No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gainsborough House Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Bewdley Hill , Kidderminster, DY11 6BS
***FREE WiFi & FREE CAR PARKING AVAILABLE***. The listed Gainsborough House Hotel, Bar & Restaurant has recently been transformed into a stylish and contemporary property with 42 en suite bedrooms all which have free internet. Located on the A456 the hotel is a 5 minute walk from the town centre and only 1 mile from the West Midlands Safari Park, and Severn Valley Steam Railway. The ever popular Gainsborough Restaurant in its new surroundings continues to serve divinely tasty cuisine with fresh local ingredients. An extensive range of drinks and snacks are available in the Lounge Bar to suit all taste buds. Sky sports 1 is available in the bar along with free wireless internet . You'll find 5 conference rooms to choose from, the largest of which can hold up to 250 delegates.
Picture of Gainsborough House Hotel, Kidderminster at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant couple of nights spent at The Gainsborough. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Excellent buffet breakfast and a superb evening meal. Accommodation very clean. Would not hesitate to return.

Reviewed by
Patricia Little

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

As expected
4* - No problems here

Reviewed by
Dave C

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chav Kingdom
Place was fairly clean, but the room stank of fresh pain. Second night was dominated by a wedding held at the hotel, which gave us no peace. Breakfast was edible but run by rejects from the Stasi who pushed us out of the way with no comment when they wanted to get at cupboards beneath the breakfast bar. Also cleared away crockery as a blunt hint we should move on when we were still enjoying coffee and croissants. Hotel clearly employs Eastern Europeans who have no clue on customer service to keep costs down. Won't be staying again. I'd rather get myself arrested for a night in the cells!!!!

Reviewed by
A Clarke

From Pen Y Bont Ar Ogwr, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
If you're looking for a very basic accommodation to spend the night before embarking on a trip to the West Midlands Safari Park then this is the place to be. Barely 5 mins away & they offer a great deal!

Reviewed by
Diana D

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect location for Safari Park
As the title suggests; this hotel is in a perfect location for West Midlands Safari Park. It was a fairly functional hotel but rooms were adequate and you are literally only minutes away from WMSP. The reception staff were very helpful in arranging for a travel cot at short notice. Woudl stay again if in the area

Reviewed by
C DAVIES

From Caldicot, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

West Midlands safari park visit
My family stayed here for 1 night and found the room and hotel comfortable and clean

Reviewed by
N Wild

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
Pros. We found the Gainsborough hotel very clean and staff very friendly. room was adequate for a family of 4. we had west midlands safari park tickets included in the price (great day out) great value for money.
Cons. Breakfast - it was barely warm.

Reviewed by
Sue M

From Dukinfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would definitely recommend
Stayed with my husband and 3 children. The hotel is very family friendly and the staff are lovely. Our room was more than adequate for our 1 night stay. Less than a mile from West Midlands safari park which we were visiting so ideal for what we wanted. Breakfast was nice plenty to choose from.

Reviewed by
laura w

From Port Talbot, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Room
The room was excellent, very clean, really large for the price with very large double bed, hairdryer, iron, coffee, chocolate and tea making facilities, bath and shower.

Reviewed by
T Myers

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
we asked for a quiet room and we received it
the staff helpful and friendly good atmosphere
food served was very good and not long to wait

Reviewed by
D BARNES

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next