No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Chace Hotel - a Corus hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
London RoadToll Bar end , Coventry, CV3 4EQ
The Chace Hotel has plenty of charm and individual character. 3 Miles form the city centre and Coventry train station, 5miles from the Ricoh Arena, 1 mile from Coventry airport and easily accessible from the M6, M40, M1, M69, A45 and A46.

Only 15 miles from Birmingham airport and conveniently situated for the NEC and NIA.
Built in 1897, its impressive Victorian architecture, lovely landscaped gardens, excellent restaurant and spacious oak panelled lounge bar make it an ideal venue for business and pleasure.

Picture of The Chace Hotel - a Corus hotel, Coventry at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
The room was clean and tidy. The beds were comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. Staff were polite and courteous. Sandwiches in the evening were good quality as was most of the breakfast. We had to wait ages for sausages and more bacon - despite asking 3 times. By the time the food hot plates were replenished we had completely finished. They did however bring 2 sausages over to is on a plate. The room door lock had dropped in to the door knob and it took a minute to manage to get the key inserted - when I mentioned it to the receptionist, she said "oh yes we are waiting on it being repaired. I didn't believe her. The towel rail in the bathroom was loose and the tea making facilities whilst there were sparse. Don't know if I'll be back there or not, the pictures on the web are misleading because they show a lovely Victorian-Tudor building ...... Our rooms were at the side in a 1960s looking concrete annex.

Reviewed by
Neil C

From England
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight break
Not a spectacular venue but adequate and comfortable for our needs. I thought resttaurant menu was a bit basic. In fact just to eat from the lounge menu there was more varied choice. However staff were very friendly and professional .

Reviewed by
David Quigley

From Sittingbourne, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute trip
Having booked at short notice to attend an exhibition I found the hotel to be better than expected. A lovely building in the 'Grand Style' of older hotels the accommodation was comfortable, service very good and food excellent. I will certainly use this hotel again.

Reviewed by
Glyn Jones

From Bourne, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok value for money
Good value for money, breakfast expensive for what you get
Rooms are nice enough
Evening receptionist is awesome and very friendly :-)

Reviewed by
Faisal N

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful exsperiance
Our stay was a last minute disigion, we have newly got togeather me and my partner and I had invited him to an evening event last minute so needed to book quick, our friends were also staying. This hotel so it seemed the right option, the room was imaculate though more refreshments would of been snapped up, the bed was very comfy it was a wonderfull time

Reviewed by
Faye Lane

From Ripley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice little hotel!
It's a nice looking hotel! Good service but the floors are a bit creaky and loud when people are walking past. Overall enjoyable stay :-)

Reviewed by
Dean S

From Borehamwood, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what it seems
The web site creates the impression of a "manor house" type hotel.
The directions to get to the hotel were very poor and it took me over two hours to find the hotel after I arrived in Coventry. I travel the A46 around Coventry every week and even now can not decipher the instructions - why not mention the airport to at least give a rough idea of where the hotel is?
On arrival I found the hotel to be situated on a major road which was very busy all night. The bus stop outside my room was also not helpful.
There was a flood light lighting up the front of the hotel which shone directly into the room. This was left on all night.
The pictures of the rooms on the website gave the impression of large, light and airy rooms. In my room I could touch the wall when I sat on the bed - despite the bed being pushed against the opposite wall!
I had booked breakfast but cancelled it when I found that breakfast finished after 09:30
While I have no doubt the attractions named on the site are "within easy reach" of the hotel I would certainly not stay in Willenhall if I were attending an event at any one of them!
"With such character and charm it’s no wonder why The Chace Hotel, one of the best hotels in Coventry and a popular choice as a weddings venue and conferences venue near Birmingham." - I don't think the web site could have been describing the hotel I stayed at.

Reviewed by
Timothy E

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food good. Room clean but a bit dated. Trouser press fell off the wall when opening it up to remove trousers. It had obviously come off before and been pushed back into position. (Probably by an embarassed guest).

Reviewed by
Stuart Buckle

From Daventry, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Looks can be deceiving
Parking in front of the hotel it looks quite up market with a very impressive entry / lounge / bar area that looks really pleasant and welcoming. However once past the portals and upstairs things do go downhill, the carpet doesn't do the place any favours, it is not bad but you get a feeling of neglect, this continues to the rooms which whilst having a nice sized flat panel TV and very good Wifi still feel very 70's.
The bathroom was a real let down the toilet shoe horned between a red hot radiator (when I arrived) and a massive (20" wide) hand basin, so that you had to sit on it at an angle, with a broken flush. The lino on the floor by the bath had some area's of bare floorboard, the shower had a constant drip and the bath taps were a struggle to use, with the hot only providing a trickle as it only had half a turn of movement.
Now I do not know if it was that they had a party going on in the function room, but the service in the evening, in the bar was terrible,10 min wait with only 10 people in the bar area. The restaurant was even worse when I arrived in the restaurant there was only 1 other person there apart from the waiter (a young bloke about 18-19, a trainee?) who spent most of the time either in the bar or the kitchen just not in the restaurant! therefore service was poor at best

Reviewed by
A Baker

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what you expect
Not the standard you expect from a good hotel In my first room the toilet flush broke so I had to be moved the second room was very cold with the heated towel rail not working and blackspot mould around the edge of the bath

Reviewed by
Mike N

From Penryn, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next