No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Campanile Hotel Birmingham- Central East

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Chester Street Aston, Birmingham, B6 4BE
Modern canalside hotel situated 5 minutes drive from the city centre, great for shopping or enjoying the fabulous and diverse nightlife in Birmingham yet quiet enough to relax and enjoy the comfortable bar and bistro. Easy to find from junction 6 of the M6.
Closest hotel to Aston Villa FC, 5 minute drive or 20 minute walk, Birmingham City FC, 5 minute drive
Aston University, 2 minute drive or 10 minute walk
***FREE CAR PARK***
*** FREE WI-FI AVAILABLE THROUGHOUT THE HOTEL***
*** 26" LCD TV IN EVERY BEDROOM WITH 50 FREEVIEW CHANNELS***
*** SKY SPORTS & ESPN ON 4 LARGE SCREEN TV'S IN LOUNGE & BAR***
Discounted tickets to local attractions available to purchase direct from the hotel. Save money & beat the queues!
Picture of Campanile Hotel Birmingham- Central East, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 91 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night
Arrived in middle of partial power cut. Detailed information provided about what was happening.
Went out and found it was difficult to get a bus into town as only every 30 or 60 mins.
Walked back due to poor service but could have got buses part way if I had known locality better.
Bar prices quite high. Reasonable looking menu but had eaten elsewhere in town.
Further short power cuts that created problems with free wifi. Bed reasonably comfy. Shower very low for tall person, temp difficult to control.
Did not have breakfast as needed early departure. Check out quite efficient

Reviewed by
Michael N

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bathroom/bed/electric heater /tv
The bathroom smell foul I was in a rush to a venue same evening as soon as I got bk I complain to the black guy he come upstairs with me also the heater wasn't working he help with it, he also smell how foul the bathroom has black moles on the walls it's disgusting I was so
mpain up and tired I had no choice but to stay in the room I suffer with my chest and arthritis I complain to the duty manager next morning he said there is nothing he could do as I am leaving but he give me full breakfast as compensation tv I had to use mirror to see no to plug in aathema pathetic. bed comfy that's it as I say to duty manager the rooms should be check before paying clients arrive very unprofessional of the hotel get new cleaning staff the ones you have are nasty and need a course in cleaning the heat

to work as it was a cold night I always stay in hotels and this is the worst by far and that's an understatement.

Reviewed by
M Johnson

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget Hotel
While I understand the term budget, some things stretch it! The room was very spartan and worn. The bathroom was mouldy and somewhat smelly, and the decor was very dated. The building needs a good spruce up. However, all staff were very polite and efficient and the breakfast was good and well stocked. Such a shame the room was so grim - it did spoil our weekend and we won't book Campanile again.

Reviewed by
B Jennison-Phillips

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfort on a budget
I've read previous reviews about this hotel and was dreading my stay there. BUT I was really pleasantly surprised. My room was comfortable, clean although basic. The walls are fairly thin so I imagine noisy neighbours may be a problem on occasion. The staff were efficient and polite, the food in the downstairs bar tasty. For what I paid the room was excellent, well positioned and functional. If you are expecting a 4 star hotel, it is not, but for a warm, comfortable bed for the night at a cheap price, totally acceptable and on the money!

Reviewed by
Ian J

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good basic hotel
The accommodation was good and staff friendly & helpful. The evening food was ok & had fresh salad garnish, but the burger was poor. Continental breakfast was good. Wi Fi free, but signal not too strong in the bedroom. Overall good value one night stay.

Reviewed by
Leonard S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic room, bad lighting, one plug socket not near a mirror! Arrived to be told they over booked by 15 rooms and had been turning people away and i was lucky to have a room! I disagree!

Reviewed by
C Burke

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On arrival the receptionist was busy talking to what looked like a friend, when I was eventually dealt with he rushed through the whole check in so he could get back to talking to his friend. I had to come back downstairs (room was on the 2nd floor) because the key card wouldn't let us into the room. The room was very basic, the was just one towel between the two of us and the bathroom was pretty grubby aswell. The bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. Room was fairly warm so opened a window to be greeted with the constant noise of traffic from the main road outside. We were then awoke at about 9-9:15am by a very feeble knock at the door and the someone (guessing it was the maid) randomly walking into the room! We went to check out and there was no sign of anyone at the reception desk so after about 10 mins we just a placed the card on the desk and left.

Reviewed by
R Ridgway

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very happy with the hotel
Not a lot to say - very happy with the place and was ideal for conference season.

Reviewed by
Tim Patmore

From Daventry, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Late night arrival excellent service good clean room hot water in abundance.

Reviewed by
Steve M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit noisy.
Room was a very noisy like the window was either open or not fitted properly, despite the window being closed. There could have been some bigger towels in the room as opposed the 1large, 1small and another small in the wardrobe. Room was a little plain in decor and finally no electrical points near the bed making charging mobile phones. The only spare electric point was between the door and the bathroom door.

Reviewed by
w mcintosh

From Bangor, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next