Reviews - The Suncliff Hotel


29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth, BH1 3AG

Price From 92.05 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (73)

73% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • G Safarian

  • September 2014

A quiet nice hotel for a reasonable price.

  • Alison S

  • September 2014

Did what we needed it to do

The Suncliffe was exactly what we were expecting...

it's a typical, traditional English seafront hotel. No frills but did what we needed it to do. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and the location is great. The big plus for us - and the reason we chose this hotel - was the indoor pool, which we all enjoyed. It was lovely and warm and we often had the pool to ourselves, which was a bonus. The shower in the room was great - hot and powerful enough, the room was clean and we were able to make coffee/tea in the room. The full English breakfast was buffet-style and generous, so we ate well and didn't need lunch. We stayed in a standard family room with a double and a single bed. My nine-year-old slept very well in his single. We even had a sea view, which we did not expect, if we looked through one side of our window. There were only a few minuses, the main one being that our double bed was box sprung and not at all comfortable. The other gripes are very minor - the pool table didn't work properly (the white ball was missing, there was no chalk and not enough space around the table), the sauna wasn't hot enough and the table tennis table (which we had great fun using) needed some decent bats and balls but that could be easily remedied by taking your own. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay and found the hotel good value for money.

  • Lorraine F

  • August 2014

One night last minute stay

First thing I noticed as we arrived was the relaxed atmosphere in the hotel and the clean fresh smells as we walked to our room.

Room was fairly basic, though had everything we needed including plenty of tea & coffee, room had nicely updated wallpaper though bedding & curtains didn't match but not essential for a comfortable pleasant stay. Breakfast great every taste catered for. Great value for money. Would def go back.

  • sandra p

  • August 2014


1st given wrong room, then a double with a view to back of kitchen, mess, then woken at 6.30 by staff out side( bed uncomfortable)

  • j stubbs

  • August 2014

Short break

Hotel was situated in an ideal location , ideal for the fireworks off Bournemouth pier when it rains .

  • a heggie

  • August 2014

suncliff bournemouth

Public facilities on ground floor acceptable Bedrooms on 2nd floor where we were in dire need of upgrading.

  • K Rowley

  • August 2014

Hotel very good.

Staff all very efficient and friendly. Room very clean but quite small. Facilities good and was good that you could use the other two hotels either side.

  • abdul b

  • August 2014

Well looked aftrered, very good service

  • gary hammond

  • July 2014

Suncliff review

Good location over looking the sea from the cliff top.

Access to gym, swimming pool and sister hotels nearby. Limited parking but ample parking on adjacent road thats not too expensive. Apart from the grumpy bar staff everyone was a pleasure to deal with. The food was very good with excellent table service. The room was clean, spacious but tired looking and the bathroom lacked any ventilation. However the room was very quiet and made for a good nights sleep. Overall a pleasant stay and I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • ROY G

  • July 2014

relaxing break

We enjoyed our stay the food was first class and the hotel was lovely and clean The Hotel does seem a bit dated and needs a lot of refurbshment but i suppose they can only do so much each year The staff are very helpfull and polite We found on our stay that the hotel seem to cater for the weekly coach partys i think there were 3 coach trips in all but to us they were mainly people of the older clients who enjoy these trips We found the bar prices to be very expensive a pint of beer and medium glass of wine cost over £10 and many people did comment on this was this to pay for the entertainment .

otherwise and that we would certainly go again ,