No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Caledonian

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
64-68 Osborne Road , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AT
The Caledonian hotel is located in the heart of Jesmond, a chic and leafy area, only one mile from Newcastle city centre with a vibrant café and bar culture.

The hotel itself combines Georgian architecture with a contemporary edge having recently been refurbished. 89 spacious en-suite bedrooms, a fully equipped conference and banqueting centre, and a range of dining options are all available. Choose from the relaxed ambience of the Billabong Bistro, the lively Billabong Bar or alfresco dining on the heated outdoor terrace.

With ample free private parking and easy access to all major transport links, including Newcastle International Airport, the Caledonian Hotel is ideally situated for both the business and leisure traveller.
Picture of Caledonian, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 80 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service , great staff
On arrival at hotel for our girls weekend away rooms were automatically upgraded which was a really nice surprise. Rooms were very clean and,modern .1 room was on a different floor to all others so when asked at reception if anything could be done it was changed immediately with no fuss..
Staff were very helpful and friendly .The bar and bistro area was great.Sorry cant comment on breakfast as we never made it down from our rooms in time.
Ideally situated with numerous bars just on the doorstep then a short taxi into town.will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
kelly g

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a wonderfull time and staff were very friendly and helpful!
We upgraded to a suite, the room was very spacious and comfortable!
We had pre drinks before going out and nearly didn't go out as we have everything in the room really!

Reviewed by
Amanda Suthern

From Seaham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average
The rooms was very dated, old windows and loud noises from the street
Food and service were good

Reviewed by
Kamil K

From Wilmslow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value and good location
Very good value and standard far higher than some of the other hotels in this area.

Reviewed by
Keith H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quick stopover visiting son at university
requested quiet room and never heard a peep from anyone or traffic all night - definitely stay again. downside - smallest bed I ever seen could easily put 5 footer in there felt more like 4! staff great left a phone charger sorted everything for us. great breakfast down to earth staff no pretence will go again.

Reviewed by
kathryn b

From Batley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel that ticks virtually every box
Good hotel with friendly staff, and tasty restaurant and bar menus. Shame there is not any real ales on offer.

Reviewed by
Andrew Rowe

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good weekend
We stayed her for the one night for my birthday and very good. Nice rooms...can be a bit of a maze to find yours when you've had a few but no issues otherwise. Short taxi drive to the big market area and plenty of places to eat and drink near (and in) the hotel if you don't fancy that.
Would definitely go back.

Reviewed by
G Logan

From Tranent, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Carpet in room was hideous. Shelves were falling off. However it was a big room and the bed was comfy. Location is good. Hotel just needs some refurbishment.

Reviewed by
Phil T

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
Was very pleasantly surprised by what good value this hotel was. It was modern, clean and spacious.would highly recommend it to others.

Reviewed by
C Scott

From Broxburn, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Welcoming Stay
Good quality hotel with very welcoming staff. Good food and varied menu within a modern and well decorated restaurant.

Reviewed by
Andrew R

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next