No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Caledonian

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
64-68 Osborne Road , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AT
The Caledonian hotel is located in the heart of Jesmond, a chic and leafy area, only one mile from Newcastle city centre with a vibrant café and bar culture.

The hotel itself combines Georgian architecture with a contemporary edge having recently been refurbished. 89 spacious en-suite bedrooms, a fully equipped conference and banqueting centre, and a range of dining options are all available. Choose from the relaxed ambience of the Billabong Bistro, the lively Billabong Bar or alfresco dining on the heated outdoor terrace.

With ample free private parking and easy access to all major transport links, including Newcastle International Airport, the Caledonian Hotel is ideally situated for both the business and leisure traveller.
Picture of Caledonian, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 70 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stay when visiting children at Univerisity
Perfectly positioned in Jesmond, this is our regular overnight spot when visiting our children at Newcastle. Simple and economical, it suits our needs perfectly. I undstand that the rooms will shortly be given a makeover and we just hope that this doesn't send prices upwards.

Reviewed by
anthony p

From Ledbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff dealt with very hot shower well, they were pleasant and food was good

Reviewed by
N Coneybear

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel in nice location
Good quality hotel with friendly and helpful staff.
Only downsides were wireless not working but this was fixed and the breakfast was a buffet and not freshly cooked but otherwise a very good place to stay.

Reviewed by
David G

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, friendly staff
The hotel is going through some work at the time of the stay. That said it wasn't intrusive.
The room was clean and comfortable, but the noise from late residents walking up and down meant I had very little sleep. I would recommend ear plugs if staying on a weekend.
The bar attached was lively and served good cold Beer!
The hotel staff were friendly and attentive and the breakfast was good.

Reviewed by
J GRANGER

From Southend on Sea, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy stay
We checked in ok and asked how far it was to Newcastle station and was told a 15 min walk found out it was 45 Min walk should have got a taxi into town. The noise level of inconsiderate guests and banging and slamming doors ment not much sleep as this went on all night, noise from the street was a problem as well. Breakfast was cold but food was cooked and presented ok. The bar attached to the hotel was pleasant and food was good.

Reviewed by
m coote

From guisborough, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A couple of nights only!
Decor a bit tired and dated. Room cold initially but heaters warmed it up nicely

Reviewed by
P Regan

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant, comfortable, friendly environment
Absolutely ideal for my purpose i.e. accommodation and use of conference facilities.
Three annoying points on this visit :-
Hairdryer ignited while in use.
Light on bathroom mirror didn't work.
Television picture poor (sound and vision breaking up)

Reviewed by
Donald Cameron

From Macclesfield, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing stay
I booked last minute as I was down for the weekend doing a course and exam. The room was tiny which wasn't a problem but it was dusty, the wifi didn't work the TV and lamp kept flickering and the bathroom was still living in the 60's. Although not ideal due to how much I had paid all I could live with for one weekend. What pushed me over the edge was the fact my room was directly above the nightclub/entertainment room which played extremely loud music until 1am. When I went down to complain they just said there was nothing they could do. So no revision/work was done. Unproductive night and very over priced for what I got. Very disappointed because my initial impressions of the hotel were very good, lovely welcoming atmosphere and reception interior. Won't be staying here again

Reviewed by
H Montgomery

From Turriff, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate

Reviewed by
J Amron

From Macclesfield, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

TW5
The rooms requires modernisation and the TV is far too small.

Reviewed by
R Welch

From Droitwich, England
Who stayed in November 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7