No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gainsborough House Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Bewdley Hill , Kidderminster, DY11 6BS
***FREE WiFi & FREE CAR PARKING AVAILABLE***. The listed Gainsborough House Hotel, Bar & Restaurant has recently been transformed into a stylish and contemporary property with 42 en suite bedrooms all which have free internet. Located on the A456 the hotel is a 5 minute walk from the town centre and only 1 mile from the West Midlands Safari Park, and Severn Valley Steam Railway. The ever popular Gainsborough Restaurant in its new surroundings continues to serve divinely tasty cuisine with fresh local ingredients. An extensive range of drinks and snacks are available in the Lounge Bar to suit all taste buds. Sky sports 1 is available in the bar along with free wireless internet . You'll find 5 conference rooms to choose from, the largest of which can hold up to 250 delegates.
Picture of Gainsborough House Hotel, Kidderminster at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay in Kidderminster
Having never been to Kidderminster before, I booked this hotel at the last minute based on a number of other reviews, and I wasn't disappointed. The staff were extremely friendly, the room was a nice size and very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was lovely.
Absolutely no negatives to our stay and an easy 15 minute walk into the town centre. Would definitely stay here again should I need to and would recommend to others.

Reviewed by
Paul Humphries

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little dissapointed
We were staying her as we were doing a sports event down the road, My room was ok bit the TV was very small for the amount of money the room cost, the hotel was clean while our group was their there was a wedding going on and this made the room very noisy and we didn't get much sleep despite complaining to the reception, I was alone but our other club members had children with them who were competing the next day with very little sleep

Reviewed by
L Beard

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel, recently refurbished, has excellent rooms and is a very pleasant place to stay for the night. Tries some bar food which was O.K. but nothing special but they have a restaurant which looked presentable. The breakfast, although pre-cooked, was not too bad and the staff were very polite. I would certainly use this place as a stopover again...

Reviewed by
Stephen Godfrey

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay
Located very handy for shopping, or visiting the Seven Valley Railway, or the Zoo just down the road.
Breakfast was good with plenty of choice, and as much as you wanted. aAll staff that we met were very friendly and helpful. Only one little niddle, no dressing gown hook in the bathroom. And noware to hang wet outdoor clothes, this niggle also applies to a lot of other hotels. Would definitly stay here again

Reviewed by
B Howorth

From NELSON, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
This is our second home as my family live in Kidderminster. When we travel from Leeds this is where we stay. Lovely hotel and very friendly staff. The room was on the third floor, very peaceful nights sleep. Breakfast was delicious.

Reviewed by
Charlotte C

From Pudsey, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant couple of nights spent at The Gainsborough. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Excellent buffet breakfast and a superb evening meal. Accommodation very clean. Would not hesitate to return.

Reviewed by
Patricia Little

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

As expected
4* - No problems here

Reviewed by
Dave C

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chav Kingdom
Place was fairly clean, but the room stank of fresh pain. Second night was dominated by a wedding held at the hotel, which gave us no peace. Breakfast was edible but run by rejects from the Stasi who pushed us out of the way with no comment when they wanted to get at cupboards beneath the breakfast bar. Also cleared away crockery as a blunt hint we should move on when we were still enjoying coffee and croissants. Hotel clearly employs Eastern Europeans who have no clue on customer service to keep costs down. Won't be staying again. I'd rather get myself arrested for a night in the cells!!!!

Reviewed by
A Clarke

From Pen Y Bont Ar Ogwr, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
If you're looking for a very basic accommodation to spend the night before embarking on a trip to the West Midlands Safari Park then this is the place to be. Barely 5 mins away & they offer a great deal!

Reviewed by
Diana D

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect location for Safari Park
As the title suggests; this hotel is in a perfect location for West Midlands Safari Park. It was a fairly functional hotel but rooms were adequate and you are literally only minutes away from WMSP. The reception staff were very helpful in arranging for a travel cot at short notice. Woudl stay again if in the area

Reviewed by
C DAVIES

From Caldicot, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next