No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Roebuck

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Wych Cross , Forest Row, RH18 5JL
The Roebuck is a charming 17th century house set in the beautiful rural location of Forest Row on the A22. The hotel is full of old-world charm with oak beams and real fires for cosy winter evenings, plus a beautiful garden and patio area for weddings and outdoor events in the summer. We have two function rooms which are available to hire up request.

The Roebuck Hotel offers over-night guests airport car parking in the rear car
park for £3.00 per day which is payable when checking into the Hotel.

The Roebuck Hotel offers guests Free Car Parking* in the rear hotel car park. Gatwick airport is 15 miles from the Hotel, which takes from 30 to 45 minutes travel time by Taxi, for approx. £25.00** one way to the Airport.

*The company accepts no liability for vehicles left in our car park
**Taxi cost may vary depending on your departure times and taxi company.

Picture of Roebuck , Forest Row at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 82 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unfortunately the walls were paper thin between our room and next door. We could hear every conversation they had, etc. It also smelt like it was a smoking floor.

Reviewed by
Natalie T

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wall lights were not working correctly

Reviewed by
Chris Happer

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely visit
This was our first visit to the Roebuck which was found on Late Rooms and we will definitely return. Staff very friendly, food excellent, service excellent and hotel relaxing. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Reviewed by
Robert Orsborne

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and clean
Warm welcome, comfortable room with lovely crisp clean linen. Good breakfast with lots of fresh fruit and pleasant service

Reviewed by
Douglas C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Roebuck Wych Cross
Easy check in & check out, friendly staff, good quality food at reasonable prices available in the bar & restaurant. Comfy beds, clean room, free WiFi & complimentary Tea & Biscuits etc.

Reviewed by
Ian B

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing venue.
Staff efficient & helpful ,we stayed in a superior room which was spacious & the bed was very comfortable, got a nights sleep, bathroom had all that we required, spotlessly clean & good shower.

Reviewed by
ANDREW W

From Great Missenden, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem
Excellent service, friendly, comfortable and good value for money. Pleasantly surprised by the high standards of the rooms and the overall decor. Very quiet even though by a main road, could hear no road noise at all. All the staff, without exception, were friendly, approachable and willing to accomodate all requests. Lovely restaurant and bar and excellent breakfast, being cooked to order.

Reviewed by
E Beevor

From Dursley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and comfortable but no vegan food
We had no complaints about the room which was clean and comfortable with a lovely view of the grounds. Although next to a main road we were'nt bothered by excessive road noise. The walls seemed quite thin (we were in the new annexe) so if someone had had their TV on we might have been disturbed, but luckily we were not. The restaurant had no vegan options on their menu so we had to go to East Grinstead to eat. We could perhaps have asked them to make us something vegan but as it was late we decided not to waste the time.

Reviewed by
G Nairn

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely place to stay
Stayed here for 1 night and it was lovely. The building in itself has lots of character and the surroundings are beautiful. The service at the front desk was excellent, the only niggle id have about customer service would be from the bar staff who were a tad hostile especially the male member of bar staff. However I would definitely stay here again, the rooms were lovely had everything you would need, all amenities were avaliable.

Reviewed by
jennifer warren

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, comfortable mid-range hotel - not flash but with personality
We had a very comfortable night, the breakfast was tasty (great sausages) with a great buffet table of cereals, fruit, pastries and yoghurts. The welcome was warm and efficient. This is no super trendy hotel, it's a reasonably priced English pub hotel, with some lovely oak furniture in the bar/sitting rooms downstairs, looks like it could be super cosy in the sitting room in the winter. The bedrooms have pretty generic but totally adequate and comfortable hotel furniture with comfy beds and great crisp white cotton sheets and the most amazing showers (water pressure like I've never experienced - wonderful). We stayed here with a group of friends whilst attending a wedding nearby and it was spot on. No complaints at all. Thank you Roebuck, you looked after us very well.

Reviewed by
Rebecca V

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next