No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Caledonian

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
64-68 Osborne Road , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AT
The Caledonian hotel is located in the heart of Jesmond, a chic and leafy area, only one mile from Newcastle city centre with a vibrant café and bar culture.

The hotel itself combines Georgian architecture with a contemporary edge having recently been refurbished. 89 spacious en-suite bedrooms, a fully equipped conference and banqueting centre, and a range of dining options are all available. Choose from the relaxed ambience of the Billabong Bistro, the lively Billabong Bar or alfresco dining on the heated outdoor terrace.

With ample free private parking and easy access to all major transport links, including Newcastle International Airport, the Caledonian Hotel is ideally situated for both the business and leisure traveller.
Picture of Caledonian, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 65 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel
We stayed for one night at the end of September. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The double room was very clean and spacious. The menu for the evening meal was varied and the meal itself was well cooked. The waitress was very helpful and immediately pointed out the special offer they had for a two course meal. The breakfast choice was good as well catering for people that wanted a continental or cooked breakfast. The main bonus was the free parking which is rare for a hotel close to the centre of Newcastle. All in all it is somewhere I would recommend staying.

Reviewed by
K Amos

From Rossendale, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel in the heart of Jesmond.
Only complaint was that the room was too " muggy "..not enough fresh air, and over heated!
Will stay there again.

Reviewed by
Nicholas Duncan

From Kings Lynn, England
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and helpful staff
Great location in the centre of Jesmond. The hotel staff were friendly & helpful. Our room was clean and had everything we needed, although the colour of the carpet was a shock after the discreet decor in the communal areas. Our room was quiet and we both had a good nights sleep.
We both enjoyed breakfast. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
K Phillips

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel!
Lovely place to stay in an easily accessible area. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The meal in the restaurant was fantastic.
I will definitely return when I am next in the area.

Reviewed by
Shona C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location,pleasant staff, nice accomodation. bathroom clean functional needed a bit of updating.
good location along side other hotels bars restaurants, clean spacious room, some updating required. plenty of parking at rear of hotel.

Reviewed by
Jayne L

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant stay

Reviewed by
S Graham

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissapointing Overnight stay
We arrived late evening and had a very efficient receptionist to book us in, who was also very helpful. When we arrived at our room I found it to be clean and comfortable. However, we had to ask for extra tea and milk as we only had one sachet / tub of each. We were provided with several of each without question and told we could have more if we required them. The overall decor was extermely 'tired' and definately in need of some TLC. the paint work on the bottom of the wardrobe door was peeling off, there were some threads coming out of the carpet where it abutted the skirting boards and the walls had 'grubby' marks on them in several places. (It wasn't unclean - just in need of some general maintenance). The bathroom was basic but adequate and again needed some general maintenance and updating. The staff were helpful, attentive and polite. The breakfast was plentiful, tasty and well presented.

Reviewed by
S Dunn

From Penrith, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Good value for moeny leted me have extra time to checkout, definately Recommend!

Reviewed by
S Bukhari

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, good location, value for money!
Hotel was perfect for what we wanted......a place to stay for a bank holiday break in Newcastle. The room and the hotel were both clean and modern, and the staff were all polite and friendly. A helpful tip would be make sure you attach the do not disturb sign to the door. We found housekeeping were a bit early on a morning, however the hotel do advise doing this so it is nothing something I would use as a complaint but our own mistake! Would recommend to anyone, and will use again as a regular visitor to the area.

Reviewed by
Victoria S

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel with great facilities.
The 1st room we had no wifi which my husband needed for work, rang down to reception not a problem we changed rooms. Great room with full wifi. The only bad side was the noise, we were next to the door from reception which constantly was banging shut. All in all a great hotel & very friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Ceri H

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next