No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Suncliff Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
29 East Overcliff Drive , Bournemouth, BH1 3AG
Located on the sea front overlooking Bournemouth Bay The Suncliff is situated on the prestigious East Cliff of Bournemouth, within easy walking distance of Bournemouth’s stunning blue flag beaches, award winning gardens and vibrant town center.

It is one of Bournemouth's premier 3 star hotels, offering 103 bedrooms and 4 luxurious penthouses. Many rooms have fabulous ocean views and balconies, all have en suite bathroom, LCD television, internet access, hair dryer and hot drinks refreshment tray.

Located within the Oceana Resort is the Oceana Day Spa at Cliffeside, an Asian inspired Treatment and Beauty Spa open daily that offers wellbeing and luxury. Also located on site at Suncliff is Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, Mini Gym and Squash Courts. Outdoor Pools are also located within resorts along with 4 Restaurants and 4 Bars and a Costa Coffee Shop

The Suncliff's two associate hotels directly next door. The Cumberland offers one of Bournemouth largest outdoor pools (heated during summer months) as well as Lido Deck with loungers and ‘Chill beds’ whilst the Cliffeside offers a smaller more intimate outdoor pool.

Oceana Hotels reserve the right to pre-authorise credit cards prior to arrival. In addition, please note that different terms and conditions apply for group reservations, it is recommended to contact the hotel direct for further information before booking.
Picture of The Suncliff Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 124 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would definetly not use again
The Sun Cliff Hotel is overpriced, the rooms small, the décor is dreary and outdated and in general the whole interior needs to be updated to make it look like a proper hotel. Unfortunately Late Rooms really let me down this time

Reviewed by
Grahame Cox

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent service, room needs updating
excellent stay, excellent service, excellent food, staff couldn't do enough for us, very welcoming, the room compact but everything you needed, bathroom in need of updating, shower screen leaked, extractor fan not working very well, overall great stay

Reviewed by
diane c

From Lyme Regis, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Break
Very happy with the deal I was given, room could have been better, but that said it was value for money.

Reviewed by
d harris

From Oxon, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room nice and modern but bed very noisy

Reviewed by
Mark H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

suncliff great
Great hotel close to beach and town couldnt ask for more would recommend

Reviewed by
kirsten l

From stoke on trent, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short notice over night stay
i stayed in this hotel as the price was very competitive
and we we a group of friends staying 2 nights in Bournemouth
Accomadation was very small but clean
it did the job but I wouldnt like to have stayed longer as the rooms as so small

Reviewed by
S Houghton

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay at this hotel
I happened to choose the best weather day this year so far! What a welcome on my first business trip to Bournemouth. I booked through laterooms.com - easy transaction on the morning of my stay and got an amazing price. Booked a single room and stayed in room 131. The moment I stepped foot in the foyer I was greeted with a smile from the receptionist - great so far as this is a facial expression I hardly see these days.... - I was impressed with the room - clean, fresh and equipped with all I needed. Temperature was perfect and shower worked ok but looked pretty old and discoloured but bathroom was overall clean and modern. Food in the morning was very good and a great selection of hot food. I would highly recommend a stay here whether business or pleasure. Staff extremely courteous and helpful.

Reviewed by
Karen Deacon

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

was very dissapointed when we arrived to find everything was worn and needed updating, we stayed a few months ago and didnt seem so bad then. we asked to be upgraded to a room with a balcony but was told it would be another £60 which is not worth that . indoor swimming pool was very poor and the jaquzi had been taken out, and the sauna was only just warm. Very dissapointed, it was a few days away for our wedding anniversary and was spoilt.

Reviewed by
garry m

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Scenery - get a room with Balconey
Nice fune and good customer service

Reviewed by
Anthony A

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
I had booked a night at the Suncliff because it had a swimming pool. When we arrived we were told we would be staying at the next door hotel (part of the Oceana group). Although guests at the Ciffeside next door have full access to the Suncliff's facilities, I had wanted to be able to have an early morning, and late night swim without having to go outside. The weather was wet so in the end I did not use the pool . The room we were given, although bright and airy was situated directly above the live music venue. We were not warned about this and had wanted a quiet evening in reading after a busy day walking. I asked at reception what time the music would finish and was told 10.30. It was in fact much nearer to 11.30 when it stopped. I was also surprised that we had to leave our room key in reception if we left the building. I felt we were treated more like residents at a hostel for the homeless than paying hotel guests. When I asked why we had to leave our key I was told it was in case we lost it as we would have to pay £60 to replace it! Maybe if it had been a voluntary option to leave our key it would have been ok. Staff were generally helpful and breakfast staff attentive throughout the meal.

Reviewed by
SARA V

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next