Reviews - Campanile Hotel Washington


Emerson Road, Washington, NE37 1LB

Price From 91.99 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (75)

68% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • sarah l

  • September 2015

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

The room was clean but had an odd smell. The two single beds pushed together to make a double was a little uncomfortable.

  • Antony Pike

  • September 2015

There are other options in the area

Ok hotel, rooms starting to look tired as is reception and bar/restaurant.

Bar shut at 23:00. I would pay a few more £ next time and stay in one of the other 2 hotels you drive past to get there.

  • C Golightly

  • September 2015

Average hotel at an average price, typical stop over accomodation

Overall, the experience was a pleasant one, the staff were excellent, the food decent, and the room was clean.

However, the room decor was a bit tired, the bathroom extractor was not working, the tiles very faded and washed out. The room itself only had two power sockets, one on the floor by the bathroom door and one under the window, that seemed poor for the type of hotel this is. It is geared as a travelodge or travelinn type accomodation, very functional, not a holiday type hotel. The breakfast buffet featured all the usual fare however the cooked breakfast was a set plate, not a hot buffet, but was well cooked. With the road links its a good base for a few days as I stayed, but not a location as a holiday destination.

  • Carol Rankin

  • September 2015

Worst hotel ever

When we arrived they had no room for us it was just lucky that the lady behind us in the queue was cancelling her room so we were given her disabled room it was also a good job that I took my confirmation from late rooms with me to prove that I booked it it was an awful dark dirty bedroom with only one plug socket so you couldn't even plugged the kettle on because it was halfway up the wall

  • anne rowe

  • August 2015

Dog friendly

We were very pleased to be able to take our two little dogs and happy to pay an extra £5 each per night.

The Hotel is good value for money and close to Gateshead and Newcastle. We did not use the Bar or Restaurant so cannot comment although the menu looked good. Good size bed also.

  • Michael L

  • July 2015


clean and tidy room, fair value, would use again

  • Stephen C

  • July 2015

not bad

  • A Woodhouse

  • July 2015

Great shower

The hotel was a last minute booking due to cancellation of previous hotel after a bad storm.

The cost was the cheapest I could find at short notice, which was the deciding factor. Accommodation is outdated, but comfortable enough. The shower over the bath in our room was excellent. Breakfast was terrible and overpriced. Receptionist at check out had plenty of desire to help, but quite terrible at his job. Tried to charge teice for breakfast and just generally made it a difficult process.

  • Claire R

  • July 2015

Far too expensive for the quality of room...

max £40 range. Read previous review as to not too happy as lone female traveller and bedrooms disconnected from reception area. Did get ground floor and near the door as requested. Very pleasant staff and the meal was freshly cooked.


  • April 2015

Ideally placed for Newcastle, Angel of the North and Beamish Museum

Difficulty with Satnav.

I was directed into Holiday Inn (TomTom) and my colleaugues weren't able to enter the postcode or address (Skoda original equipment). The hotel are aware of this problem and gave us the name of the street opposite - too late then