Reviews - Caledonian


64-68 Osborne Road, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AT

Price From 248.93 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (56)

93% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Rebecca Q

  • September 2014

We really enjoyed our stay.

The room was tasteful, clean and spacious. We had everything we needed. The hotel looked nice inside. We had afternoon tea in the bistro (sat outside) which was lovely except we were forgotten and never got our tea (we had a glass of Prosecco though) when we went inside everyone had gone. We also got an accidental wake up call at 5.50am on the first morning which wasn't ideal. Overall though, I'd go back as it was a nice hotel in a lovely area.

  • Robert L

  • September 2014

Free parking and good hotel bar and food.

  • alan n

  • September 2014

Worth an upgrade?

We paid £130 for one night in a superior room which was ok but nothing really superior about the room.

I think we'll try elsewhere for that sort of price. Staff were great though

  • Alan W

  • September 2014

Nice location

This hotel is situated in a very nice part of Newcastle with good Metro connection to the city just 10 minutes walk away.

  • Peter S

  • September 2014

Dated rooms, nice lobby

We traveled to newcastle for the weekend as we where taking part in the great north run and wanted a nice hotel to make the weekend a bit special.

We chose the caledonian as it was close to the start and the photos looked great. When you enter the hotel i must admit it looked great and looked as if it had been recentely decorated. When we went to our room the change from the modern halls and reception area to the room was a suprise. The rooms are very dated with shabby cupboards and a carpet that you need sunglasses to look at!. The bathrooms where awfull. Howere they clean. Our mates room had ripped carpets and a cracked toliet and bath. We complained and where offered £30 off which we accepted. There is sign in bathroom that said if you require clean towels then put the dirty ones in the bath which we did as we wanted clean dry towels for when we returned from running the 13.1 miles of the GNR. When we came back the cleaner had taken them out the bath and just hung them back up!!. Also if you are planning watching a little bit tv i would ask at reception if you can have a room with a tv that works, because the one room 223 didnt. Verdict is i will not be returning to this hotel again next year.

  • Paula P

  • September 2014

I don't often write reviews, just usually accept the accommodation as I believe you get what you pay for, if you want 4 star then pay for it however !!!.

Hotel reception was very nice, having seen the reviews was looking forward to staying in this hotel. Very disappointed hotel room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke (room 103), was really shocked at this as don't remember there being an option for non smoking room and thought all hotels had a no smoking policy, the room was in need of refurbishment which I would have accepted but for the smell. Would stay here again but only if guaranteed a smoke free room. On the positive side, we were running the Great North Run and there was a bottle of water, some bananas and pins, nice touch shame about the cigarette smoke

  • Jacqueline Dunlop

  • August 2014

Friendly, clean lovely hotel

  • jason ross

  • August 2014

breakfast used to be included so it is disappointing that it now isnt

also the rooms were roasting hot.

  • L Dawson

  • July 2014

Simply excellent

Brilliant stay from start to finish.

  • N Gardner

  • June 2014

Good value for money

Very clean and good value for money

Great location near the station

Great for a short weekend break