No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure White Hart Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St. John Street , Salisbury, SP1 2SD
The elegant 4 star city centre Georgian hotel with its pillared portico, has been the city's finest hotel for over 400 years. It is one of the highest rated AA Hotels in Salisbury. Recent refurbishment or some of our rooms has given The White Hart 37 beautifully appointed bedrooms. Overnight car parking is charged at £6.00 per car per night. In winter log fires burn, while in summer months enjoy al fresco dining in the idyllic courtyard. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel

Picture of Mercure White Hart Hotel, Salisbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

July 2014 Stay
I thought it was a very welcoming hotel. Shame about the weddings as I really don't think the downstairs area is big enough to host a wedding as well as then give private space to the other guests in the hotel.

Reviewed by
Alison G

From Leatherhead, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Vrey pleasing

Reviewed by
Michael C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

mixed
Three bad points im afraid. Firstly, I was not given a pass at reception to exit car park, not nice sitting at a barrier pushing a button to speak to someone, and then get put through to the bookings dept. Secondly, seems rather strange to pay £5 per night to park my car on a Hotel car park, very odd. Finally, it also seems strange to have to pay £10 per person for breakfast, even though the room costs over £100 per night. Room only for you eh, now that's what I call making a profit.

Reviewed by
G Davies

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable hotel in central Salisbury
My wife and I enjoyed our night at the White Hart; it was great to find a hotel where both we and our dogs were welcomed without fuss or preconditions. Check in and check out were trouble free and the bar was friendly.

Reviewed by
J Barlow

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A noisy room - again
Oh dear. This was our second visit to The White Hart Mecure, in Salisbury, having stayed previously in August 2011. Both times were were given a room at the back of the hotel which over looked the kitchens and we had the noise of the kitchen fans until late into the evening. (Room 122). This was then supplemented by a noise from some sort of fan. We couldn't find the source. Not loud but enough to disturb us. Two chances and you are out, I'm afraid, we won't be returning. More disappointing is that we are regular visitors to Mecure Hotels - especially in France. It needs addressing.

Reviewed by
John D

From Stratford upon Avon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room that I had intended to book was a Deluxe Double, however upon arrival the booking was for a standard double. Not very impressed with this as I wanted what I had booked for: Privilege room with additional services and amenities - double bed, free wifi, minibar (free soft drinks), espresso and hot drinks machine, bathrobe and slippers, newspaper and enhanced complimentary toiletries. Only after having a word with the receptionist did we receive one bathrobe and some slippers, but this didn't make up for being let down! I will however have no arguments with the standard of breakfast, which was well worth every penny!!

Reviewed by
Nick C

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last min get away
Booked in the day via late rooms - arrived to a lovely welcome, quick check in & into the room which was nicely decorated & well presented. They'd forgot to empty the bin & replace the towels but we'll gloss over that both issues sorted straight away.
We didn't eat here as the restaurant wasn't open until 8.30 because of a function but we had been working & traveling so wanted something sooner.
Great night sleep until 6.30 am when they where hoovering outside the room, then at 8 ish the housekeeping staff arrived & their cupboard was outside our room so lots of banging & shouting up the corridor - we'd stay again but ask for a room away from this.
Reception girls on check in & out where excellent.

Reviewed by
S Andrews

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm and friendly and a car park!
We got and warm and friendly welcome and even though we arrived very early our room was ready. It was spotlessly clean, the bed firm and comfortable. the room a little smaller than expected perhaps, for a deluxe. The window was too difficult to open properly but there was an air conditioner. Being, near the cathedral and shops and with a large car park meant it was very good value. There are some items of breakfast that I think should be cooked to order, eg. eggs, otherwise the buffet breakfast was good. I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Carole D

From Uxbridge, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A place to linger .
The ambience of the hotel was such that we decided to stay in and eat in the restaurant, and delayed our departure the next day to enjoy coffee in the morning and tea in the afternoon in the lounge areas, particularly appreciated the log fires .Overall service excellent .The restaurant Saturday evening had a lovely warm and relaxing atmosphere, slightly disappointed by the main chicken and sea bass mains which were overcooked. really enjoyed our stay and look forward to a return.Felt we had had longer than a one night break .

Reviewed by
Dominic Kempson

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely welcome at reception by all female staff, night porter very helpful.
just the right atmosphere to enjoy a family break , the lounge areas are well appointed and we madw full use of the sofa's infront of the fire.
service at breakfast a little slow to clear used plates etc and response when sausages were uncooked and raw in the middle on the sat morning was almost non communacative ....no explanation, no replacements offered, had to be ask for replacements and remaining sausages were not removed from buffet area until suggested by my husband. in all 6 sausages tried were all pink raw meat in the middle. sunday morning sausages were well cooked and were not raw and pink inside and delicious .
good quality food at breakfast. good quality food served on room service resonably priced. the rooms were very comfortable. the refurbishment of the hotel is really lovely, overall experience was good and we shall return .

Reviewed by
Clare Grove

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next