You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Caledonian


64-68 Osborne Road, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AT

Price From 281.45 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (48)

92% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • A S

  • November 2015

Better than what was needed.

Needed a hotel for a single night in Newcastle and the Caledonian had availability, booked quickly and easily and check-in was a cinch.

They provide parking next to the building which was very convenient for me and my friends as we parked and walked into town, coming back later in the evening for check in. Service was good, breakfast is not complimentary but they have a full restaraunt attached to the hotel which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Watch out if you want to go drinking nearby, however, as nothing will be open past 10:30 and there are no off-licenses in the vicinity!

  • Richard P

  • November 2015

Newcastle trip

good location for where I needed to travel to - arrived late so really just went straight to bed.

The room was fine. Breakfast (cooked) could have been a little fresher but adequate, overall a good stay albeit brief.

  • G Preece

  • November 2015


Staff are very friendly.

Very clean. Although the bathroom could do with updating to match the rest of the hotel, it was absolutely fine. Great location. Room was slightly on the cold side which is great when sleeping but a little nippy when getting out of the shower.

  • Christine B

  • October 2015

Rugby World Cup city break

The Caledonian provided an excellent base for our trip to Newcastle.

We were upgraded to an Executive Suite and were impressed with the room and facilities. The location was very convenient for getting into the city centre using the Metro (West Jesmond) and we also made good use of the local shops and restaurants. The only downside was that it was quite noisy due to the main road and other hotels and bars, but even so we would stay here again and we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • steven h

  • September 2015

General and Room noise

The home tel was lovely and the only issue we had was that in the morning the noise from the next room was excessive, possibly due to connecting door

  • C Fahmy

  • September 2015

Very friendly and helpful staff.

Great location for us, with a choice of restaurants and bars in walking distance. Our room was ok, but not great, for the price we paid. Would recommend if you just need somewhere to stay and don't mind a little shabbiness.

  • R Davies

  • September 2015

Very friendly, helpful staff.

Good location. Reception area superior to actual room but clean and everything you need.

  • Ulrich E

  • August 2015

Superb hotel at reasonable price

Excellent big room, very good bathroom.

Good breakfast with excellent fried eggs. The next time it will be the Caledonian again!

  • Dorothy K

  • July 2015

Pleasant stay. Will return

Spotless in every way.

TV a bit difficult to operate

And instructions would have made a difference. Sky

TV was not available for some channels as a breakdown

But again no information until I asked. I think this

Was only temporary though. Very nice place to stay

  • Sue N

  • June 2015

Overnight stay