Reviews - Caledonian

3

64-68 Osborne Road, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AT

Price From 117.62 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (77)

87% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • S Cross

  • November 2013

Good value stay in basic but clean accommodation

Asked and thankfully got a quiet room overlooking the back of the hotel.

Several stag/ hen parties were staying at the hotel too but we were not disturbed

Hot water was cold on morning of departure and beds very firm, but housekeeping was friendly and helpful

Would stay there agin

  • Scott W

  • November 2013

Caledonian Newcastle

First impressions were good the main entrance area was very clean and modern staff were nice on arrival and check in was easy, after check in we headed to our room on the first floor it's disabled friendly there is a lift so if you have difficulty with stairs then you won't have a problem, we were in room 115 the hallway was well kept and was finished to the same standard as the main reception, the room was a let down though very dated looked 80s style needed a fresh paint and new sideboards etc the bathroom was a bigger let down old and tired with an attempt to modernise it with some new tiling around the bath/shower it was clean apart from some light mould on the ceiling above the bath and on the door frame, the light above the mirror didn't work In fact the lighting in general was very poor the room was dull with all the lights on.

The comfort of the bed was good had no trouble sleeping even though the room was facing the main road and it was a Saturday night apart from some noisy guests in the hall but it didn't last long. For £109 we thought it was overpriced just for one nights stay with no breakfast. Oh and also there was no Hot water on the Sunday morning so couldn't have a shower we also heard another person complain about this as we were checking out, I don't think I would choose to stay here again.

If the rooms were all at the same standard as all public areas of this hotel it would be a really nice place to stay.

  • E Ashton

  • November 2013

Jesmond a great area, hotel looked lovely on outside and in reception and hallways..

Then we stepped into the bedroom it was like stepping into the 80s.. This hotel was the noisiest hotel we have ever stayed in!. From the groups shouting and running around till early hours, to being woken up every time somebody flushed a loo in another room.. We wouldn't stay here again or recommend to anybody..

  • vicci n

  • November 2013

great location, price and quality stay

I have never stayed in Jesmond and was really impressed with the area, and the standard of hotel for a great price.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Robert M

  • November 2013

Our stay

We went to stay at the hotel for my brothers wedding which was being held in the hotel.

On arrival my booking had been missed/lost/not processed and instead of a double room like we had booked we ended up in a twin. The wedding was great and the food at the reception was fantastic. The complimentary breakfast offered as an apology for the room could not have been much further the other end of the scale. It was cold and very cheap tasting. All in all it was a lot of money for what it was and I wouldn't be in a hurry to return.

  • v jefferies

  • November 2013

Two night stay

Would stay here again on entering Reception and all downstairs lovely, but the decor in the rooms is terrible, multi coloured carpet, cream and yellow walls, blue doors, different coloured handles, and mirror in bathroom all tarnished, but the room was clean and I would stay here again, but please decorate the rooms.

  • H wood

  • October 2013

Not the best place I have ever stayed...

I bought this stay at the hotel for a birthday treat for my partner so we could spend some quality time together, so I didn't mind spending £135 for a night away.

I did think it was poor that we had to pay extra for breakfast. the receptionist was snotty, the room was poor for the price we paid and the digital tv reception was shocking. really disappointed. The bed was comfy and bathroom acceptable just not worth the money- shame.

  • K Amos

  • October 2013

Nice Hotel

We stayed for one night at the end of September.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The double room was very clean and spacious. The menu for the evening meal was varied and the meal itself was well cooked. The waitress was very helpful and immediately pointed out the special offer they had for a two course meal. The breakfast choice was good as well catering for people that wanted a continental or cooked breakfast. The main bonus was the free parking which is rare for a hotel close to the centre of Newcastle. All in all it is somewhere I would recommend staying.

  • Judith D

  • October 2013

a bit tired

Decor tired and bathroom not great, also room was cold though there was an electric heater but radiators seemed to be barely warm.

Breakfast fine, location good but saturday night parking very difficult, other nights ok. Staff were very helpful though.

  • A Moore

  • October 2013

Good room with lovley colorful carpet.

value

great