No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Old Swan Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Swan Road , Harrogate, HG1 2SR
The Old Swan Hotel is a prestigious hotel in the heart of Harrogate, within walking distance of local attractions including the Harrogate International Centre, Valley gardens, local bars and restaurants. The Old Swan Hotel is famed as the hiding place for Agatha Christie during her disappearance in 1926, and was the location of the film 'Agatha' starring Dustin Hoffman and Vanessa Redgrave in 1977. The hotel boasts 136 well appointed, contemporary styled bedrooms including singles, twins, doubles, executive upgrades, suites, four-poster suites; all with stylish en-suite bathrooms.
Free car parking for up to 200 cars. The hotel also offers WiFi throughout the public areas and in the guests bedrooms.
Please note all our bedrooms are non smoking.
Dinner, served in the magnificent Wedgwood Room, offers classic and contemporary dishes in traditional splendour using the freshest of ingredients.
Picture of Old Swan Hotel  , Harrogate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 143 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

small room,small bed.Far to warm,view none existence,not worth the amount of money.I have stayed in better b&b's.

Reviewed by
k mcbride

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely clean hotel near town centre perfect just what we wanted

Reviewed by
I Mckie

From Penrith, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

splendid
Fantastic hotel with service to match.

Reviewed by
m lumby

From Leyland, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comedy weekend
Overall a good stay, comfortable beds
Finding tea and coffee in the room was a challenge!!

Reviewed by
Sheina B

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect hotel for weekend get away full of character with contemporary twist

Reviewed by
D Wright

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely old hotel with great history. Accommodation was suitable in a classic room, would upgrade if staying longer. Very close to the center of Harrogate. The food was very good and the staff were all very pleasant and helpful.

Reviewed by
Vivien O

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wouldn't recommend
On arrival to the swan hotel, we were told the room woukd be available for 2pm however this was not the case. We arrived at 2:25pm and the room wasn't available so we were made to wait. Eventually the room was availabe. As I tried to turn on the tv to watch x factor there was no signal so I rang reception to be told that there was nothing they could do as it was too late in the evening, however as a kind gesture we were offered free room service but even that wasnt up to standard as the breakfast was cold and there was no butter for toast. Checking out!!!! That was a nightmare!! For the size of the hotel there was only one member of staff on reception, therefore checking out took 40 minutes which resulted in us giving up and putting the cards on the reception desk and walking out. Parking was attrotious! So we had to park our car on a grass verge which could of resulted in damage. Basically for the price I would not go there again or recommend it to others.

Reviewed by
C Amendola

From Retford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Andrew & Andreas little break
Nice oldy worldy hotel, quiet and relaxing

Reviewed by
Andrew H

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful room.
Wallpaper on the ceiling was peeling away.
Scuff marks everywhere.
The door to the corridor was very old and obviously very cheap because you could very clearly hear the conversations and people outside.
The hotel generally needs a complete refit and I would not recommend it.
The room had a connecting door to an adjacent room which was obviously very poor quality because you could clearly hear the conversations and noises from the other room.
A very bad nights sleep because of all the noise.

Reviewed by
andrew b

From South Croydon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old Swan.old world charm
Love the ambiance of this old hotel

Reviewed by
Kathleen s

From Windermere, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next