You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Suncliff Hotel

3

29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth, BH1 3AG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (40)

65% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • S O'Donnell

  • October 2014

Basic

I cannot fault the staff.

Very friendly and efficient. However this was let down by the quality of the room. I had booked this as a surprise for my partner as it was his birthday. The room was extremely basic. Mattress...hardly a mattress, felt like we slept on springs. The shower....barley any water came out. Ive never experienced such a poor shower!. The noise from our room was dreadful. We heard everyone going to their rooms, bashing their suitcases against our room wall, may as well had a bed in the corridor, it would have made no difference to the noise. The room was clean, couldn't have faulted that. Iv heard great reviews for this hotel, I was just disappointed to have been given a rubbish room.

The breakfast was lovely, the staff were very friendly. 5**** staff!!!

  • Chris H

  • October 2014

Cliff top location with short walk into centre of town.

I've stayed in both this hotel and it's sister next door The Cumberland.

They share facilities which are available to guests including Outdoor pool, indoor pool and gym and cool bar. It's not got the Art Deco style of its neighbour but generally is cheaper. However breakfast is fine, with buffet choices and staff throughout are most helpful and professional. It's got a great location for the summer Air festival(book early) and for the running weekend which I was involved in . A short walk downhill to Pier and centre of Bournemouth.

Will return as I love the location, summer and winter

  • L T

  • October 2014

Good Experience

The hotel need refurbishing and has an old feel !

  • A Bentley

  • September 2014

Lovely staff, shame about the accommodation. .......

The staff were lovely at the Suncliffe but the room felt like the chewp seats and was only worth what we paid through Late Rooms.

It was adequate for what we wanted and had had a partial refit with the decor but the furniture and doors let it down. There were hairs on the bathroom floor and the door was dirty and covered in marks and no extractor fan. The icing on the cake was the wedding reception that started in the evening at the sister hotel under our bedroom window and went on till 1.30/2.00am giving us about 4/5 hiurs sleep and a very tired 11 year old. We would be cautious about returning again unless a better room was given , certainly wouldn't pay the £300 quoted value. The restaurant was very well served with lovely food and staff and again nothing too much trouble. What a pity for the noise as this has pulled my rating down to less than I would have done. I've marked that I wouldn't return but would ideally have liked a not sure box to tick as the service far outweighs the accommodation.

  • B Davies

  • September 2014

very comfortable stay

  • Paul W

  • September 2014

Value-for-money, well situated friendly hotel.

3-star AA rated hotel.

Popular with coach tours (there were six coaches across the 3 hotels (the Cumberland and Overcliff hotels either side are part of the same chain) when I stayed. Couldn't fault the room, food or facilities. Stayed in one of the "Club" rooms which was huge, finished to a good standard and had a sea view and balcony. Room cost same as a standard room in the East Cliff Court hotel just along the road. Breakfast was buffet style so you could have as much as you wanted. Heated pool was warm and perfectly adequate. Staff very pleasant. Wouldn't hesitate going back. Car parking wasn't a problem even though the six coaches took up some of the spaces.

  • G Safarian

  • September 2014

A quiet nice hotel for a reasonable price.

  • Alison S

  • September 2014

Did what we needed it to do

The Suncliffe was exactly what we were expecting...

it's a typical, traditional English seafront hotel. No frills but did what we needed it to do. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and the location is great. The big plus for us - and the reason we chose this hotel - was the indoor pool, which we all enjoyed. It was lovely and warm and we often had the pool to ourselves, which was a bonus. The shower in the room was great - hot and powerful enough, the room was clean and we were able to make coffee/tea in the room. The full English breakfast was buffet-style and generous, so we ate well and didn't need lunch. We stayed in a standard family room with a double and a single bed. My nine-year-old slept very well in his single. We even had a sea view, which we did not expect, if we looked through one side of our window. There were only a few minuses, the main one being that our double bed was box sprung and not at all comfortable. The other gripes are very minor - the pool table didn't work properly (the white ball was missing, there was no chalk and not enough space around the table), the sauna wasn't hot enough and the table tennis table (which we had great fun using) needed some decent bats and balls but that could be easily remedied by taking your own. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay and found the hotel good value for money.

  • Lorraine F

  • August 2014

One night last minute stay

First thing I noticed as we arrived was the relaxed atmosphere in the hotel and the clean fresh smells as we walked to our room.

Room was fairly basic, though had everything we needed including plenty of tea & coffee, room had nicely updated wallpaper though bedding & curtains didn't match but not essential for a comfortable pleasant stay. Breakfast great every taste catered for. Great value for money. Would def go back.

  • sandra p

  • August 2014

dissappointed

1st given wrong room, then a double with a view to back of kitchen, mess, then woken at 6.30 by staff out side( bed uncomfortable)