No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Old Swan Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Swan Road , Harrogate, HG1 2SR
The Old Swan Hotel is a prestigious hotel in the heart of Harrogate, within walking distance of local attractions including the Harrogate International Centre, Valley gardens, local bars and restaurants. The Old Swan Hotel is famed as the hiding place for Agatha Christie during her disappearance in 1926, and was the location of the film 'Agatha' starring Dustin Hoffman and Vanessa Redgrave in 1977. The hotel boasts 136 well appointed, contemporary styled bedrooms including singles, twins, doubles, executive upgrades, suites, four-poster suites; all with stylish en-suite bathrooms.
Free car parking for up to 200 cars. The hotel also offers WiFi throughout the public areas and in the guests bedrooms.
Please note all our bedrooms are non smoking.
Dinner, served in the magnificent Wedgwood Room, offers classic and contemporary dishes in traditional splendour using the freshest of ingredients.
Picture of Old Swan Hotel  , Harrogate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 150 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On arrival we were told the bar was closed. we were very disappointed as that was one of our reasons for going there in winter, staying in and chilling with log fire in the lovely bar .... Instead had to go out in rain as the bar provided wasn't comfy at all....we should have been informed!!!!! The hotel itself is looking tired now.

Reviewed by
D Oloughlin

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bed was uncomfortable, room was noisy and light from a corridor shone throughout the night. room was OK, but for £133 per night would have expected a bit more luxury. breakfast service poor, cold toast (and more cold toast when we asked for more), no milk on tables, only one teabag in a pot for two. Coffee undrinkable. Cutlery/crockery poor quality. Customer service good and food in the restaurant was very good. Bar very dreary with bright lighting, no fire except in the lobby and that was smoking badly so you wouldnt want to sit there. We went for a romantic weekend away, our first in 2 years so very disappointing really. would definitely not visit again. Restaurant food was good, which saved it for us really.

Reviewed by
j Jackson

From Twickenham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary weekend
This was our 51st wedding anniversary on the 28th Dec and the Old Swan made it special - plus the convenience and quality of Harrogate town centre

Reviewed by
Peter Jesse

From York, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Again
We've stayed here several times before, but on this occasion it was very disappointing. We found room 150 to be very hot, noisy and with a smell from the kitchens below. The room was much smaller than we've had on previous visits. Despite reporting all this to Reception, we only received an apology & no other options.

Reviewed by
M Gray

From York, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely old hotel
Yes the floor boards may creak but hey its an old hotel with a lovely ambiance.. staff very welcoming.

Reviewed by
m martin

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We'll situated but a little tired.
In common with most spa towns, the Old Aswan is a huge Victorian/ Edwardian edifice that would take millions to upgrade. The ground floor rooms display it's previous grandeur but as you go higher things change.
Our room was on the third floor. The rooms was clean and the bedding of high quality. However the windows are not double glazed and ran with condensation. The furniture and carpet we're clean but dated.
The bathroom was the narrowest I have ever seen ... At one point the gap between the wall and the side of the bath is probably about 18 -24 inches and you had to pass this point to reach the toilet or retrieve a hand towel. However the shower was good and it was well tiled and very clean.
All in all the room was dated, small but clean.. It was probably ok for the price.

Reviewed by
Susan D

From Buxton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location for a Weekend Visit
Comfortable rooms. Quiet hotel, despite a variety of functions taking place.
In a central location, ideal for exploring the town.
I would book here again.

Reviewed by
Lorraine C

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dining room experience
We dined in the restaurant on 2 evenings. On both occasions we found the staff to be very friendly but they were very poorly trained, showing lots of inconsistencies in serving food with poor, sub-standard etiquette. Also, the restaurant is in dire need of a wine waiter - someone who knows the wines and is attentive to the guests. We had to remind the staff on both nights to deliver our chosen wines and then the etiquette in serving was appalling; the 2 tables next to us also complained repeatedly that their wine was not delivered in good time. I would be very happy to discuss any of the issues with the manager.

Reviewed by
valerie m

From Stratford upon Avon, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old Swan Hotel
We had tickets for the Christmas fair at the exhibition centre and so wanted somewhere close by as we were travelling by train.This hotel was a good choice ! We were able to leave our over-night bags before check-in time with the friendly and welcoming receptionist and head off for the day.
Hotel has lots of charm and character, and was a cheerful refuge from the dreary awful weather with its open fire and squashy sofas. The twin room was a decent size and the bathroom extremely clean with proper sized towels, lashings of hot water and a bath as well as a shower.
Full breakfast was cooked well and served very efficiently. My friend and I were delighted with this hotel , its old-fashioned charms and long walk to the lift may not be everyones cup of tea, but I would have gladly stayed longer.I think its very good value indeed.

Reviewed by
anne m

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best yet in Harrogate
Comfortable clean and warm room with large ensuite. Food good but not outstanding. Public areas spacious good seating and reception staff keen to help.

Reviewed by
Colin M

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next