No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Suncliff Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
29 East Overcliff Drive , Bournemouth, BH1 3AG
Located on the sea front overlooking Bournemouth Bay The Suncliff is situated on the prestigious East Cliff of Bournemouth, within easy walking distance of Bournemouth’s stunning blue flag beaches, award winning gardens and vibrant town center.

It is one of Bournemouth's premier 3 star hotels, offering 103 bedrooms and 4 luxurious penthouses. Many rooms have fabulous ocean views and balconies, all have en suite bathroom, LCD television, internet access, hair dryer and hot drinks refreshment tray.

Located within the Oceana Resort is the Oceana Day Spa at Cliffeside, an Asian inspired Treatment and Beauty Spa open daily that offers wellbeing and luxury. Also located on site at Suncliff is Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, Mini Gym and Squash Courts. Outdoor Pools are also located within resorts along with 4 Restaurants and 4 Bars and a Costa Coffee Shop

The Suncliff's two associate hotels directly next door. The Cumberland offers one of Bournemouth largest outdoor pools (heated during summer months) as well as Lido Deck with loungers and ‘Chill beds’ whilst the Cliffeside offers a smaller more intimate outdoor pool.

Oceana Hotels reserve the right to pre-authorise credit cards prior to arrival. In addition, please note that different terms and conditions apply for group reservations, it is recommended to contact the hotel direct for further information before booking.
Picture of The Suncliff Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 125 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel has some good faciliteis but as a whole is poor and delapadated.
We were given an unbelievable small room on arrival for the price we paid for the Saturday night. We immediately requested a move and was given a larger room, this had more room but was tatty and was in need of redecorating and generally refurbishing.
There are some good facilities at the Suncliffe with a new basement swimming pool and gym. And the use of the adjoining hotel swimming pools and bars.
But for a more elderly couple we consider the quality of the room first.
So would not return to the Suncliffe hotel again.
We have stayed at other Hotels in the area which were cheaper and a lot nicer.
We were disappointed that the pictures of the hotel rooms looked very good on the website, nothing like the rooms that we were given.
This is the first tome in 30 years of weekend breaks we have felt the need to complain

Reviewed by
peter smith

From Carshalton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely break away

Reviewed by
M Jones

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a happy man
I would never go back to the suncliff hotel,first I only got on average 3 hours sleep,very very noisy,the floorboards sweak,in the room,also in the hall ways, there where very noisy guests,who went to bed at 1,2,and even 3 in the morning ,speaking very loud,i know of 3 couples, who complained,and nothing was done, as it happened ,every night, I do not recommend this hotel,this is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed at

Reviewed by
p chilkes

From LONDON, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient stay after ferry from France
My son booked the suncliffe while my father & I were in france. Lovely position. Warm welcome. Small but comfortable single rooms. Usually have to pay for doubles so this was excellent! Needed meal on arrival. Sunday carvery on. Very good & value for money. Super breakfast. Short of time but saw lovely places to sit out. Will visit again for longer as we love the Poole/Bournemouth bay

Reviewed by
Sue H

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

summer holiday
Arrived and checked in by a friendly member of staff.
Helped to find room by helpful manager. Room was cosy and homely and very clean. This room may have backed onto the car park but it was very peaceful room. Decoration might not be to everyone taste but it made me feel really comfortable.

Reviewed by
Kate B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

suncliff august 2013
upgraded to double room from single, although quite small room. Shame the view was poor but was put on high floor as requested. Live entertainment was laid on at night and all the staff were very pleasant.Ideal position on the sea front with free parking.

Reviewed by
s pass

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good Staff
All the staff were very good, check in staff gave full instructions to the different functions in the hotel, all were smiling, cheerful souls, I stay in a lot of hotels and many have sour faced staff, so it was a nice change.

Reviewed by
Stephen B

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just returned from a week at the hotel. Although our room was quite small it had everything we needed. The staff are amazing! Nothing is too much trouble!

Reviewed by
A Ward

From Daventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value for Money
Good location, good room and a decent pool and sauna....all round great value!

Reviewed by
D Nash

From , England
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Service, breakfast very good , hotel 10 out of 10.

Reviewed by
Tracy Powell

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next