No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Caledonian

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
64-68 Osborne Road , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AT
The Caledonian hotel is located in the heart of Jesmond, a chic and leafy area, only one mile from Newcastle city centre with a vibrant café and bar culture.

The hotel itself combines Georgian architecture with a contemporary edge having recently been refurbished. 89 spacious en-suite bedrooms, a fully equipped conference and banqueting centre, and a range of dining options are all available. Choose from the relaxed ambience of the Billabong Bistro, the lively Billabong Bar or alfresco dining on the heated outdoor terrace.

With ample free private parking and easy access to all major transport links, including Newcastle International Airport, the Caledonian Hotel is ideally situated for both the business and leisure traveller.
Picture of Caledonian, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 71 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful but picky issues
We arrived at the hotel late on the Saturday night to find no parking spaces which was rectified very quickly. On entering the room which we had chosen the executive double as seating area was in the room, which is two chairs squeezed in between the bed and window the bed is very soft and the room, yes it's been high twentys so the room was very warm. But overall the stay was ok and hotel is well positioned but for the cost we will looking else where sorry.

Reviewed by
A Robbie

From Sunderland , UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Jesmond stay
Ideal location for quick trip into city centre and then return to great bars and restaurants in Jesmond, especially our favourite, Francescas. Room on the back very quiet, could do with a lick of paint but still great value.

Reviewed by
H Mortimer

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great customer service, clean and cosy room, nice breakfast and free parking, ideal

Reviewed by
rachel lewis

From Prestatyn, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super place to stay
I got an amazing price to stay here, and although it was only for one night, it was a great place to stay, with everything I needed and more class than I would have expected for even the full price. Highly recommended!
I felt welcome from the moment I arrived to the moment I left, that my needs were important,and that it was a hotel designed for comfort not to conform to a style that's the same everywhere. The bed was blissfully comfortable, the shower powerful, the food good and reasonably priced. What more could you want?

Reviewed by
Colin W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

service
Staff very friendly and helpful

Reviewed by
Alison L

From Estepona, Spain
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My husband and i only stayed one night arriving early evening, out for supper and back to bed and up early the next morning. The rooms were immaculate and nicely furnished. The only critisism i have was the noise from other guests. Our room was on the ground floor near reception. i had been warned that the hotel hosted weddings and hen/stag groups at the weekends and that noise could be an issue. it really was bad and for that reason, for the price i would not return. A great shame as a lovely hotel

Reviewed by
Helen S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for a weekend
Ideal location in Jesmond, very convenient for bars, restaurants, etc. Service was excellent. Breakfast very good. Room of good standard, very clean. Quality hotel, ideal for a weekend stay.

Reviewed by
R Williams

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good rate for a nice room. Room was clean and a very comfortable bed.
Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice.

Reviewed by
Graham V

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel In Newcastle
Yes very good and close to centre with busy bars and shops locally

Reviewed by
S Hilton

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wkend away
very gud time nice people friendly

Reviewed by
P Gimson

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next