You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Suncliff Hotel

3

29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth, BH1 3AG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (24)

58% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • E GEORGE

  • May 2015

Booked two nights stay - left after one night.

I was charged £75 for a single room on Saturday night and £40 for Sunday night.

In my opinion, judging by the state and size of the room, I was massively over charged for the Saturday night. I expected something better after reading reviews on trip advisor. The room was tiny and so narrow that I could sit on the bed and put my hand out and touch the facing wall. The wardrobe was squeezed in between the bed and the wall. Once I'd brought in my over night bag, there was barely any room to stand by the bed. The sheets looked clean but there was a dirty, dusty red cushion on the bed. This just needs to go in the bin. The wardrobe was broken and had no door. Maybe because there would be no room to open it. The windows and window sills were filthy. The window blind was broken and covered in dust and dirt. The kettle was so stained inside I was put off using it. The shower was grim. The tv volume went from inaudible to very loud and the walls are so thin. I could hear the conversation in the next room, hence turned the tv on. The basin was so small water splashed everywhere when you turned the taps on and there wasn't a bath mat. There was no toilet paper in the room. The bed was uncomfortable and the pillows flat. It felt like being in a prison cell. There was a lingering musty smell in the room and corridors. The whole place felt dirty and grimy. Overall the most depressing room I have ever have the misfortune to stay in. I just couldn't face staying there for second night. The location is good on the sea front and staff are very friendly but standards needs to be greatly improved to charge these kind of rates.

  • D Plaisted

  • May 2015

my stay

Considering this hotel is old the stay was not too bad.

By the time I got to bed it was gone 23.00hrs so too late to complain about anything I felt. However the double bed was uncomfortable. It felt as if you were going to roll off the bed. I did complain in the morning and was told thank you for letting us know we will make sure the bed is comfortable for the next guest. I usually stay in Premier Inn hotels where you are guaranteed a good night. The food from the lounge was very nice and all staff were very friendly. I prefer the hotel next door Cumberland

  • S Simmons

  • May 2015

Poor accommodation, room was not suitable for a family with a small child.

service was poor they did not seem like they cared or wanted to help. paid to much money for this hotel, toilet was leaking, window was blowing a draft In making it very cold in the room for my daughter and me and my husband. Would not recommended this hotel.

  • Nicky N

  • April 2015

Disappointing overall

I appreciate this is a hotel priced at the lower end of the range, but I was disappointed with our stay.

The crockery in the room (cups and spoons) as well as some in the dining room for breakfast was dirty. The décor was very old and quite shabby, and could definitely do with updating. The shower in our room only worked intermittently (not at all on the first day) and was then only a dribble - insufficient to actually wash yourself. The bedding was spotless but the towels were hard and had some stains on them. The beds were hard (not a problem) but I actually got a bruise on my hip from a spring. Most of the time the lift was not available for use. The "leisure suite" was dirty, badly equipped and the pool had faecal matter in it (which was not the hotel's fault) but their response to it being cleaned was that "yes it's been dealt with" which implied to me that the offending item had been removed but not that the water had been cleaned. As I chose this hotel for the fact that it had an indoor swimming pool we only used the pool for about 10 minutes before finding the item and were then unwilling to return as we did not have confidence that the water would be clean. The outdoor pools at the adjacent hotels were unheated and had bugs, leaves and feathers floating on the surface. The waiting staff at the Cumberland were rude and unhelpful, although the décor there was much nicer (in the public rooms downstairs at least).

  • anne h

  • April 2015

cheap!

I booked a single room which was cheap so I did not expect too much.

The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. The furniture was extremely tatty and old fashioned and the lighting terrible. Outlook was onto rooftops and generally uninspiring a generator or some noise woke me up at times. However, I was visiting relatives and the room fulfilled the purpose for a one night stay and the downstairs bars lounges overlooked the sea so a pleasant location. Staff welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was good.

  • Dorota K

  • April 2015

Suncliff easter break

Room was too small for couple with child.

Bathroom tiny with no bath for kid. Room boiling hot with no option to turn heating off. Quite uncomfortable stay for £100 per night. Will not be visiting again.

  • garry barker

  • March 2015

Superb a la carte Restaurant

On the negative side, the room was slightly dated, the bed uncomfortable (the individual springs could be felt in my back) with flat pillows.

On the positive side, the room was of good proportions and very clean. The maitre d' of the lower ground floor restaurant was superb, when I realised I had entered the wrong restaurant, he personally escorted me to the adjacent sister hotel to enjoy a a fine dining experience. I was not disappointed an excellent meal was enjoyed of a standard I did not expect with superb professional waiting staff.

  • Jayne P

  • November 2014

The staff were very friendly, attentive and helpful throughout our stay.

Nothing was too much trouble. The food both breakfast and evening meal were pleasant experiences. The evening meal was always extremely busy as there were at least two coach parties in while we where there. Some of the evening entertainment provided was very good others not so. We had booked a twin room and ended up with a four bedded room. Which had all we required. The room was clean and maintained at a high standard. We would quite happily stay at the Suncliff again.

  • Fiona Slade

  • October 2014

Nice Room - Shame about the shower

The room was clean and homely, the bathroom was a bit dated but clean so this was ok.

The main let down was the shower. I ran the shower for ages but the water didn't reach any more than luke warm and although turned on full there was hardly any water coming out, I have to say this is the worst shower I have ever had. It has put me off coming back, I would have to check the shower out first. Our room was on the third floor so maybe lower floor rooms didn't have this problem, I did speak to other guests staying there and they said their shower was ok.

  • S Brooks

  • October 2014

True but fair !!!

True we had room 32 which was very very hot and probably above the pool and sauna .

The room was hotter than the sauna . We asked to be moved and to be fair the staff were very helpful cheery and accommodating we moved to room 216 much better larger but noisy from boiler exhaust - overall a very pleasant stay for the money staff made the stay and they were superb