Reviews - Caledonian


64-68 Osborne Road, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AT

Price From 116.26 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (65)

86% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • steven h

  • September 2015

General and Room noise

The home tel was lovely and the only issue we had was that in the morning the noise from the next room was excessive, possibly due to connecting door

  • C Fahmy

  • September 2015

Very friendly and helpful staff.

Great location for us, with a choice of restaurants and bars in walking distance. Our room was ok, but not great, for the price we paid. Would recommend if you just need somewhere to stay and don't mind a little shabbiness.

  • R Davies

  • September 2015

Very friendly, helpful staff.

Good location. Reception area superior to actual room but clean and everything you need.

  • Ulrich E

  • August 2015

Superb hotel at reasonable price

Excellent big room, very good bathroom.

Good breakfast with excellent fried eggs. The next time it will be the Caledonian again!

  • Dorothy K

  • July 2015

Pleasant stay. Will return

Spotless in every way.

TV a bit difficult to operate

And instructions would have made a difference. Sky

TV was not available for some channels as a breakdown

But again no information until I asked. I think this

Was only temporary though. Very nice place to stay

  • Sue N

  • June 2015

Overnight stay

  • Gregory J

  • April 2015

excellent hotel!

very good hotel, nice room & great service.

Booked quite late so the room was quite expensive but it had everything you'd want. bed was very comfortable, en-suite bathroom was good, also the tea and biscuits in the room were good quality

  • Chris Edwards

  • April 2015



  • L Short

  • April 2015


Bathroom dated and in need of remodel but very clean and the room clean but in need of refresh decor .

Bed extremely comfortable and plenty of lovely pillows . Would stay there anytime.


  • April 2015

A friendly atmosphere

Overall, very good accommodation, if a little lacking on extra touches for the the price.

Staff were friendly and helpful. The atmosphere and quality of the restaurant food in the evening was good and it was reasonably priced. The buffet breakfast provided a good selection but the bacon, sausage and egg were over-cooked on both occasions. This is so easy to remedy so shouldn't be a problem. Whilst I slept very well and the bed was extremely comfortable my partner was kept awake by other guests returning late to their rooms on the Saturday night. Not the hotel's fault, I know, but it is something they need to think about as it seems to attract a lot of groups. Parking was a plus. Suburban location but in a very lively zone. Very close to the Metro and bus for getting into town. Taxi to town also reasonable.