Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Llanberis Hotels > Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Llanberis , Gwynedd, LL55 4TY
The Hotel at the Foot of Snowdon" - in every sense of the word The Royal Victoria Hotel is unique. Situated on the edge of the Snowdonia National Park within 30 acres of private gardens and woodlands and cradled between the twin lakes of Llyn Padarn and Llyn Peris; the location of The Royal Victoria Hotel is simply breathtaking. Enter the hotel and pass through the reception area with its grand oak staircase and settle into the peaceful atmosphere. All bedrooms are non-smoking, and offer a hospitality tray, colour television with satellite channels and direct dial telephones. When you book, why not request a bedroom with a stunning view of Snowdonia.

Dogs accepted by prior arrangement only, please contact hotel for further details.
Picture of Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, Gwynedd at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 200 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Love it here!
My wife and I have stayed twice at The Royal Victoria. It is a cozy, warm and friendly hotel. The staff are very helpful and efficient, the food is great and the location is wonderful.
We will be booking again next year as we feel very comfortable there. Thankyou

Reviewed by
Garry Croft

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel in good position near Snowdon
very nice single room with view of the garden, very poor shower and flood lights on all night shining in the room. Someone else's restaurant and wine bill added to my bill. Took sometime to convince them I had not had meal for 2 in restaurant with wine, while having a meal in the bar on the same day!!

Reviewed by
TINA H

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A friendly well presented hotel

Reviewed by
Christine Farmery

From Batley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A welcoming staff and a great room made this a very happy visit

Reviewed by
Edward Daven-Thomas

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel in a breathtaking location
Nice old fashioned feel to the hotel. Friendly staff and excellent service

Reviewed by
Paul E

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel. Only stayed one night this time.Unfortunately they left the flood lights on all night so the room was - flood lit!

Reviewed by
TINA H

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Some rooms are better than others...
My wife and I recently booked a twin room in error on laterooms. On arrival (and unaware of our error), we were allocated a twin room (237). On entry to the room, it was clear that this room hadn't seen a paint brush or new furnishings in quite a few years! Also on entering the room we discovered our error (booking a twin and not a double). Immediately, we called reception and explained our error, to which the reception staff were excellent and immediately found us a double room on the other side of the hotel.
On entering our newly allocated room, it was clear that this room had clearly been updated more recently than the last and we were much, MUCH happier with our newly allocated room.
In short, based on value for money - I would give the 1st room (237) a 4/10 whilst the double room (235) a 7/10 - a vast difference....
All in all, our stay was pleasant and comfortable (in the more recently updated room - my review would not have been the same if we had to stay in the outdated room).
We had a 3 course evening meal in the hotel which was very good (£70 for 3 courses (x2) and bottle of wine). Breakfast was the usual you get in most british hotels.

Reviewed by
John H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old grand hotels still have life
This historic hotel situated in fabulous nature is to be recomended. Perfect to view the historic and prehistoric sites in north Wales, this once grand hotel has managed to attract friendly seasonal staff. Food is good, but not exellent. If all the beds are as comfortable as in room 309, kingsize, fantastic mattress and apropriate blankets, any insomniac will awake refreshed.

Reviewed by
Dorothea B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location
We stayed here as it is right at the start of the Llanberis path up Snowdon Mountain. It couldn't have been any easier as you walk out the door and the path starts opposite. The staff were very friendly and accommodated my fussy eating in their restaurant. There is an early bird menu which was very reasonable and lovely food. Would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Philippa G

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent room, large, good facilities, nit-picking but no hot chocolate or biscuits on drinks tray.
Breakfast good variety. Had one evening meal with good quality food but slow service. Understaffed? Waitress v inexperienced & made mistakes. Better staff training needed perhaps.
Generally v good though.

Reviewed by
I Smith

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next