No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Suncliff Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
29 East Overcliff Drive , Bournemouth, BH1 3AG
Located on the sea front overlooking Bournemouth Bay The Suncliff is situated on the prestigious East Cliff of Bournemouth, within easy walking distance of Bournemouth’s stunning blue flag beaches, award winning gardens and vibrant town center.

It is one of Bournemouth's premier 3 star hotels, offering 103 bedrooms and 4 luxurious penthouses. Many rooms have fabulous ocean views and balconies, all have en suite bathroom, LCD television, internet access, hair dryer and hot drinks refreshment tray.

Located within the Oceana Resort is the Oceana Day Spa at Cliffeside, an Asian inspired Treatment and Beauty Spa open daily that offers wellbeing and luxury. Also located on site at Suncliff is Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, Mini Gym and Squash Courts. Outdoor Pools are also located within resorts along with 4 Restaurants and 4 Bars and a Costa Coffee Shop

The Suncliff's two associate hotels directly next door. The Cumberland offers one of Bournemouth largest outdoor pools (heated during summer months) as well as Lido Deck with loungers and ‘Chill beds’ whilst the Cliffeside offers a smaller more intimate outdoor pool.

Oceana Hotels reserve the right to pre-authorise credit cards prior to arrival. In addition, please note that different terms and conditions apply for group reservations, it is recommended to contact the hotel direct for further information before booking.
Picture of The Suncliff Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 120 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay at this hotel
I happened to choose the best weather day this year so far! What a welcome on my first business trip to Bournemouth. I booked through laterooms.com - easy transaction on the morning of my stay and got an amazing price. Booked a single room and stayed in room 131. The moment I stepped foot in the foyer I was greeted with a smile from the receptionist - great so far as this is a facial expression I hardly see these days.... - I was impressed with the room - clean, fresh and equipped with all I needed. Temperature was perfect and shower worked ok but looked pretty old and discoloured but bathroom was overall clean and modern. Food in the morning was very good and a great selection of hot food. I would highly recommend a stay here whether business or pleasure. Staff extremely courteous and helpful.

Reviewed by
Karen Deacon

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

was very dissapointed when we arrived to find everything was worn and needed updating, we stayed a few months ago and didnt seem so bad then. we asked to be upgraded to a room with a balcony but was told it would be another £60 which is not worth that . indoor swimming pool was very poor and the jaquzi had been taken out, and the sauna was only just warm. Very dissapointed, it was a few days away for our wedding anniversary and was spoilt.

Reviewed by
garry m

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Scenery - get a room with Balconey
Nice fune and good customer service

Reviewed by
Anthony A

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
I had booked a night at the Suncliff because it had a swimming pool. When we arrived we were told we would be staying at the next door hotel (part of the Oceana group). Although guests at the Ciffeside next door have full access to the Suncliff's facilities, I had wanted to be able to have an early morning, and late night swim without having to go outside. The weather was wet so in the end I did not use the pool . The room we were given, although bright and airy was situated directly above the live music venue. We were not warned about this and had wanted a quiet evening in reading after a busy day walking. I asked at reception what time the music would finish and was told 10.30. It was in fact much nearer to 11.30 when it stopped. I was also surprised that we had to leave our room key in reception if we left the building. I felt we were treated more like residents at a hostel for the homeless than paying hotel guests. When I asked why we had to leave our key I was told it was in case we lost it as we would have to pay £60 to replace it! Maybe if it had been a voluntary option to leave our key it would have been ok. Staff were generally helpful and breakfast staff attentive throughout the meal.

Reviewed by
SARA V

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business trip
Stayed at the Suncliff hotel for a week. I was allocated a room which did not have wifi coverage so I asked to be moved closer to the access point. Second room the shower broke in the middle of the week. I had to get a keys from the front desk to use the showers in unoccupied rooms.
The doors to the rooms could use a squirt of WD40 as they all made a squeaking noise. You can constantly hear people walking around as the floor boards creek all the time.
Other than that the staff were very friendly and helpful but I definitely wont be staying there again.

Reviewed by
Scott S

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stop off
Didn't arrive at the hotel until about 9:30PM but the receptionist was very helpful and friendly. Room was on the small side. The bed only just fitted. Bed was uncomfortable and the pillows were very soft and thin. Bathroom was a good size and of a good standard. Hotel rooms and corridors were very very hot. As soon as we got in the room we had the windows wide open. The only main problem we had with this hotel was the noisy guests. Shouting and running between rooms all night, this plus the uncomfortable bed made sleep near impossible. Overall a good stay and for the price (£49) the hotel was fine, however I definitely would not pay any more for a room!

Reviewed by
H Tucker

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location
As we stayed during the Easter weekend, the price for the room was rather high, and as a result even based against competition the room in my opinion was over priced. I have stayed in far superior rooms and accommodation for far less money. Having said this, the staff where friendly and helpful, and the room was comfortable.
The breakfast was very nice and plentiful supplies, along with a comfortable bar area with sea views. The pool was in need of some TLC and the spa was barely working on the first day, and emptied out by the second and not working at all.
As a final summary, I would stay here again, at a lower rate, and would remain positive about the hotel overall, as I always like the non chain types without them we would have nothing as an option.

Reviewed by
David C

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic

Reviewed by
Miss A

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Came here for a break away and was really lucky. The hotel was easy to find, nice people. Food was great considering it was included in the price. Would stay here again, for sure.

Reviewed by
C Paget

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed at suncliff hotel Bournemouth on 14th march 2013 for one nite. Paid £109 for room twin,
Water was cold in shower, draws were broken & trying to get on balcony was a challenge as door you had to lift it a bit to open. Staff helpful & breakfast nice.
Won't be coming back to this hotel.

Reviewed by
G LAYTON

From EVESHAM, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next