No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Caledonian

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
64-68 Osborne Road , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AT
The Caledonian hotel is located in the heart of Jesmond, a chic and leafy area, only one mile from Newcastle city centre with a vibrant café and bar culture.

The hotel itself combines Georgian architecture with a contemporary edge having recently been refurbished. 89 spacious en-suite bedrooms, a fully equipped conference and banqueting centre, and a range of dining options are all available. Choose from the relaxed ambience of the Billabong Bistro, the lively Billabong Bar or alfresco dining on the heated outdoor terrace.

With ample free private parking and easy access to all major transport links, including Newcastle International Airport, the Caledonian Hotel is ideally situated for both the business and leisure traveller.
Picture of Caledonian, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 70 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

midweek break!!!
Stayed here with girlfriend during a midweek break. Room was clean but a bit dated, however, the bed was huge and really comfortable. Never ate in so cannot comment on food but we ate in a nice Italian restaurant across the road. There appeared to be plenty of free off street parking. An enjoyable stay for a great price

Reviewed by
Stephen C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired and Noisey
Room looking very tired . Had to ring down to reception at 1.40 am to ask a group of men to stop singing woke us up and were very noisey

Reviewed by
KAREN D

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a good choice
Helpful receptionist relocated me to a quiet room at the rear of the hotel on request (it was) - comfortable bed, good sized bathroom, spotlessly clean. Bar full of noisy birthday party - a bit surprising, as a Tuesday night! Good choice at breakfast - buffet style, with hot dishes regularly checked by staff & replenished. Only possible quibble - an ancient old-style tv in my room, which I didn't want to watch anyway, so not a problem.

Reviewed by
sue m

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant hotel,good location and despite being in a busy area we were not affected by noise.

Reviewed by
J Dunmore

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming hotel in lovely location
This hotel is well placed for visiting Freeman Hospital - only 10 minutes away by taxi. Staff were very friendly and welcoming to lone travellers, asking if Wi-Fi code is needed, offering wake-up calls, booking taxis and advising on where to eat in the hotel without being the centre of attention. Bedrooms are clean and comfortable, although they would benefit from having a dining style chair rather than a low armchair for working at the desk. Tea and coffee supplies were replenished every day. The bar is a nice place to eat and food quite good, although fish and chips was a bit greasy. Continental and cooked breakfast were good with real butter available and filter coffee and staff who were used to locating lone travellers on appropriate tables. The bar here was quieter than others along the same road, which attracted the student crowd.

Reviewed by
Angela P

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying at the Caledonian
The staff were very friendly and helpful, my room was clean and well equipped, if a little on the chilly side. Other than that I would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Keith F

From Scotland
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Jesmond a great area, hotel looked lovely on outside and in reception and hallways.. Then we stepped into the bedroom it was like stepping into the 80s.. This hotel was the noisiest hotel we have ever stayed in!! From the groups shouting and running around till early hours, to being woken up every time somebody flushed a loo in another room.. We wouldn't stay here again or recommend to anybody..

Reviewed by
E Ashton

From York, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay. Have used before and will again.

Reviewed by
Alison McEachran

From Ardrossan, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Caledonian Newcastle
First impressions were good the main entrance area was very clean and modern staff were nice on arrival and check in was easy, after check in we headed to our room on the first floor it's disabled friendly there is a lift so if you have difficulty with stairs then you won't have a problem, we were in room 115 the hallway was well kept and was finished to the same standard as the main reception, the room was a let down though very dated looked 80s style needed a fresh paint and new sideboards etc the bathroom was a bigger let down old and tired with an attempt to modernise it with some new tiling around the bath/shower it was clean apart from some light mould on the ceiling above the bath and on the door frame, the light above the mirror didn't work In fact the lighting in general was very poor the room was dull with all the lights on. The comfort of the bed was good had no trouble sleeping even though the room was facing the main road and it was a Saturday night apart from some noisy guests in the hall but it didn't last long. For £109 we thought it was overpriced just for one nights stay with no breakfast. Oh and also there was no Hot water on the Sunday morning so couldn't have a shower we also heard another person complain about this as we were checking out, I don't think I would choose to stay here again.
If the rooms were all at the same standard as all public areas of this hotel it would be a really nice place to stay.

Reviewed by
Scott W

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value stay in basic but clean accommodation
Asked and thankfully got a quiet room overlooking the back of the hotel. Several stag/ hen parties were staying at the hotel too but we were not disturbed
Hot water was cold on morning of departure and beds very firm, but housekeeping was friendly and helpful
Would stay there agin

Reviewed by
S Cross

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next