No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Old Swan Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Swan Road , Harrogate, HG1 2SR
The Old Swan Hotel is a prestigious hotel in the heart of Harrogate, within walking distance of local attractions including the Harrogate International Centre, Valley gardens, local bars and restaurants. The Old Swan Hotel is famed as the hiding place for Agatha Christie during her disappearance in 1926, and was the location of the film 'Agatha' starring Dustin Hoffman and Vanessa Redgrave in 1977. The hotel boasts 136 well appointed, contemporary styled bedrooms including singles, twins, doubles, executive upgrades, suites, four-poster suites; all with stylish en-suite bathrooms.
Free car parking for up to 200 cars. The hotel also offers WiFi throughout the public areas and in the guests bedrooms.
Please note all our bedrooms are non smoking.
Dinner, served in the magnificent Wedgwood Room, offers classic and contemporary dishes in traditional splendour using the freshest of ingredients.
Picture of Old Swan Hotel  , Harrogate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 133 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only stay here if you have to!
Just returned from the 1970's. The old swan is well past it's sell by date, 5 star prices for 2 star quality. £190 a night, no heating, cracked sink, no wifi, boarding house breakfast, and no idea about what a vegetarian is!
Find somewhere else to stay

Reviewed by
Dale Wild

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed Breakfast supplied was Disgraceful
Star rating for that Hotel should be free

Reviewed by
Michael Fryett

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Weekend break with a touch of Elegance.
Majestic hotel with splendour suggestive of a previous time, but with helpful staff, nice well appointed if small and rather warm rooms. Great location for ambling into the town and enjoying its delights (Betty's tea-room is a favorite). Breakfast was good, parking adequate and being increased and it was perfect for a weekend break.

Reviewed by
T Taylor

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the old swan hotel second home
We enjoy going to harrogate alot at least 2 -3 times a year for long weekends or longer if possible and we always book the old swan the staff are so friendly and always happy to help even down to help with the luggage if we needed it always smiles and cheerfull
Keep up the good work you are doing it right for me and my wife 5 stars

Reviewed by
a godson

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location
It was a stones throw away from all the shops & bars so was perfect for what we wanted. The room we got which cost £135 a night I thought was a little shabby & there was a strong smell of suridge outside on the corridor. The room was also a little cold with no means of turning it up. The bed was comfy though.

Reviewed by
Beverley H

From Barnoldswick, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disgusting
The hotel was dirty, food terrible, waste of money.

Reviewed by
Georgina Berkins

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Arrived at 2. pm and room was not ready. Had to wait 20 mins in bar. Abrupt receptionist who told us that hotels only gave a vague time for check in. Service at bar very slow. Breakfast next morning was dire. Queued for 20 mins to get in waited another 15 mins for tea etc. no milk left for cereals dining room packed and severely understaffed. Felt sorry for the manager trying to cope. Waited another 20 mins for boiled eggs had to ask 3 times to see where they were. Would not stay there again.

Reviewed by
B Martin

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel - perfect location. We had a lovely room on the second floor. I would certainly stay there again. I would have liked to have had a dinner, bed & breakfast package instead of just B & B as I thought it was rather pricey doing it separately. The hotel staff were first class. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel's location is perfect for easy access to town.

Reviewed by
Edna P

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hot in Harragate
On one of the hottest weekends of the year the hotel provided a quiet oasis within walking distance of the town centre. Our 3rd floor room was effectively in the attic and must have been over 30C when we arrived with no air conditioning. A portable fan helped to cool us but had to be in operation all the time we were in the room. Dinner was a relaxed affair in the elegant dining room, the food was enjoyable. The staff were very helpful.

Reviewed by
Robert W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value if you are looking for a budget hotel
Very average hotel, old style furnishings, functional front of house, low quality breakfast. Good choice if you are looking for a no frills budget stay in Harrogate.

Reviewed by
Alice K

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next