No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Caledonian

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
64-68 Osborne Road , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AT
The Caledonian hotel is located in the heart of Jesmond, a chic and leafy area, only one mile from Newcastle city centre with a vibrant café and bar culture.

The hotel itself combines Georgian architecture with a contemporary edge having recently been refurbished. 89 spacious en-suite bedrooms, a fully equipped conference and banqueting centre, and a range of dining options are all available. Choose from the relaxed ambience of the Billabong Bistro, the lively Billabong Bar or alfresco dining on the heated outdoor terrace.

With ample free private parking and easy access to all major transport links, including Newcastle International Airport, the Caledonian Hotel is ideally situated for both the business and leisure traveller.
Picture of Caledonian, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 70 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing stay
I booked last minute as I was down for the weekend doing a course and exam. The room was tiny which wasn't a problem but it was dusty, the wifi didn't work the TV and lamp kept flickering and the bathroom was still living in the 60's. Although not ideal due to how much I had paid all I could live with for one weekend. What pushed me over the edge was the fact my room was directly above the nightclub/entertainment room which played extremely loud music until 1am. When I went down to complain they just said there was nothing they could do. So no revision/work was done. Unproductive night and very over priced for what I got. Very disappointed because my initial impressions of the hotel were very good, lovely welcoming atmosphere and reception interior. Won't be staying here again

Reviewed by
H Montgomery

From Turriff, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate

Reviewed by
J Amron

From Macclesfield, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

TW5
The rooms requires modernisation and the TV is far too small.

Reviewed by
R Welch

From Droitwich, England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

welcome break
this hotel was absolute value for money the staff were really helpful and very pleasant,the food was good and the service every bit as good,the hotel is also well placed with taxis on the doorstep in total a must stay for newcastle.

Reviewed by
David G

From Aberdeen, Scotland
Who stayed in October 2012

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for Business
This hotel is ideal for business travellers and I would be more than happy to stay again.

Reviewed by
L Foster

From Scotland
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
Excellent hotel in a good location, a little noise from bar below, we were on the first floor, it did'nt bother us too much and stopped at 11pm.

Reviewed by
ALAN D

From BARNSLEY, England
Who stayed in October 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In a very trendy part of Newcastle, the hotel provides comfort and convenience. Friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Saleem Ahmad

From Nottingham, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth it
Great place, nice bar, comfortable and clean rooms, staff were friendly.

Reviewed by
M Jaffar

From UK
Who stayed in October 2012

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night stay
All very good except:
Bed a bit hard (for me)
Food in restaurtaunt ok.
Expensive for what you get.

Reviewed by
David M

From Braintree, England
Who stayed in October 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is a well-established hotel with high quality standards. I’m a regular visitor to Newcastle and would choose to stay at this hotel each and every time, I recommend it highly.
The only reason I’m not a frequent guest is the hotel normal rates fall outside my business budget therefore Late Rooms need to speak to the management and negotiate better rates for regular Late Room Bookers

Reviewed by
Glenn Crawford

From England
Who stayed in October 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7