No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Caledonian

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
64-68 Osborne Road , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AT
The Caledonian hotel is located in the heart of Jesmond, a chic and leafy area, only one mile from Newcastle city centre with a vibrant café and bar culture.

The hotel itself combines Georgian architecture with a contemporary edge having recently been refurbished. 89 spacious en-suite bedrooms, a fully equipped conference and banqueting centre, and a range of dining options are all available. Choose from the relaxed ambience of the Billabong Bistro, the lively Billabong Bar or alfresco dining on the heated outdoor terrace.

With ample free private parking and easy access to all major transport links, including Newcastle International Airport, the Caledonian Hotel is ideally situated for both the business and leisure traveller.
Picture of Caledonian, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 65 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay. Have used before and will again.

Reviewed by
Alison McEachran

From Ardrossan, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value stay in basic but clean accommodation
Asked and thankfully got a quiet room overlooking the back of the hotel. Several stag/ hen parties were staying at the hotel too but we were not disturbed
Hot water was cold on morning of departure and beds very firm, but housekeeping was friendly and helpful
Would stay there agin

Reviewed by
S Cross

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location, price and quality stay
I have never stayed in Jesmond and was really impressed with the area, and the standard of hotel for a great price. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
vicci n

From Kendal, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay
We went to stay at the hotel for my brothers wedding which was being held in the hotel. On arrival my booking had been missed/lost/not processed and instead of a double room like we had booked we ended up in a twin. The wedding was great and the food at the reception was fantastic. The complimentary breakfast offered as an apology for the room could not have been much further the other end of the scale. It was cold and very cheap tasting. All in all it was a lot of money for what it was and I wouldn't be in a hurry to return.

Reviewed by
Robert M

From Northallerton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two night stay
Would stay here again on entering Reception and all downstairs lovely, but the decor in the rooms is terrible, multi coloured carpet, cream and yellow walls, blue doors, different coloured handles, and mirror in bathroom all tarnished, but the room was clean and I would stay here again, but please decorate the rooms.

Reviewed by
v jefferies

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the best place I have ever stayed...
I bought this stay at the hotel for a birthday treat for my partner so we could spend some quality time together, so I didn't mind spending £135 for a night away. I did think it was poor that we had to pay extra for breakfast. the receptionist was snotty, the room was poor for the price we paid and the digital tv reception was shocking. really disappointed. The bed was comfy and bathroom acceptable just not worth the money- shame.

Reviewed by
H wood

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good room with lovley colorful carpet. value
great

Reviewed by
A Moore

From Miami, USA
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very mic
Lovely hotel

Reviewed by
Tom S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a bit tired
Decor tired and bathroom not great, also room was cold though there was an electric heater but radiators seemed to be barely warm.
Breakfast fine, location good but saturday night parking very difficult, other nights ok. Staff were very helpful though.

Reviewed by
Judith D

From Carnforth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would stay here again
This is a very well run hotel. Really enjoyed our stay

Reviewed by
Loraine P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next