No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Albion Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
35 Old Steine, Brighton, BN1 1NT
Built in 1826 this beautifully, regal hotel is situated overlooking Brighton Pier. Traditionally decorated and furnished throughout, it offers character and style. The 186 bedrooms are all en-suite and have TV, Telephone, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Many of the rooms command stunning sea views and a number also have spa baths. Dining is an experience in Jenny’s restaurant with its succulent menu, plus you can take in the views over the English Channel. Enjoy a drink in the Pavilion Bar or the Regency Lounge to relax and watch the sunset. In addition there are eight conference rooms catering for up to 150 people with first class facilities. WIFI is free to all guests and available in all public areas of the hotel.

Breakfast can be added at the 'make a booking' stage for £5.00 per person if required.
Picture of Royal Albion Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 334 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
54% recommended this accommodation to a friend 59% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

AWFUL- Strongly advise you not to waste your money here!
This hotel was awful!- I arrived and checked in. My room was in the basement as seemed very much as if it was a redecorated cupboard!- this was the good bit! On entering the room there was loud music and creaking of the floorboards above. I questioned this with reception who advised this was a club not related to them and it's open until 2am. I therefore asked for a new room and was told they are very busy so only have the smoking floor which I reluctantly accepted to my further regret. This room stunk so badly of smoke. I work with patients with chronic lung disease and this room was on or with one of my patients who have smoked for 25years plus and therefore has yellow walls! The trim was baking hot and the fan did not work. There was a disgustingly dirty fan on the side table that I would not risk turning it on for the risk of choking on the amount of dust! The tv was an old tube tv where the colour had gone so difficulty seeing a picture. The shower was a dribble of water. I was woken before 6am due to the noise of the old water pipes and a fan system directly outside the window. This is by far the worst hotel I have ever experience and for such an expensive price. I have stayed in youth hostels for better rooms, cleanliness and price!!

Reviewed by
Jamie Crosswell

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friday/sat stay
Excellent hotel & location. But was abit pricey. Without breakfast.

Reviewed by
Brian R

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do better
Room was adequate for the price but for the fact that the heating didn't work and water and cold air were coming into the room via newly fitted windows. Maintenance quickly brought up a portable heater which helped with warming the room while we were out. Besides the room, the hotel is going through extensive renovations and this had an effect on our stay.
The shower and bath were wonderful and we enjoyed exploring Brighton.

Reviewed by
Paul M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

worst hotel in brighton
dreadful awful horrendous but well situated and cheap

Reviewed by
david langley

From Southminster, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very run down
Should be shut down for referb

Reviewed by
melanie l

From Pulborough, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Albion Hotel
Amazing value for money. I asked for a room with a nice view and reviewed a beautiful sea view room, instantly put a smile on my face. Friendly staff. Comfortable bed. Just the cleaners constantly kept waking us up early in the morning and laughing behind the door.

Reviewed by
Rafei B

From WORTHING, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice surprise
Booked single room and got large spacious twin room with sea view. After that nothing could be a minus. Room was tired and in need of renovation but everything worked and bed comfy.

Reviewed by
Joshua J

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated
The Royal Albion hotel is very tired and dated
The exterior was being refurbished while we were there but I think it would be a better idea to start inside !!!
The room wasn't particularly clean with an antiquated tv and really shabby bathroom- cracked tiles, rotting door and filthy leaking shower screen !!
Miserable receptionist who couldn't do less for you.
The breakfast was good and breakfast staff lovely !!
No parking at the hotel - £5 for two hours up the road - if you can find a space

Reviewed by
Dean B

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for Money; But Not at Full Price
My room was at a significantly reduced price considering the late booking (reduced from £95 to £23). I have to say that at the normal price, it would have been a huge rip-off. There is no way the room was worth anything more than £40-50 per night. But at the reduced price I got, it was definitely value for money.
PLUSES: Fantastic location right opposite the pier and amongst the action (although note difficulties with finding cheap parking in the centre - I parked in Lewes Road and walked 10 minutes to the hotel); Friendly and helpful staff; Buffet breakfast with everything you might like to see; Good wifi connection; Generally clean and tidy; Perfectly comfortable bed; Warm in room; Quite quiet considering central location; Hot shower
NEGATIVES: My room was essentially a dungeon (because work was being done on the exterior and I happened to be in the basement, there was no natural light); The hotel clearly just does 'enough' - cheap toilet roll, cheap coffee and tea in room, cheap soap, cheapish/old decor; low quality breakfast items (eg although there was an abundance of breakfast sausages, they were the lowest quality you could find, and the scrambled egg was very milky); Significant rust on the shower handle rail; Quite a cold ensuite bathroom,
Overall I would definitely stay again at the reduced price. But I wouldn't pay more than £45 for the same room. Note however, a room with a sea view on the upper levels may be very different.

Reviewed by
Josh M

From Ilfracombe, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For The Price, I Expected a Lot More.
The hotel itself from the outside looks great (there was exterior work going on when I went though so there was a lot of scaffolding up) and the hotel is excellently positioned right opposite the Pier as well as being around the corner from a lot of the places I would be visiting. The customer service was professional and polite and the room (I am unsure if this is a standard feature) I was in had a nice whirlpool bath which was absolutely heaven to use. Unfortunately was pretty much the extent of the upsides of the hotel.
Other than the bath in the room, the room itself looked as if it was in a major need of refurbishment. The decor looked very tired and worn out, the lighting in the room was really low but am unsure if this was just the way the lighting was meant to be or because one of the bulbs in the fixture was blown (it was hard to tell). The room absolutely stank of what smelled like boiled cabbage when we first arrived which was very off-putting so we left the window open all night in the hopes of getting rid of the smell which did the trick to a degree. Saying this, the cleanliness of the room itself was excellent and the bed was extremely comfortable which led to a great nights sleep for the two nights I was there.
The original plan was to visit this hotel with a female friend but after getting there I think I was glad she was unable to go because the quality of the room was not what I expected at all. For the amount I had spent on the room I was very disappointed and unfortunately I will not be staying at this hotel again.

Reviewed by
AMRIT B

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next