Reviews - The Chace Hotel - a Corus hotel


London RoadToll Bar end, Coventry, CV3 4EQ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (33)

55% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Izak v

  • October 2015

Let me start by listing the positives:

• If you are a smoker great- they let people smoke in their rooms at least 2 rooms I walked past I could smell smoke.

• They put on a safety chain to make up for the broken lock.

• They are super environmentally friendly, no wasting water through proper working showers. • If you ever wanted to feel like the princess and the peas this hotel’s mattress can recreate that for you without the pea, the fluff balls on the linen might spoil the knobbly mattress experience though.

• If you and 150 friends wanted space to do an impromptu flashmob there is plenty in the dreary, characterless, over lit bar area and you won’t even disturb the guests

• They are concerned for your health one measly biscuit IS enough, and so is only 2 of those UHT milk pots.

• To make you consider your health further they will charge an additional £12 for breakfast on the already ludicrous £85

As for the negatives well I guess there aren’t any…………

  • J Griffiths

  • September 2015


Our dinner was excellent and service was very good Breakfast was very different.We sat for ages before realizing that it was self service only to find that the food was cold and the layout was very strange i.e.

no facility for marmalade etc on the table. Several people who entered the room after us were told they would have to wait in fact the best way to explain the experience is chaotic

  • John P

  • July 2015

noisy but nice

Beautiful old building with clean modern basic room.

Our room was above function room so very noisy with people talking and smoking outside. It was Saturday night so prrobably quieter mid week.

  • Marie Harris

  • May 2015

The Chace Hotel - a Corus hotel

Room was extremely hot.

It served its purpose but I was not bowled over by it. However, the customer service of the reception staff was second to none.

  • Derek Toombs

  • April 2015

The Chace Hotel - a Corus hotel

Nice room, friendly staff.

  • Collins N

  • April 2015

Amazingly Good!!

I don't think I can fault anything about my stay.

Room was surprisingly bigger than what I had in mind with extra seating and chilling space too. It was very clean too. And customer service was top notch. We were greeted and received by a very friendly lady at reception and throughout our stay everyone else was particularly helpful and friendly. Gill in particular was a legend. I cannot remember her saying NO to a single request. And that includes taking pictures of our entire group and making the housekeeping staff stay late to service our rooms after 12:30 pm. Value for money. Hell yeah. what was it. £38 per person for 2 nights. Great!

  • John N

  • March 2015

Discount Accommodations

It's a good thing we got a discount.

The room was modern and quite nice, but the bed was awful. There were springs sticking me all night, everytime I turned. When I coplained @ checkout, they said they'd tell the housekeeper. The toilet would not flush unless you pumped the handle, and then my husband couldn't make it work at all. When we complained as we went to breakfast, we were told on return that someone checked and it worked fine. It didn't. We were not offered breakfast when we cheked in, but when we asked in the restaurant at dinner, were told we should book, for £9.99 otherwise it would be £13.95 in the morning. The food was lovely.

  • Andy Harvey

  • December 2014

Tired and Overpriced

Second stay this year and waited until 2nd stay to leave a review.

Partly refurbished room with non-funtioning over-bed lighting, cigarette burns on bedside furniture and a small blood stain on one of the four pillows. Most bedroom doors seem to "slam" shut so assume most soft-close door dampers defective also.....still. Noisy, "humming" sound from plumbing in my and neighbouring bathrooms. Not easy to get to and stay asleep. Good quality, if small portioned bar meals for the price and good, friendly service, let down by rediculously overpriced side orders - Chips: £2.50.........for NINE, 5cm long chips!!. Complained to waiter and was advised the chef makes his own chips?!. So what??. This is Coventry NOT Covent Garden. Gordon Ramsay didn't pop through to shake my hand or anything. Regrettable conclusion is very little change from last visit. There is unlikely to be a next. Photos taken and available.

  • Graham Lovegrove

  • November 2014

Don't give up the chance !!!

I usually stay in low cost budget hotels, but this time got a great offer through - and it couldn't have been better.

From the minute I parked my car (ample spaces!!. - no fee!!. ) and walked into the hotel, it was like going in to my own home. A lovely atmosphere, with a great team dedicated to customer satisfaction. My room was lovely, and house keeping was executed perfectly every morning . Food was smashing and I looked forward to going in to the breakfast room every morning - to be pampered by 'Lisa' one of the nicest people I have ever met in a hotel team. She made the start to the day fabulous, a lovely smile and so helpful and polite - a great advert for The Chace. Will I return - Yes. This will be my temporary Coventry home from now on !!!!

  • n eves

  • October 2014


I chose the hotel on location and photos and it is a good looking building.

Boiler broke with my colleague and the promised heater never turned up. The rooms were dated and the bathroom uninviting. The booked meal served the wrong dish and then ran out of bread. It miraculously turned up for breakfast.