No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Caledonian

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
64-68 Osborne Road , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AT
The Caledonian hotel is located in the heart of Jesmond, a chic and leafy area, only one mile from Newcastle city centre with a vibrant café and bar culture.

The hotel itself combines Georgian architecture with a contemporary edge having recently been refurbished. 89 spacious en-suite bedrooms, a fully equipped conference and banqueting centre, and a range of dining options are all available. Choose from the relaxed ambience of the Billabong Bistro, the lively Billabong Bar or alfresco dining on the heated outdoor terrace.

With ample free private parking and easy access to all major transport links, including Newcastle International Airport, the Caledonian Hotel is ideally situated for both the business and leisure traveller.
Picture of Caledonian, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good room with lovley colorful carpet. value
great

Reviewed by
A Moore

From Miami, USA
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a bit tired
Decor tired and bathroom not great, also room was cold though there was an electric heater but radiators seemed to be barely warm.
Breakfast fine, location good but saturday night parking very difficult, other nights ok. Staff were very helpful though.

Reviewed by
Judith D

From Carnforth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very mic
Lovely hotel

Reviewed by
Tom S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would stay here again
This is a very well run hotel. Really enjoyed our stay

Reviewed by
Loraine P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel
We stayed for one night at the end of September. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The double room was very clean and spacious. The menu for the evening meal was varied and the meal itself was well cooked. The waitress was very helpful and immediately pointed out the special offer they had for a two course meal. The breakfast choice was good as well catering for people that wanted a continental or cooked breakfast. The main bonus was the free parking which is rare for a hotel close to the centre of Newcastle. All in all it is somewhere I would recommend staying.

Reviewed by
K Amos

From Rossendale, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel in the heart of Jesmond.
Only complaint was that the room was too " muggy "..not enough fresh air, and over heated!
Will stay there again.

Reviewed by
Nicholas Duncan

From Kings Lynn, England
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and helpful staff
Great location in the centre of Jesmond. The hotel staff were friendly & helpful. Our room was clean and had everything we needed, although the colour of the carpet was a shock after the discreet decor in the communal areas. Our room was quiet and we both had a good nights sleep.
We both enjoyed breakfast. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
K Phillips

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel!
Lovely place to stay in an easily accessible area. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The meal in the restaurant was fantastic.
I will definitely return when I am next in the area.

Reviewed by
Shona C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location,pleasant staff, nice accomodation. bathroom clean functional needed a bit of updating.
good location along side other hotels bars restaurants, clean spacious room, some updating required. plenty of parking at rear of hotel.

Reviewed by
Jayne L

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant stay

Reviewed by
S Graham

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next