Reviews - Caledonian


64-68 Osborne Road, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AT

Price From 123.06 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (66)

86% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • sue m

  • May 2014

a good choice

Helpful receptionist relocated me to a quiet room at the rear of the hotel on request (it was) - comfortable bed, good sized bathroom, spotlessly clean.

Bar full of noisy birthday party - a bit surprising, as a Tuesday night. Good choice at breakfast - buffet style, with hot dishes regularly checked by staff & replenished. Only possible quibble - an ancient old-style tv in my room, which I didn't want to watch anyway, so not a problem.

  • J Dunmore

  • March 2014

Pleasant hotel,good location and despite being in a busy area we were not affected by noise.

  • Angela P

  • March 2014

Welcoming hotel in lovely location

This hotel is well placed for visiting Freeman Hospital - only 10 minutes away by taxi.

Staff were very friendly and welcoming to lone travellers, asking if Wi-Fi code is needed, offering wake-up calls, booking taxis and advising on where to eat in the hotel without being the centre of attention. Bedrooms are clean and comfortable, although they would benefit from having a dining style chair rather than a low armchair for working at the desk. Tea and coffee supplies were replenished every day. The bar is a nice place to eat and food quite good, although fish and chips was a bit greasy. Continental and cooked breakfast were good with real butter available and filter coffee and staff who were used to locating lone travellers on appropriate tables. The bar here was quieter than others along the same road, which attracted the student crowd.

  • Keith F

  • March 2014

Staying at the Caledonian

The staff were very friendly and helpful, my room was clean and well equipped, if a little on the chilly side.

Other than that I would definitely stay there again.

  • Alison McEachran

  • November 2013

Enjoyable stay.

Have used before and will again.

  • S Cross

  • November 2013

Good value stay in basic but clean accommodation

Asked and thankfully got a quiet room overlooking the back of the hotel.

Several stag/ hen parties were staying at the hotel too but we were not disturbed

Hot water was cold on morning of departure and beds very firm, but housekeeping was friendly and helpful

Would stay there agin

  • Scott W

  • November 2013

Caledonian Newcastle

First impressions were good the main entrance area was very clean and modern staff were nice on arrival and check in was easy, after check in we headed to our room on the first floor it's disabled friendly there is a lift so if you have difficulty with stairs then you won't have a problem, we were in room 115 the hallway was well kept and was finished to the same standard as the main reception, the room was a let down though very dated looked 80s style needed a fresh paint and new sideboards etc the bathroom was a bigger let down old and tired with an attempt to modernise it with some new tiling around the bath/shower it was clean apart from some light mould on the ceiling above the bath and on the door frame, the light above the mirror didn't work In fact the lighting in general was very poor the room was dull with all the lights on.

The comfort of the bed was good had no trouble sleeping even though the room was facing the main road and it was a Saturday night apart from some noisy guests in the hall but it didn't last long. For £109 we thought it was overpriced just for one nights stay with no breakfast. Oh and also there was no Hot water on the Sunday morning so couldn't have a shower we also heard another person complain about this as we were checking out, I don't think I would choose to stay here again.

If the rooms were all at the same standard as all public areas of this hotel it would be a really nice place to stay.

  • E Ashton

  • November 2013

Jesmond a great area, hotel looked lovely on outside and in reception and hallways..

Then we stepped into the bedroom it was like stepping into the 80s.. This hotel was the noisiest hotel we have ever stayed in!. From the groups shouting and running around till early hours, to being woken up every time somebody flushed a loo in another room.. We wouldn't stay here again or recommend to anybody..

  • vicci n

  • November 2013

great location, price and quality stay

I have never stayed in Jesmond and was really impressed with the area, and the standard of hotel for a great price.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Robert M

  • November 2013

Our stay

We went to stay at the hotel for my brothers wedding which was being held in the hotel.

On arrival my booking had been missed/lost/not processed and instead of a double room like we had booked we ended up in a twin. The wedding was great and the food at the reception was fantastic. The complimentary breakfast offered as an apology for the room could not have been much further the other end of the scale. It was cold and very cheap tasting. All in all it was a lot of money for what it was and I wouldn't be in a hurry to return.