No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St. John Street , Chester, CH1 1HL
Located in the heart of the vibrant historic city of Chester, the Macdonald Blossoms Hotel retains most of it's original victorian features, with a mix of period charm and modern luxury. Ideally located, the hotel is just a short stroll away from the famous shopping 'Rows' , scenic riverside, Cathedral and Roman City Walls.
The hotel restaurant produces freshly prepared British dishes and sources the finest ingredients for our menus. Booking in advance is recommended to guarantee availability.
Other attractions nearby include Chester racecourse, just a gentle 10 minute stroll through the vibrant streets of the city. Chester Zoo can also be reached by car or local bus for those wishing to venture outside the Centre.
Chester is famous for it's shopping experience and the famous Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village is also a short drive from the hotel. The hotel is also within easy reach of Chester Business Park, home to Bank of America, HBOS, M&S Money to name a few. Also the Industrial Parks of both Ellesmere Port and Deeside are easy to reach too.
Due to the hotel's central location, the nearest car park is the Grosvenor Shopping Centre Car Park - Post Code: CH1 1CA. The car park is open 24 hours a day and at the cost of £10.00 per 24 hours.
Picture of Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 74 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

relaxing stay
Had a really relaxing stay at the New Blossom Hotel The hotel is situated in an ideal location , right in the heart of city centre . So easy to get to and from all attractions. The room was really lovely and very clean with everything you could want on your trip. Staff were very helpful and attentive . We will definitely be visiting again both the hotel and Chester .

Reviewed by
peter r

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

amazing

Reviewed by
nadia b

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were lovely very helpful, however the hotel is worn
Overall we had a lovely stay and we enjoyed Chester and all it had to offer. If honest we were disappointed with the quality of the hotel for what we paid, it felt like a old fashioned best western that need a lick of paint and a tidy up. Carpets worn, furniture chipped etc. The location is good for city centre and it is close to the river. Bit of a walk to the car park with your lugage as there is not area marked for drop off or check in parking and outside the hotel it is double yellow lines with traffic wardens hovering. There is no doorman to take your lugage until you return having parked the car, which took us around 25 minutes with walk back to hotel and one way system. If we visited Cheser again would look for a more modern hotel closer to a parking area, my girlfriend does not know the meaning of travelling light! We had our room moved as the first room 304 was very small and too stuffy, we were moved to 312 which was only slightly bigger, but still very warm and stuffy so had the electric fan on all night to cool the air flow. Was ok for a 1 night stop over but not a special or romantic night away.

Reviewed by
Paul W

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location for city centre
Noisy at night

Reviewed by
Dave L

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was in the Centre of Chester Convienient for all attractions. Friendly and helpful staff. Room was nice and had all you needed for your stay.

Reviewed by
d smith

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room comfortable, food very good staff excellent
Room 119, very comfortable and well appointed, this being an old building that has been brought up to modern expectations, we found the bathroom to be somewhat "shoe horned" in, though everything present and correct with a good powerful shower, shall we say that the larger guest may have struggled to enter the bathroom between the open door and the sink! Evening meal very nice, a fish sharing starter particularly good. Restaurant recently refurbished (we never saw it before), clean and contemporary design.

Reviewed by
Duncan Cummins

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent hotel in a charming city
The hotel is in a brilliant location just steps away from the centre of the city. Hotel was welcoming and courteous reception staff. Room was well equipped, spotlessly clean, quiet, responsive room service and value for money.

Reviewed by
Julian Eve

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Fabulous hotel! Great staff and excellent location! I will look forward to staying again in October with the girls.

Reviewed by
K Gemmell

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Experience
The biggerst disappointment and downfall was that we were not told that we our SatNav could not find the hotel street!, there was no hotel staff help wityh the parking of the car in the nearest carpark, and we had to carry oiur luggage for half a mile each way!

Reviewed by
KIRK G

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Hotel
My husband and I stayed for 1 night. We were very impressed with the foyer and we checked in quickly. The staff were very helpful, our room was on the first floor it was lovely and clean inside, we didn't have a view but we were only staying 1 night, didn't really matter. The shower was excellent and plenty of hot water, which is a bonus! The cocktails were quite expensive at the bar, but the staff were very helpful. We had breakfast which was included with our package and it was lovely! We will definitely be going back to this hotel.

Reviewed by
v fox

From Holywell, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next