No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Caledonian

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
64-68 Osborne Road , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AT
The Caledonian hotel is located in the heart of Jesmond, a chic and leafy area, only one mile from Newcastle city centre with a vibrant café and bar culture.

The hotel itself combines Georgian architecture with a contemporary edge having recently been refurbished. 89 spacious en-suite bedrooms, a fully equipped conference and banqueting centre, and a range of dining options are all available. Choose from the relaxed ambience of the Billabong Bistro, the lively Billabong Bar or alfresco dining on the heated outdoor terrace.

With ample free private parking and easy access to all major transport links, including Newcastle International Airport, the Caledonian Hotel is ideally situated for both the business and leisure traveller.
Picture of Caledonian, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 79 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We really enjoyed our stay. The room was tasteful, clean and spacious. We had everything we needed. The hotel looked nice inside. We had afternoon tea in the bistro (sat outside) which was lovely except we were forgotten and never got our tea (we had a glass of Prosecco though) when we went inside everyone had gone! We also got an accidental wake up call at 5.50am on the first morning which wasn't ideal! Overall though, I'd go back as it was a nice hotel in a lovely area.

Reviewed by
Rebecca Q

From Stirling, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Free parking and good hotel bar and food.

Reviewed by
Robert L

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth an upgrade?
We paid £130 for one night in a superior room which was ok but nothing really superior about the room. I think we'll try elsewhere for that sort of price. Staff were great though

Reviewed by
alan n

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice location
This hotel is situated in a very nice part of Newcastle with good Metro connection to the city just 10 minutes walk away.

Reviewed by
Alan W

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I don't often write reviews, just usually accept the accommodation as I believe you get what you pay for, if you want 4 star then pay for it however !!!! Hotel reception was very nice, having seen the reviews was looking forward to staying in this hotel. Very disappointed hotel room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke (room 103), was really shocked at this as don't remember there being an option for non smoking room and thought all hotels had a no smoking policy, the room was in need of refurbishment which I would have accepted but for the smell. Would stay here again but only if guaranteed a smoke free room. On the positive side, we were running the Great North Run and there was a bottle of water, some bananas and pins, nice touch shame about the cigarette smoke

Reviewed by
Paula P

From Leyland, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated rooms, nice lobby
We traveled to newcastle for the weekend as we where taking part in the great north run and wanted a nice hotel to make the weekend a bit special. We chose the caledonian as it was close to the start and the photos looked great. When you enter the hotel i must admit it looked great and looked as if it had been recentely decorated. When we went to our room the change from the modern halls and reception area to the room was a suprise. The rooms are very dated with shabby cupboards and a carpet that you need sunglasses to look at!! The bathrooms where awfull. Howere they clean. Our mates room had ripped carpets and a cracked toliet and bath. We complained and where offered £30 off which we accepted. There is sign in bathroom that said if you require clean towels then put the dirty ones in the bath which we did as we wanted clean dry towels for when we returned from running the 13.1 miles of the GNR! When we came back the cleaner had taken them out the bath and just hung them back up!!. Also if you are planning watching a little bit tv i would ask at reception if you can have a room with a tv that works, because the one room 223 didnt. Verdict is i will not be returning to this hotel again next year.

Reviewed by
Peter S

From Coalville, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, clean lovely hotel

Reviewed by
Jacqueline Dunlop

From Kilmacolm, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

breakfast used to be included so it is disappointing that it now isnt
also the rooms were roasting hot.

Reviewed by
jason ross

From Beaconsfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Very clean and good value for money
Great location near the station
Great for a short weekend break

Reviewed by
N Gardner

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simply excellent
Brilliant stay from start to finish.

Reviewed by
L Dawson

From Prudhoe, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next