No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Columbus

2Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
141 SUSSEX GARDENS , London, W2 2RX
The Columbus is situated on the south side of Sussex Gardens an elegant tree lined avenue. The property is about 180 years old and was a former residence of the 18th/19th centuries wealthy families, it has now been tastefully converted to provide you with all you would expect from a good bed and breakfast, plus that little bit extra! We are just two minutes walk from Paddington Underground, Heathrow/link and Hyde Park, and with Marble Arch and Oxford Street just 8 - 10 minute’s walk, you need look no further for a good location and London's best Bed and Breakfast hotel. The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable with en-suite bathrooms. Facilities include modern comfortable furnishings, television, direct dial telephones, comfortable orthopedic beds and electronic room locks for extra security.
Picture of Hotel Columbus, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 night stay
First time at the Columbus for me. I found it to be very acceptable for my stay in London, have no complaints. Hotel staff welcoming and pleasant throughout my stay. Room clean, Continental breakfast good and plentiful. My only concern was the shower room/toilet. basically it was very similar to a student styled toilet/shower room pod. Space was limited and manoverability tight. I will add though that it was spotlessly clean. It didnt ruin my stay. Maybe for the larger built person it would cause concern. I would deffinately stay at this Hotel again !

Reviewed by
N West

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean, tidy, recent refurb. very good.

Reviewed by
richard t

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequatefor a short, overnight stay
Small but tidy, clean room. The en suite was definitely a converted cupboard but it was adequate and had up to date facilities. Breakfast wasn't served until 8.00 AM which surprised us as we had a business interview to arrive at by 9.00 am. However after explaining we needed to leave promptly we were served breakfast 10 minutes early, which was appreciated.

Reviewed by
Kevin B

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stop
enjoyable experience

Reviewed by
Marjorie A

From Porthcawl, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We'll worth it
I was pleasantly surprised, it was clean, staff were friendly and for the money with a continental breakfast included an absolute bargain

Reviewed by
Wayne L

From Tring, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sub standard
Don't stay unless on holiday and you don't want breakfast before 8am. This hotel is not geared up for people working in london who need to commute early.

Reviewed by
Steve G

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very impressed.
A very happy stay. The staff were friendly and very helpful. On arrival, being earlier to check in, they were happy to look after my luggage whilst I went site seeing and without asking offered me the opportunity the use a bathroom to freshen-up and offered assistance in getting around London.
The room, a single room, was clean and tidy and the television (a flat screen) actually worked. The location is ideal, only 2 minutes from Paddington and plenty of places nearby to eat and drink. The breakfast was good. The area felt safe and pleasant.

Reviewed by
s lodhia

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice area
The situation of the hotel is perfect for my taste. Beautiful and tranquil area yet with the pulse of the city. Oxford Street is only 10 min. walk away. Several tube stations just around the corner.
The beds in the room were very good and comfortable as well as the pillows. The room was small but had everything we needed for our weekend stay. Very good value for money.

Reviewed by
P Jensen

From Denmark
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap room, good travel links
The room was fine, basic but clean and comfortable. The hotel faces a main road and the sash windows are single glazed, so be prepared for traffic noise. The wardrobe was narrow so staying for more than a couple of nights, or as a couple would have made things tight; it was fine for a short business trip. Breakfast was a very basic continental style, but it did the job. Paddington station is only five minutes walk and there were loads of cheap cafes just around the corner for evening eats. Would I use it again? Yes, I think I probably would.

Reviewed by
Dave F

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable thank you and Hotel staff were extremely pleasant will defiantly be staying in the future!!

Reviewed by
Leigh Burgess

From Lowestoft, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next