to what you would exspect and excellent full english breakfast.

  • Karen S

  • May 2014

Value for money

Nice hotel, slightly dated but worth what we paid

  • Catherine Mcguigan

  • May 2014

Great value for what I paid

I got two single rooms on the early may bank holiday weekend for £29 each b&b Superb location for the sea front free parking on site get there early though but you can park at their sister hotels next door rooms are basic but for the price I done very well and got more for my money than more expensive hotels I've stayed at there was even entertainment in the evening

  • Kimberley Reid

  • May 2014

I only stayed one night but that one night was lovely.

The staff were great and the toom was lovely.

  • M Whitfield

  • April 2014

Very outdated

Staff very helpful and friendly.

Room far too hot and in desperate need of updating.